We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chillicothe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atwood House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Chillicothe B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Atwood. We went primarily in order to attend the outdoor drama about Tecumseh. However, we found we liked Chillicothe and enjoyed walking in the neighborhood. Hocking Hills was easy access from the B&B.
The Atwood is so lovely. Very tastefully furnished. We had to Governor's room, and we liked out room. We liked our host, Bill, who prepares wonderful breakfasts and who himself has a charm he shares easily. We hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
40
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Chillicothe. My husband and I were staying in Chillicothe overnight as part of a round trip Washington CH-Chillicothe. Bill, the owner/operator was a very hospitable, yet unobtrusive host. Some of my family members who live nearby were able to join us in Chiilicothe for dinner and we were able to return after dinner and relax by the fireside together as if in our own home. Breakfast was superb! The beds were superb! Unfortunately it was quite chilly while we were there so we did not have the opportunity to fully enjoy the gardens, they were spectatcular! Two thoughts to keep in mind; first, although the back is pretty private, securing bikes could be problematic but, in all fairness, Bill was quite up front about his before our arrival. Second, if arriving on Sunday (especially if your only mode of transportation is a bike) dinner options are very limited.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m_tav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
702 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a fabulous little inn in a quiet part of historic Chillicothe, the last capital of the old "Northwest Territories," and first capital of Ohio. The owner operator, Bill, served as Richard Nixon's valet at Camp David when Bill was in the Navy. After leaving the service, Bill worked as a butler and chef in Houston and NYC. He is a fabulous host and excellent cook. We stayed in the President's Room, which has one of the most comfortable, four poster beds. We were bringing our daughter back from Durham NC to Chicago for the summer; and, we picked this spot because it is exactly halfway between the 2 cities. This will definitely be our way station on future such trips.

Room Tip: Ask for the President's Room if it is available. By far the finest among excellent choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I was asked what hotel did I want when I had business in Chillicothe. I opted for the Atwood House. When I have to return it's the only place I'll stay. As a musician I've stayed all over the world. This place is right at the top. The breakfast is just wonderful served in a garden atmosphere. It didn't hurt that Bill, the owner, was Richard Nixon's steward. Sweet cream on fresh fruit to start the day. Come on. Goat cheese omelette, French toast with local syrup. Yes sir. Sorry about this now after breakfast talk but...it is a review...

There is even expensive, really nice TP in the bathroom. That's the out of ordinary stuff I look for in a B and B or hotel. Bill, the owner, makes the stay special.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kraig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Beautifully decorated with a serene atmosphere and fabulous breakfasts! We have stayed in many B & Bs over the years, but the Atwood House rises to the top of our list of favorites. Bill is a wonderful host and superb cook. We stayed in the Governor's Room and loved the private porch and luxurious bed with it's feather topper, feather comforter, and fine linen. The lovely garden at the rear of the house is a beautiful place to relax with a book or a drink.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Governor's Room is quiet and has a wonderful private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I took a weekend getaway here in April 2011. The owner was very kind and rather quiet. He was a great help for finding restaurants for dinner and entertainment. It was very quiet...only one other couple there. The bed in our room was fabulous! It was the highest bed I have ever seen. The decor was not my type (Classic Revival), but it was done nicely. There was a large selection of reading material in the room. The breakfast was delicious! One of my favorite things about B and B's is getting to know the owner, but he seemed very busy and did not have time to just sit and chat. Everyting we needed was within walking distance. I would stay here again if we were to ever visit Chillicothe again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Forego the Comfort Inn and chain hotels in the area and escape to this stunning B&B! Bill has impeccable attention to detail and runs a beautiful (and spotless) home. No dusty knickknacks or weird stuffed animals here! The President's Room has the most amazing fluffy-cloud-of-a-bed. There are 12 foot ceilings in every room...a lush garden and cozy spots for just lounging! You'll feel like a VIP at breakfast- fine china, a well-appointed dining room, fabulous food! All the other guests were repeat visitors-which really says it all. My husband and I enjoyed walking from the Atwood House around town- especially dinner Friday night at the Old Canal Smokehouse. Amazing smoked salmon! It’s really too bad Chillicothe is such a haul from Charlotte or we would make more frequent trips just to stay here and feel pampered!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cellospice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chillicothe hotels
1.2 mi away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Chillicothe
239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chillicothe
Quality Inn Chillicothe
#6 of 8 in Chillicothe
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 8 in Chillicothe
37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atwood House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atwood House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Atwood House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 68 S Paint St, Chillicothe, OH 45601-3212
Location: United States > Ohio > Chillicothe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chillicothe
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atwood House, a Greek Revival home built in 1843 by Jacob Atwood, is a historic bed and breakfast in the heart of Chillicothe, Ohio. Newly remodeled, each room is beautifully and uniquely furnished. The downstairs, with its ballroom and dining room/parlor, is perfect for celebrations. Since Chillicothe is only an hour from Dayton, Cincinnati, and Columbus, it is a wonderful place to consider for weddings and parties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atwood House Bed And Breakfast Chillicothe, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing