We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific lodging for highway travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chillicothe
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Terrific lodging for highway travelers”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Passing through Chillicothe on our way to Hocking Hills State Park. Based on earlier reviews, we knew we had to go here. While the location is nothing special (an empty restaurant sits in front), the hotel is excellent in all other respects. The lobby is modern, clean and stylish. The rooms are fantastic. We had great room, two queen beds, with all the amenities needed for an "overnight, just-passing-through" visit. Hotel check-in staff were friendly and checked to make sure we were satisfied by calling 30 minutes after check-in to make sure we were happy. Breakfast was above-average and we thought the automatic pancake machine was a hoot. While not really a complaint, the clerk at the desk when we checked out was less than enthusiastic and seemed to be having a bad day. If ever we are in the area, we'll stay here: highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeJay H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear P K,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am very glad to hear you had a great stay here at our hotel. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and the level of service we provide. Hocking Hill is such a beautiful park to experience. I'm very sorry to hear that the guest service represenative that checked you out well less thank enthursiastic. If you don't mind sending me an e-mail (deejay.howard@ahihotels.com) on exactly what day you checked out so I can look further into your experience during check out. We want each and every guest to have a positive interaction with the staff.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe. We appriciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
DeeJay Howard
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    55
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
56
49
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Quick overnight stay on our way to Michigan. Hotel is beautifully remodeled. Dining area is very modern and reminiscent of an upscale urban hotel. Who would have thought? Large rooms and a great bathroom fan that actually clears the fog, Friendly staff, nice breakfast and great coffee.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MadCOWVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeJay H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear MadCOWVirginia,

Thank you so much for leaving us great feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be beautifully renovated. We have done a great deal of renovations to provide our guests, such as yourself a great place to stay. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and want each and every guest to have a positive and memorable experience.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe. We appriciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
DeeJay Howard
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stay in hotels fairly frequently, and can usually find something that is not quite right. Not so at this Holiday Inn. Friendly staff, everything very clean. Since I have no complaints, I will detail a few of the issues that would be of interest to me if I were reading a review. This hotel is either brand new or recently remodeled: stone countertops, undermount sink, trendy decor, etc. Full breakfast bar with a pancake machine instead of a waffle maker. Faster, so no lines for the pancakes. There are hot protein options as well as the usual carb choices for breakfast. Nice to have a choice of both firm and soft pillows. Beds are most definitely firm. From our room we could sometimes hear conversations in the hallway but not a problem. Good TV with lots of channels. Price was reasonable as well. We don't often stay at H.I.
because we can usually find a cheaper option but this one was competitively priced. I can see why this is Trip Advisor's #1 in Chillicothe.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeJay H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Lonnie C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such wonderful feedback. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel and found that we have a friendly staff and a very clean hotel. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and the level of service we provide. We do have a wonderful breakfast and we will be making some positive changes here soon, so keep on the look out! Our bed are still fairly new and we are currently exploring options for mattress pads for better comfort.
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe. We appriciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
DeeJay Howard
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

-The decor is sleek new and modern throughout.
-The room was very clean and smelled fresh.
-The workout room only consists of two treadmills and a stationary bike, but was also clean and open 24 hrs which was a definite plus!
-breakfast was the standard HIExpress breakfast. The dining area was cleaned constantly by the attendant, who was friendly.
-The only "miss" in my opinion was that it took three days for my charges to post to my credit card. I didn't have a receipt under my door in the morning and I forgot to ask for one upon leaving. But one call to the desk clerk, and she emailed my receipt as requested.
-A very enjoyable stay!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeJay H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. I'm very happy to hear that you had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We take a lot of pride in our hotel. We do have limited fitness equipment, however our guests do get a special daily rate at our local YMCA that many guests do enjoy and take advantage of. I do apologize that you did not receive you receipt under you door before check out, but glad to hear when you called in we took care of it right away. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
DeeJay Howard
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
808 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,034 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here over 2 periods 05Jan14 - 06Feb14 and 09Feb14 - 19Feb14 for work. All employees that I encountered were most courteous. Laurie and Michael, were the 2 folks that I saw the most at the front desk and both were more than helpful.

This property appears to have been updated in the last year or so. The best thing was the cleanliness of the rooms from the carpets and all of the furnishings. The television really nice. Nice quality towels. Bed could have been a tad less firm for my taste but that was about the only downside that I experienced in the actual room. Had a location at the end of the 3rd floor and it was fairly quiet. Occasionally, over the period of my stays, a guest was somewhat louder than one might expect but that is really outside of the hotel's control.

I left fairly early in the morning and returned late in the evening but did occasionally grab something off of the breakfast to-go. It was much more than adequate. Enjoyed having the USA papers available during the week.

The only negatives that I encountered during my stay was that the pool was closed the entire time for some type of rehab. I had planned on utilizing it for some laps and hot tub time. Also, the weather was really rough and the parking lot was not maintained in a very good manner.

A very nice property for this or any area if you are looking for a comfortable, clean room.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, away from the elevators worked great for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abcjjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeJay H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear abcjjl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us wonderful feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel and that Michael and Lori was very helpful. Our property was fully renovated in 2012. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and the level of service we provide to our guests.

I do apologize for the inconvenience of the pool being closed during your stay. The weather we experienced this year was far worse than in previous years and caused some major damage to our pool area. It is back up and running though! It was a very busy time for snow plow companies and the company we use tried as hard as they could to maintain it during all the bad weather.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
DeeJay Howard
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Just off the exit. Fairly new property obviously built from the ground up (not rebranded from other hotel chain). Nice and welcoming staff. Lobby and breakfast area clean and modern with fireplace. Rooms updated with nice bedding, flat screen TVs, free wifi and refrigerator. One of the best free breakfasts I have had in awhile! lots of choices. Only complaint would be bread was not as fresh as it could have been (English muffin hard as a brick) and fresh fruit would have been great otherwise plenty to get you going in the morning. Several chain restaurants nearby for other meals. We will visit again when in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelmom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeJay H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Travelmom29,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us wonderful feedback. I am so glad to hear that you had a great experience here at our hotel. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and the level of service we provide to our guests. We want to make sure our guests feel right at home, can relax and enjoy their stay. Our breakfast is great and offer a lot of choices so guests can start their day off right. Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. We hope to see you again next time you're in town!

Sincerely,
DeeJay Howard
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here on our way thru town. The hotel was easy to find, rooms were in great shape, newly remodeled, room clean, nice TV, nice shower, tube, sinks.....

The staff was very friendly, check in fast, away from the highway enough that we did not hear road noise in our room. Laurie at the front desk promptly took care of a minor problem with the room when we went out for dinner and called to make sure everything was now acceptable.

The bed was firm but comfortable. They have two pillows each marked "Firm" and "soft", I've never seen that before. It was nice to have the option.

We found breakfast to be good, the standard options for an HI Express, everything was fresh, it was kept stocked, coffee full, area clean.

I did not use the pool but stepped in to take a look. It looked older but the family in it said the water was great and they were having fun.

The parking lot was well lite and I felt safe parking my car there with all out extra luggage in it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeJay H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Knothead,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. I'm happy to hear that Lori was able to take care of a minor problem you had in your room. We strive to be the best of the best and make sure our guests have a positive experience. I'm glad that you had a great experience here at our hotel. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
DeeJay Howard
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chillicothe hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
1.5 mi away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Chillicothe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Chillicothe
Quality Inn Chillicothe
#6 of 8 in Chillicothe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Chillicothe
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 8 in Chillicothe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East
Address: 1003 E Main St, Chillicothe, OH 45601-2890 (Formerly Chillicothe Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Chillicothe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chillicothe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe! We are located in historic Chillicothe, Ohio, in the foothills of the majestic Appalachian Mountains, in Ohio's first capital city. Chillicothe, home to Ohio University-Chillicothe and Daymar College, is rich in both history and nature. While visiting, you can tour Adena Mansion & Garden, home of Thomas Worthington, catch a show at the 152 year old Majestic Theatre, see a home-run at a Chillicothe Paints baseball game, and stroll and shop in historic downtown Chillicothe; just make sure you save time to see the epic outdoor drama Tecumseh! Convenient to both the Veterans Affair Medical Center and Adena Hospital, consider the Holiday Inn Express, Chillicothe when visiting friends and family. For business travelers Chillicothe is home to the Petland Corporate Headquarters, Mead Corporation-Chillicothe Operations, Kenworth Truck Manufacturing and YSK Corporation. No matter what brings you to town, you'll be sure to find what you're looking for at the Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chillicothe
Chillicothe Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Chillicothe East Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing