We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute relaxation”
Review of Haven Vietnam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quy Nhon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven Vietnam
Ranked #1 of 39 Quy Nhon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolute relaxation”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was the end of our 2 week-long trip so we wanted to relax and indulge ourselves with sun and sea. We found a perfect place. True Vietnam opened its face as soon as we arrived to Quy Nhon airport and all the way through the village and up to the Haven gates.
Small and cozy place with an access to three almost private beaches (the further - the quiter and cleaner it is), wonderful quiet rooms (especially after busy noisy Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh), great dinners, amazing hospitality and great people - both staff and other guests.
Actually, one of the most wonderful parts of staying was having our dinner seated at the same table as a big family.
The only drawbacks I can think of are restricted menu for the lunch (again due to small size).
Also, if you have an allergy to cats or dogs - please consider the other place as Haven has two dogs and two kittens.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherepashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavers24, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the family style dinner, it is our favorite time of the day too. Happy travels! Gavin, Steve and the Haven family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    11
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
94
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
307 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Haven is without a doubt one of the best places we have found in our years of travels in the central provinces and if you are lucky enough to get an available room you will be made to feel right at home.

For starters, the design and use of space is amazing as all the rooms are well adorned, make good use of natural light, have AC, large amounts of drinking water, and incredibly comfortable beds...not to mention a great wifi connection.

While the common area is small by comparison to most places in town, it is also quite comfortable as the patio area is split between a relaxed lounge and one dining table which everyone shares for breakfast and dinner. The rest of the space is divided between some mellow sun loungers, hammocks, and one outdoor bed that is great for couples who just want to take a siesta after reading for a while. Better yet, animal lovers will dream of kidnapping the two house dogs and (at time of writing) three kittens. The dogs are affectionate, well behaved, wretchedly adorable, and can be seen passed out through the better part of the day.

Lastly, with a small staff and limited guest space the kitchen rolls out quality home made simple food every day. In addition, the ownership is quite reasonable when it comes to selling everything and only takes the minimal mark up so we were able to enjoy a nice bottle of white table wine for only 250k. Quite good all around!

The only catch for the Haven is that presently there is only a limited number of rooms and the kitchen is rather limited during the day as a result. Consequently, if you do not have a reservation you probably should not bother turning up here as they are always fully booked and do not serve food to non guests.

If you are lucky enough to get a reservation however, you will fall in love with the place and spend your days swimming, relaxing, and living a nice simple village life.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavers24, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Wishing you many happy travels! Gavin, Steve and the Haven family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for two nights in beginning of April. We wanted to book the room with the private balcony, but unfortunately it was already booked, so we stayed in the verandha room, which was very clean an spacious. Provided four towels and even four beach towels as well.

We had dinner at the Guesthouse both night, we really enjoyed it. Plenty of food was on offer and truly delicious. And it is gave you an opportunity to get to know the other guests, share your travel experiences. Also we had tasty sandwiches and coffees during the day, all for a very reasonable price. Personally I loved the mango juice!!

Gavin and Steve was very friendly, greeted with a welcome drink on arrival, showed us around and looked after us while we stayed there, also helped us to book a private driver for our onward journey.

We loved the location, walking threw the village give you a real feeling of Vietnam. Great experience to see men leaving to fishing for their family's and lots of women playing bingo on the beach, kids were running around...it was such a fantastic surrounding.

Their is three beaches, we always walked down to the further one, we were the only one on it, felt like a private beach. :-)

We are highly recommend Haven if you are looking for a relaxing stopover while you traveling around in Vietnam.

Thank you very much Steve, Gavin Haven family, Yuri and Haven for looking after us, making our stay unforgettable, we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank su12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavers24, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Sorry you didn't get to stay longer, perhaps you will get another chance in the future. Enjoy your future travels. Gavin, Steve and the Haven family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the verandah room and totally enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The accommodation is simple but totally adequate, spotflessly clean, spacious and right on a nice beach (with an even better one a couple of hundred metres away). We were warmly welcomed by Steve and Gavin and immediately settled in.

There are a number of lounges and areas where you can relax and read your book or chat which were really nice - all with a great view on the beach. We liked the honour system of helping yourself to drinks and snacks at any time, which added to making you feel at home.

Meals are at a large shared table which was great for discussing onward travel plans with people heading in the opposite direction. The 3 course meal was 150,000 for each person and was good value given that there were very few other choices nearby. The fishing village of Bai Xep is pretty simple with very limited services and was about 10kms out of Quy Nhon.

For us it was all about relaxing and chilling out and the hospitality was outstanding from Gavin, Steve and Tim (pronounced Yim).

It ticked all our boxes and we would highly recommend a stay if you are after time off the beaten track.

It was obvious to us that a lot of thought and care has gone into creating this little 'haven' which we appreciated.

Room Tip: Verandah room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBoutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavers24, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you felt at home here. You were absolutely delightful guests. Thanks for the great company and help with the kitten. Hope to see you again one day! Gav, Steve and the Haven family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We initially booked for 4 nights but ended up staying for 8 because we liked the place so much. We stayed in both a room and the dorm and both were excellent. The food provided was also excellent (150,000 VND per person for the evening meal but worth it) and having Marmite at breakfast was brilliant. The staff were helpful and friendly and when a guest suggested having a BBQ would be a good idea the next day we were having a BBQ having gone to town to get everything needed. The beach is one of the cleanest we have seen in Vietnam and is good for swimming. We had lunch in the village everyday and it was fantastic. Our only slight issue was the price of beer and wine which was overly expensive (maybe a corkage charge or a range of lower priced drinks would be good). We went to the village bar before dinner which was always fun and a bit cheaper. If you want to relax this place has everything you need and more we have already recommended it to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gav1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavers24, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here.
And thank you for the constructive feedback which helps us to make sure our future guests have as nice a time as you did. As you have suggested we have now introduced a wider selection of drinks with some cheaper options whilst still buying them in the village to support the local economy. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. We will think of you every time we have a BBQ. Gav, Steve and the Haven family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We found Haven totally by accident, we only wanted to stop at Quy Nhon to break up the journey between Nha Trang and Da Nang, and just noticed a mention on Wikitravel for Haven. At first we weren't sure as it was outside of the city, but we're so, so glad we came.

It started perfectly as some dinner was kindly kept back for us after a nightmare journey, and just continued onwards. Our room, the sea view with balcony, was spotlessly clean and wonderfully furnished with a huge comfy bed - for the price it is an absolute bargain.

The communal breakfasts and dinners are great fun and a chance to meet the other guests and staff. A lot of places say they are like a family but with Haven this is genuinely true, it's so small that everyone bonds and has fun.

Breakfast was really good with baguettes & jam, amazing fruit salad and a hot dish each day. Dinner was outstanding, although 150,000 pp might sound a lot, the food is SO good and there is always enough for everyone. As for lunch there is some delicious food being sold in the village and it's a great chance to go for a walk and explore the surroundings.

During the day it is pure relaxation, with plenty of sun loungers and hammocks. The beach is 10 seconds walk away and is great for swimming with lovely clear water.

Haven turned a quick stopover into an incredibly relaxing break and one of our highlights of Vietnam. Would have stayed a week if we could! Without a doubt we will be back. Thanks Steve, Gavin, Diem and Sau for such a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghughes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavers24, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us to know that we played a small part in helping you have a great time. We are glad that you felt you could relax here and we really hope you do manage to return. Hope the rest of your journey was easier. Gav, Steve and the Haven family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Didn't stay at this place. We were staying in Quy Nhon and decided to visit it first, to see how it looks like.

Getting there, we passed though the village and we were getting some bad vibes, when we were asking about the location of the guesthouse. We wondered why, but we got the answer as soon as we entered it.

We were lucky to find the door unlocked as the manager said, cause it is usually locked. We asked for some food and drinks so we can experience the atmosphere and maybe decide to book there. We were completely unwelcome though, nothing is served to non guests and entrance is also not allowed. It looked a very nice place, but i guess you need to pay the price by being heavenly inside and bringing hell outside.

We understand that anyplace can have their rules, etc. But we decided not to stay there. We didn't want to get the bad vibes of the villagers.

Seems a little tough for the village to have two luxury places around and isolated. (There is also an expensive hotel & spa nearby favored by mostly Russians)

I guess if you just stay inside, there is no problem. Heaven is provided. But when you unlock the door, prepare for some bad behavior :(

Sorry for the low rating, but it is a small payback for not giving us some food, being hungry and asking you nicely, when everything around seem closed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank CocoPommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
First of all we would like to say that we would never throw a dog - here at Haven we are avid animal lovers as can be seen by our Facebook and website which we encourage all our guests to check out before turning up.

We are deeply saddened that you felt the need to use tripadvisor as "payback for being hungry".
Haven guesthouse is just that - it is our home and we love sharing it with our guests, but as it says on our website because of our small size and to ensure the comfort of our paying guests we cannot provide facilities for people coming to use the beach or wanting meals for the day no matter how much you harass, blackmail or bully us.
You can also find information on exactly what we do provide on the website, which would have helped you realize that we don't provide any of the services you were insisting on.
We also don't provide, unicorn rides, or a chance to meet Santa but fortunately you let that one slide.
We are glad that you "decided not to stay" after we apologized that we were unable to accommodate you as we were fully booked.

As to your comments about the "expensive hotel and spa nearby that is mainly Russian" we are glad that you noticed our "rules". Here at Haven we do have one big rule and that is that we except guests from all walks of life be they Russian, green or blue, But we do not take guests who are rude or abusive to our team.

We are very sorry that you also had a bad experience with everyone else you met on that day, this is completely at odds with the thousands of other guests that have stayed here. We have always considered the villagers to be such good judges of character.
We would like to thank you even though "you were not allowed inside" you could still notice that it was " a very nice place" and that " heaven is provided" for our paying guests that had booked or arrived before we were full.
Even though you did not use any of our services, we thank you for taking the time to review them, which must have taken longer than your very short visit.
The Haven Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
5.0 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#2 of 15 in Quy Nhon
301 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
#9 of 15 in Quy Nhon
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Life's a Beach
Life's a Beach
#1 of 38 in Quy Nhon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Big Tree Backpackers and Bistro
4.8 mi away
John & Paul Inn
John & Paul Inn
#3 of 38 in Quy Nhon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Vietnam

Property: Haven Vietnam
Address: To 2, Khu vuc 1, Bai Xep | Phuong Ghenh Rang, Thanh pho, Quy Nhon 590000, Vietnam (Formerly Haven Guesthouse)
Location: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Quy Nhon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Vietnam is a small friendly beachfront guesthouse and bar with stunning views. Off the beaten track and perfect for relaxing and time out after visiting the busy tourist destinations. Delicious and filling breakfast included in tariff, delicious lunch and dinner menu at Big Tree Bistro next door, sunset cocktails. Comfortable king-size beds and spacious ensuites. Four double rooms and one family room (double bed and two bunks). Come and feel a part of our Vietnamese and Australian family. Come as our guests, leave as our friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing