We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving every minute of it”
Review of Haven Vietnam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quy Nhon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven Vietnam
Ranked #1 of 54 Quy Nhon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I think I don't have anything new to add to these superb reviews, I fully agree. Staff, place, people at village and other guests just made this place perfect! I hope it all stays the same to other guests to enjoy.

Room Tip: Best dormitory that I've stayed, really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Jenni thanks so much for taking the time to review
Haven. We loved having you stay with us
And are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!
Take care and we hope to see you again
soon.
Best wishes
Rosie Huw and all the team at Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Haven Guesthouse is in the Village Bai Xep, which is a small fisher village with very friendly locals. There are hardly any tourists and you can relax from all the motorbikes, horns and noisy things. From the beach you can either swim or hire a round boat (kind of adventure, try to paddle yourself! ) to get to a small island with a private beach and nothing else.

The guesthouse is located directly at the beach. The relaxing area is very comfortable and you can spend the whole day with just doing nothing. The dorm is very clean, modern (quiet AC, 2 lockers) and comfortable (perfect mattresses).

The owners Rosie and Huw do everything to ensure that you have a pleasant stay and even take care of you if you are sick (like we were). Like the rest of the staff they always have a smile on their face which brings you in a happy mood. Apart from them, there is the cutest and funniest dog in whole Vietnam, Haven!

The only negative thing is the food. It was so good during our stay that we probably have to make a diet to get rid of the additional kilos.

All in all, these were the best five days we have spent in Vietnam and we were very sad to leave. We can definitely recommend this place and will come back if we go to Vietnam.

Thanks Rosie, Huw, Haven and all the others! We hug you and hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterpanda1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review!
We appreciate your thoughts so much.
Haven the puppy is missing you!
Hope we see you again at Haven
All our best wishes
Rosie Huw Mi Sau and Hung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The unbelievable reviews are all true. Rosie, Huw, Mi, Sou and company have created my ideal tour experience. Haven is in the small fishing village of Bia Xep 15 - 20 minutes south of Quy Nhon. The Australian couple who operate the 4 room guesthouse are clearly committed to working with and supporting the Village while delivering a superior experience for their guests. The meals served communally are great and the view from the veranda is paradise. I can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellowtraveler5852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time
to write a review. It was lovely having you
Here at Haven and we are so happy you
enjoyed your stay!
Safe travels and we hope to see you again
one day
Kind regards
Rosie Huw and Mi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

What truly special and fantastic place !! Certainly a little off the beaten track, which is really its main selling point. If you are at the stage of your travels through Vietnam (like I was) when you are just a tad frazzled with all the traffic, noise, heat and variants of 'direct marketing' from entrepreneurial Vietnamese - then timeout at the Haven is exactly what the doctor ordered.

Located a short drive from Qui Nhon (which in itself is a nice seaside city) Haven is easily accessible. It is located in the small village of Bai Xep which is a fantastic cultural experience in itself as the friendly locals are genuinely interested in learning English and meeting you. Very low key, relaxed and a refreshing change from other places in Vietnam I had visited. A good opportunity to see the authentic side of Vietnam culture. It is also surrounded by cool things to do including a hike to some beautiful waterfalls (make sure you ask Huw for detailed directions and take plenty of water and good shoes!!), kayaking out to the nearest island and even a spot of fishing off the rocks.

But it is Huw and Rosie's hospitality and attention to detail which make this guesthouse special and outstanding. Everything you have ever liked about any guesthouse you have ever stayed in during your travels is here at Haven. Its the one-stop-shop and they have thought of absolutely everything !! The rooms are super clean, well appointed and come with every convenience. The guesthouse is located right on the beach and the meals are nothing short of super-delicious. They have seriously thought of everything and my only regret is that I didn't set aside enough time to stay longer. Huw and Rosie are genuinely lovely hosts and also native English speakers and they do their utmost to make you feel welcome and settled in. Its is more a home than a guesthouse and it really felt like family when I was there. Best value for money guesthouse I stayed in during my travel around South East Asia by far. Even the weather behaved itself !

Rosie and Huw have also put in a great effort to make the guesthouse both culturally and environmentally sustainable and integrate with life in the local village. This strive to be sustainable without adversely impacting on the village way of life is something you don't see too often in the tourism industry and truly should be applauded. I was particularly impressed by how they have helped the locals with their waste collection challenges and setting up little business initiatives.

I strongly recommend a few days ++ at Haven - its about halfway between Hoi An and Nha Trang, breaks up the journey and certainly a little slice of paradise that you wont forget in a hurry.

PS: their dog 'Haven' is the cutest four legged canine you are ever likely to meet !

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic and the dorm is the best I have ever seen. I had an upstairs double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Haven! We
are so pleased that you chose to spend time
again with us at Bai Xep Village.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Warm regards
Rosie Huw Mi Hung and Sau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The highlight of our fortnight in Vietnam! We had our itinerary organised when a neighbour told us about Haven and the reviews convinced us we had to cut something else and squeeze in a couple of days here. Arriving on the overnight train from Saigon before 6.30am we were met by the driver Rosie had organised and taken to Haven where Rosie invited us to join the other guests for a delicious breakfast. We had booked the upstairs room with its own balcony and really appreciated having early access to it. It was a fabulous room with the best view of the beautiful beach, the most comfortable mattress and quality linen. Beach and bath towels were provided, a/c, ceiling fan, free wifi, bottled water and, in the communal living space a bar with drinks on an honour system at very reasonable prices. We had laundry done cheaper and better than anywhere else on our trip.
We chose to have dinner both nights at Haven and not only was the food excellent but it was like a dinner party each night with our new best friends!
For lunch one day we ate at the village - rice pancakes with the locals by the well and a fruit and yoghurt platter at Mi's cafe; the second day we walked and swam along the beach to the nearby resort and dined there.
Apart from providing first class accommodation in idyllic surroundings, Rosie and Huw are doing everything they can to improve the lot of the villagers without interfering with their way of life. They have taken a special interest in the school and suggest on their web site that rather than give sweets or money to the local children, a better way to help is give something to the school. We took pencils etc with us and were privileged to meet the children and their teacher and the class sang a song for us. (They did seem to have a good supply of pencils so it might be worth asking Rosie what they currently need if you're thinking of taking something with you.)
2 days really wasn't long enough in this little slice of heaven but we're so glad we didn't miss it. One hint, if you're looking for somewhere with nightclubs, restaurants and shops, Haven might not be for you. It's not hard to get into Quy Nhon but it's about a 1/2 hour taxi trip each way.
Thank you Rosie and Huw for a truly wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We loved our upstairs room with balcony but the isn't a second class room at the property - even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice3934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We appreciate you taking time to review Haven
and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with
us! Thank you also for your involvement
In our Village of Bai Xep it is very much
appreciated.
Perhaps in the future we can welcome you
once more to Haven!
Kind regards and best wishes
Rosie Huw Mi Hung and Sau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place was the winner between any place I have ever stayed at. It is hard to describe how wonderful Haven was. It was a great place away from the city, right on the beach.. The owners were a fantastic couple that made every thing so perfect. The food is the best quality food you will have, we miss it so much. I can't find good words to describe my experience there, we went for 2 days initially and ended up staying for 5 and honestly I would have stayed a life time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks so much for your words and
Thoughts. It means a lot to us. We are so
happy you enjoyed your stay at Haven and look
forward to seeing you again one day
Kind regards
Rosie Huw and all at Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Haven was the absolute perfect break for us whilst travelling in Vietnam. I couldn't complain about a single thing. The food, the view, the hospitality, the company all were all incredible. I'm not sure I ever felt so welcomed in a guesthouse anywhere I have travelled to.
Hopefully I will get a chance to come back in the future. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niclynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for your kind words we are so happy
that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Best wishes for your trip and we hope to see you
again soon
Kind regards
Rosie Huw and all at haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
5.0 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#2 of 18 in Quy Nhon
325 reviews
4.3 mi away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#6 of 18 in Quy Nhon
2 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunflowers Hotel
Sunflowers Hotel
#9 of 18 in Quy Nhon
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Life's a Beach
Life's a Beach
#1 of 73 in Quy Nhon
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Big Tree Backpackers and Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Vietnam

Address: To 2, Khu vuc 1, Bai Xep | Phuong Ghenh Rang, Thanh pho, Quy Nhon 590000, Vietnam (Formerly Haven Guesthouse)
Location: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Quy Nhon
Price Range: $10 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Vietnam is a small friendly beachfront guesthouse and bar with stunning views. Off the beaten track and perfect for relaxing and time out after visiting the busy tourist destinations. Delicious and filling breakfast included in tariff, delicious lunch and dinner menu at Big Tree Bistro next door, sunset cocktails. Comfortable king-size beds and spacious ensuites. Four double rooms and one family room (double bed and two bunks). Come and feel a part of our Vietnamese and Australian family. Come as our guests, leave as our friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing