We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Look”

Adena Mansion and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Chillicothe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Helen, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worth a Look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were glad to tour this attraction, even though it was a bit chilly that day. It was a treat to see the old artifacts and the surrounding area itself. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Younger kids might get bored here, though.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaseoustania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had no idea what to expect when I took my children here and we all were completely blown away by the beauty of the home and land! The museum was fantastic and the tour guide in the home was unstopable! There wasn't a question that she didn't know the answer too when it came to the history of the home and the Worthington's! This would be very romantic and picturesque location for a wedding and even for family photos around the property! We will definately be back! FYI-Military ID Holders are admitted free! I did however donate what our tour admission fee would be if we had to pay to the preservation of the property!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fancy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wonderful and very knowledgeable tour guides. The entire family was surprised just how good this was. Beautiful grounds!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HotelGuest_1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Experience early Ohio history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Beautiful location for weddings. This location has a lot of history. The idea for the Great Seal of Ohio originated here. They have a wonderful garden. Must see!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald45601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
562 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

It's a very interesting house and the grounds are good to wander. Our kids really enjoyed the visitors center - especially the store and tavern with all the fun things that they could touch and hold. We really enjoyed learning about Ohio's history and would definitely recommend this tour.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RYC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adena Mansion and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Adena Mansion and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing