We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice hotel. The lobby is so large. The staff speak English very well and friendly. The rooms are clean. All rooms are maintained with new carpet. You can have the view of the beach from your room. It's great. The bar on the rooftop is great. The food was delicious. I like it. The location of the hotel is far from the center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsteven8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    45
    25
    15
    3
See reviews for
20
36
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Grans, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We only spent 1 night on our way up to Hue. The hotel is well placed along the beach, a bit o/o the central area which was just what we wanted for a quiet evening. The service is ok, the breakfast buffet one of the largest I've seen during our trip, and the restaurant card rather inventive. Sole drawbacks : few people spoke English (none French) and as we were in the 2wks holiday Tet period, the restaurant was closed at 20H30 (but you can negotiate).

Room Tip: Ask fo the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vhp1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

When entering the lobby of the (somewhat curiously named) Saigon Quynhon you get the feeling you are in a five star hotel, a feeling which extends to the the size of the rooms which are mansion-like. My rear-side room had a view of the beach too, which was a plus.

Room were clean and well serviced. Unfortunately the two I stayed in smelled somewhat of cigarette smoke - either the result of smoking in the hall outside (Asia seems not to have caught up with the developed world in this regard) or rising damp coming from cracks in the apparently hastily constructed building.

The king sized was actually two doubles pushed together. This is something I have encountered before in Asia and didn't bother me. If I were here with a partner however, the crease in the middle (covered by the sheet) may have bothered me.

Wifi was average; Okay for browsing and such but not good enough for Skype calls.

The staff spoke basic English. I wouldn't say it was effortless communicating with them but try finding any other English speakers in these parts (this is, after all, not the most frequented part of Vietnam for westerners, which is part of its appeal).

Breakfast was very good, including everything you could want in a big restaurant overlooking the main beach.

Other services were also worthwhile, like the $5 massage, which whilst stronger than I have ever had anywhere, was effective. Spa was nice too, though I wouldn't bother with the pool.

Hotel is in a good location, roughly in the middle of Quinhon beach.

A reasonable option given the price for a single stay was under $50 a room. You could check to see others are comparable before booking though.

3 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Quy Nhon. We had booked into its main rival, Seagulls Hotel, but left it after having seen the room, the lobby and the general ambience of the place ( a housekeeper was lying on a guest bed watching TV instead of cleaing the room!). The Saigon was great - friendly and helpful staff, plasant though rather dated rooms, and a reasonable restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickMcAllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent one enjoyable night at the Saigon Quynhon Hotel on our way out to a beach resort. It is a large hotel, close to the promenade along the beach and with wonderful views over the bay from almost every room. The rooftop terrace bar has even more extensive views.

The room was very large indeed and the wifi was amongst the most consistent we have had in Vietnam. There was a mention of the carpet in the Rough Guide and we could see why! The bathroom was spacious with a shower over a bath. It is worth asking for a non-smoking room, as they are not the norm in the hotel. The reception and other staff were helpful and friendly at all times and requests for directions to the Pagoda and somewhere to do some shopping were met with informative replies.

As we arrived late, we ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was o.k., nothing special but we were tired and it filled us up. Breakfast was good with many Vietnamese options but little fresh fruit. We would stay here again if visiting Quynhon for the hotel's location and facilities.

The Binh Dinh Museum is almost next door and really worth a visit. There are Cham sculptures, a room devoted to the American War and another to local peoples and culture.

Room Tip: Most have both a sea and a town view, stretching round to the harbour on the other side of the penin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel looks fine and is well situated for the beach. However, we weren't impressed with the staff. We asked one of the receptionists where the town was to shop, and she begrudgingly pointed us in the direction of what may be classed as 'town', I don't know, but there was absolutely nowhere to shop, just lots of men sitting on the footpaths talking. When we looked at a map later on, it appears the shopping was in the opposite direction.

After our uneventful shopping excursion, we returned to the hotel, and as we hadn't found Reception very interested the first time we asked for their help, we went direct to the restaurant to ask for some milk to have with our coffee in our room as it was not supplied. We had great trouble making the waitress understand what we wanted (she had very little English), and I ended up mooing like a cow to demonstrate 'milk'. She eventually got the message, and 15 minutes later, a waiter bought a wine glass of milk to our room and asked for $1.50 cash immediately - wouldn't even put it on our room bill.

We were even less impressed when our meal in the hotel that night was only very basic and flavourless. In addition, we ordered French Champagne which was described on the menu as "Lowin Rouge Special Champagne" but tasted like cherry cheer lolly water. I don't think there was any alcohol in it at all, but it was only $8.

The choice of foods for breakfast was meagre. There was a bit of Vietnamese food which we don't really fancy for breakfast; some bacon and eggs, but other than that, there was a little fruit and stale bread rolls.

There was a pervading odour of cigarette smoke all through the hotel, even in our room which was supposed to be non-smoking.

They don't really cater to westerners in this hotel, so I wouldn't recommend it. In fact, there wasn't anything in Danang that we saw that would make us want to go back. It's supposed to be an up-and-coming seaside resort, but it has a long way to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Limotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed just one night as part of a small group tour on a stop over heading for Hoi Ann. The rooms are great. Very spacious and close to the sea. Very clean. We struck a wedding party on the night we were there. No problem and we enjoyed seeing some of the festivities. The problem was the time it took from ordering food until it arrived. Ages. Unfortunately someone in our group suggested we should have ice cream for desert. Not sure what happened but it was another hour before it arrived. We tried to cancel the order but were told it was on its way. No idea what happened but it was hopeless. We felt sorry for the waitress who tried hard to help but there was something drastically wrong in the kitchen. A long wait for the mains and then likewise for a desert. We thought we would still be there at breakfast. Disappointing as it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reynard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
1.4 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#2 of 11 in Quy Nhon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
#10 of 11 in Quy Nhon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunflowers Hotel
Sunflowers Hotel
#4 of 11 in Quy Nhon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon
1.2 mi away
Hoang Yen Hotel
Hoang Yen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Quy Nhon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.1 mi away
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel

Property: Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Address: 24 Nguyen Hue St, Quy Nhon, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing