We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much Potential...... But lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Reviewed May 5, 2009

The Resort was wonderful and the rooms were lovely. The beach water was cystal clear and on the other side of the resort is another beach with white sands , that no one goes to ( as they dont know its there) that was lovely and the 2 of us had this to ourselves. The resort is far from the town , but its a easy cab ride in , and I would suggest doing this then eat at the resort as the prices are expensive and the food was not worth the value. The other down fall was due to its location there are no shops around , so if you need to drink water.... and it was hot you had to pay USD 3 for a bottle, so this added up when you start to feel dehydrated..... I wish the resot offered this to us for free as this would have been a nice gesture , While we were there 2 people passed out , and I would say this was directly due the heat and lack of water. All Activities that was advised would happen, could not be found i have a distinct feeling that they do not do unless you ask. The resort has potential to be a true leader in Vietnam, but is lacking, and the Management team did feel as if they were backpackers filling in time with a job, and didnt seem to show much vision.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeybear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 569 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2009

Myself and a friend I served with during the War In Viet Nam, made our return journey to Viet Nam in 2008 after 39 years. We chose to stay at Life Resort as it seemed to be the nicest place that was nearest to our primary objective (Bong Son) and one of the main reasons for returning to Viet Nam other than the obvious.
We were simply overwhelmed at just how nice this place was. The staff was great, the rooms top notch and very clean, and the dining area I can not say enough good things about. The morning meals were fantastic and you can eat yourself silly if you wish.
When we needed to obtain a car, driver, and translator/guide for a day long trip to see a few sites, and make our return to our former primary rear area during the war, LZ Uplift, the hotel made all of this available to us for $100, which I thought was very reasonable given we were taking the car and 2 of their people for an entire day.
The young lady the Resort provided to us was very well versed in English and could not seem to do enough for us. She and the driver both were more than understanding and demonstrated great patients towards and with us while we searced for our former LZ, which to them was seemingly "nothing, located in the middle of nowhere".
Once we did find LZ Uplifts former location, and the guide realized just how and what this place really meant to us along with its importance, she showed only the greatest of sorrow towards the friends we came to say Good By to right along with us.
The entire staff we found not to be to over bearing, but you can rest assured that if you do need something, they will break their backs to see to it that you get whatever it is that you need. This I liked most. They knew we were there to relax, not to be hounded and bothered endlessly by and with never ending questions.
I would return to the Life Resort in a heart beat and the rates were more than reasonable. If you are looking to get away from it all and this is truly what you wish to do, this is the place to totally decompress and forget about the rest of the world.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 173rdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

this was a wonderful resort, but VERY expensive compared to the rest of Viet Nam. in addition, they strive to be a upscale resort, but were missing the little touches that make one - like poor lighting around the dining area (could use some candles!).

the staff was kind, but to be honest in my three weeks of traveling the staff was no kinder than the places we stayed at for a fraction of the price.

the rooms were very nice and clean.

the beach is nice, but overlooks a harbor heavily used by fisherman.

the food was alright also - nothing special, except breakfast was monstrous and wonderful. again, prices were 10x that then the rest of the country.

the town is about a $6 cab ride, the train station is about $17 cab ride and the airport was $28 - which is really pricey for the country and i think free transfers should be offered.

in the end we had a very nice time, but the bill for three nights (including food) was more than we spent in the entire week before with comparable service and lodging. i would give this a skip if i did it all over again, and find something more charming and cheaper - their are a lot of choices out there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Life Wellness Resort for 5 nights in April 2009. The resort is set in a beautiful location about 18kms outside of Quy Nhon, with spacious rooms each with sea view, clean attractive beach for which the water is clean to swim in, and wonderful grounds and pool. We were on the top floor which has the best views of the ocean. Lower floor rooms do however have larger balconies.
The rooms were very comfortable, however I was surprised by old TV in the room (most hotels now have flat screen LCD) that sat on top of the fridge, and needed to be pulled into the centre of the room along with the fridge if you wanted to watch a movie in bed. The shower pressure is not great either. Beds were very comfortable.
There were only two PC's available for internet beside the reception which is too few given the resort can get quite busy, and most travellers are reliant on internet access to manage their goings on.
The restaurant and bar service, whilst delivered with the utmost enthusiasm and friendliness, was appallingly incompetent. From waiting 30 minutes just for a drink to be served, to plates not being cleared during dinner, only one menu being given to a table to share, this resort has a long way to go in training of staff before they can claim to delivering top quality service. Of course, everything moves a little more slowly in a resort, however the general inability of the service staff to get anything right in a mildly timely fashion stood out as being noticeable and occasionally frustrating.
The spa treatments however, were divine, yet pricey given you are in Vietnam. Deep tissue massage - USD50. Indian head massage - USD25. However well worth the splurge. Prices in the restaurant and bar were reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort recently for 4 nights to relax and chill out at the beginning of our Vietnam Holiday and it exceeded our expectations. The resort itself is fairly small and personal, placed directly on the beach with beautiful architecture and surroundings. The rooms were probably the best I have stayed in with high ceilings, all natural materials, king size four poster bed and an amazing shower with arched window looking over the beach. Even though we were only here 4 nights it was just so relaxing and the staff so welcoming that it felt a lot longer. We arrived early in the morning after an early flight from HCMC and were warmly welcomed as soon as we stepped out of the taxi. For a small price we went straight to breakfast and then as we were there for breakfast immediately felt we had been there a whole extra day. The breakfast was great with lots of options and the pho ga was the best we had during our trip. The chef also made amazing banana crepes and was very obliging. Great array of fresh juices and yoghurt. After that first breakfast we hit the lovely pool, soaked up the amazing view and then took to that four poster bed and slept for the whole afternoon! This resort is a good 15/20 mins from Quy Nhon city so you do tend to spend a lot of time at the resort which believe me is a good thing! We felt that overall, given the location, the prices of drinks and food at the bar and restaurant were very reasonable. My only comment would be that each time we tried one of the themed buffet nights they had - it wasn't overly cheap and we found the food quality to be a little lower than just ordering off the menu where the food was wonderful.

The staff were without exception extremely friendly and taught us our first words in Vietnamese! Another bonus for us was that we arrived to discover that the new General Manager was a super nice Australian guy who was so welcoming and friendly, always with time for a chat when he was passing. He personally organised information for us about the best way to get to Hoi An and had the reception staff work out all the details for us and even gave us the name of a great tailor in Hoi An he had used which turned out to be very good advice and told us the best things to do in Quy Nhon City. Both Shane (GM) and Stephanie the assistant GM were just so nice that they really added to the quality of our stay. What we really liked out this place was that it was gorgeous and luxurious without being over the top - the small size and the friendly staff ensures that it feels warm and welcoming. The resort also offers free yoga, tai chi and meditation daily. Also, when I first made contact with the hotel by email they quickly agreed to better the cheapest internet price I found which was good. We made 2 trips into Quy Nhon city which is certainly an experience not to be missed as not that many foreign tourists go there - just walking along the beachfront in the late afternoon watching the local scenes was great. At Queens beach with our hotel guide we were almost mobbed by locals who were just so curious about us. Overall, if you are after a lovely place in a beautiful location to just chill out and relax for a little while then this is a great place to do it. It does seem to have some large tour groups through of mostly Europeans but these groups seem to pass through fairly quickly. We were lucky in that the resort was fairly quiet when we visited. We just loved it here and enjoyed the tranquility before going on to Hoi An and Hanoi. Well worth the price tag for a special treat and then we went back to the budget hotels in the big cities! Have loads of photos if interested. CassieSC

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

This place is amazing. we had made the mistake of staying at the Resort Hoang Anh Quy Nhon because a few bad reviews of the Life Resort made us think it was not worth the $$. The Resort Hoang was so terrible we left a day early and spent our last night at Life Resort. It was paradise!

The beach is private and gorgeus, the rooms and the entire facility impeccably stylish, the food wonderful etc etc. The service is out of this world as well. It is pure paradise without being snobby etc. We were so disappointed that we had already booked our flights otherwise we would have planted ourselves there.

The only thing is the spa services seem a tad expensive.

The resort is a touch out of the way but it is what makes it idyllic, and Quy Nhon is not so far that you cannot explore the real Vietnam of Quy Nhon. I totally think this is a destination resort, off the beaten path of Vietnam.

We went on to La Veranda on Phu Quoc which was twice as expsensive and half as nice.

Life Resort is Perfection.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimandmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

From the moment you walk through the spacious, open air lobby of the Life Wellness Resort in Qui Nhon you'll start your journey towards total relaxation.

Situated on a hillside overlooking a spectacular bay, you immediately get a sense of the seclusion of this resort. There literally isn't anything around for miles except a gorgeous beach and ocean.

Many guests come to Life Wellness for the spa services, which are quite good (the three-hour treatment is a great way to spend an afternoon). We went there just to chill out, which is about all there is to do. I was pretty happy to find a selection of novels to borrow in the lobby.

For active travelers, you will get a growing sense of isolation the longer you stay, as the resort is located about 15 minutes by car from the closest town (Qui Nhon), so your only real option for dining is at the resort, which can get a little redundant. But there are daily tours available to the area sites, like the Cham towers, and you can always grab a taxi into town for local cuisine.

The rooms boast spectacular ocean views and are fairly well appointed with air conditioning, mini bar, etc. The air conditioner worked extremely well and provided us respite from the humidity. And the shower in our room had a huge window that overlooked the beach. The only problem we ever had was with the beds, which we felt were a bit stiff.

Everyone at the resort is quite friendly and the managers are ex-pats who speak excellent English.

For $118 US a night, you can't really go wrong with the Life Wellness Resort. Breakfast is included and is quite good, featuring a selection of fresh fruit, pastries, and Western & Vietnamese food, including our favorite, pho ga.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rodger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
5.2 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#2 of 18 in Quy Nhon
325 reviews
6.1 mi away
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
#8 of 18 in Quy Nhon
109 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
#12 of 18 in Quy Nhon
41 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sunflowers Hotel
Sunflowers Hotel
#9 of 18 in Quy Nhon
51 reviews
4.5 mi away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#6 of 18 in Quy Nhon
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa

Address: Ghenh Rang, Bai Dai Beach, Quy Nhon 880000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Quy Nhon
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Quy Nhon
#1 Spa Hotel in Quy Nhon
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered by a private golden beach and soaring cliffs, AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa offers a tropical beach and spa retreat generous in spirit and beauty. Muted shades of mint and white with splashes of aubergine of each of the 63 room and suites offer a soothing palette and contemporary comforts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Wellness Resort Quy Nhon Hotel Quy Nhon
Life Wellness Quy Nhon
Life Wellness Hotel Quy Nhon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing