We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haven Vietnam
Nearby Hotels
Seagull Hotel(Quy Nhon)
$82
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa(Quy Nhon)
$195
$183
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$529
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hoang Yen Hotel(Quy Nhon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ngoc Linh Hotel(Quy Nhon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
163
13
8
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
13
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbai xepfishing villageother guestsupstairs roomheavenly havenbeautiful beacheat localginger beerat short noticequiet spotpriced drinksbig thanksgood nights sleepfive nightsspring rollshighlight of our tripate here
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 190 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've been lucky enough to have stayed in many lovely hotels throughout the world but I can think of no other that gives you the warmth and comfort of this small hotel in a tiny fishing village way off the beaten track in Vietnam. The success of this place is wholly down to the efforts and attention to detail of the owners, Rosie and Huw, and their staff (especially Mi). Everything about this place oozes comfort and hospitality with everything you would want from a large, chain hotel without the formality and stuffiness...if you want a cold beer in a frozen glass (they are Australian after all) then just help yourself and make a note in your own room book. The food is lovingly prepared by Rosie and Mi and served to a standard that we hadn't until now had delivered elsewhere in Vietnam. Bai Xep itself is a picturesque fishing village, not in a cutesy Polperro sort of way but in a ramshackle but cared for working village. The beach is gorgeous and the views out to the islands and on to the South China Sea are breathtaking. They are top drawer views and the sort of vistas that you would pay a lot for in a big hotel - the Haven deal in the dearest room in the house is a princely GBP 22 per night bed and breakfast.for two people. If you want comfort, friendliness and total relaxation then head for this little haven.

Room Tip: Book the double room, on the first floor with its own balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayndPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you we appreciate your kind thoughts.
We are so happy you enjoyed your time
with us and hope to see you again one
day!
Kind regards
Rosie Huw and all at Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend 9 days at Haven in March. If I could have just moved in I would have! I have a very stressful job and this "Haven" was the perfect chill out place.
The food was far superior to anything I tasted in the 23 days I was in Vietnam! We stayed in 6 star resorts but Haven took the cake as far as food. We went to the village for lunch or you could pop over to the nearby resort. Haven was the winner with village meals coming in second. The Village has not been affected by Haven being there which is fantatsic! Rosie and Huw who look after Haven hail from Australia and are much travelled. The stories and the knowledge they share with you is gold. I stayed in the upstairs room with a balcony and the rates were fantastic. Rosie and Huw want to help the village by fundraising to help the childrens school. The have made it safe for the kids to attend and a play ground under way. Before this the stairs were a danger and the little ones would often fall. You can go for ride in a round boat much to the delight of the villagers. We were great amusement for them when we tried to row! The company was fantastic with a home like atmsophere, the food was divine and the peacefulness was just that.
The beauty is that Rosie and Huw ask you not to give the children money as the village is unspoilt and well balanced. If you like bring toys and school things as they are hard to come by. and Rosie will organise a visit to the school. This way the balance stays as is. We took school things and frizbees the kids loved it. It doesn't atke much to make them happy. I am definately going back next year! thank you all at Haven for making my stay so special!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniez100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write
a review for Haven. We appreciate your thoughts
about the local village and school. This helps other
travellers to hear about a more caring experience in
Vietnam!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with
us at Haven.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
best wishes
Rosie Huw Mi and all at Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This really is a gem of a place, tucked away well off the beaten track and run with real passion. Our room (downstairs double) looked out over the sea and had the most comfortable bed we had in Vietnam. The food is plentiful and delicious which is just as well given that there aren't really any restaurants nearby, though we did love having street food up in the village for lunch. The owners, Rosie and Huw, care deeply about integrating into their community and ensuring the Haven brings real benefits to the village; they are also incredibly welcoming and hospitable. For a beachside chill-out with a real flavour of Vietnamese village life, I seriously doubt you could do any better - we loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review
Haven Guesthouse. We appreciate your support
and are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Stay safe, and we hope to see you again
at Haven soon!
love Rosie Huw Mi and all at Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we stayed at haven guest house in january. we had seen photos prior to our stay but nothing could have prepared us for the wonder and beauty of the place. haven is situated at the end of the pathway which zig-zags its way through the tiny fishing village. the position of haven is right on the beach -which is practically deserted. the rooms were what i would expect in a 4-5 star hotel and everything was so clean and well decorated. rosie and huw are the best, they are excellent hosts and great company. the food was sooo good and great variety- so forget the diet! the whole experience was made so memorable by the friendly people we were surounded by not just in haven but in the village. beware once there you will not want to leave and be prepared to shed a tear or two when you do. miss you all. deb and mitch.

Room Tip: the rooms are all top quality- but there are two with views of the beach which were excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71debby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Deb and Mitch
We so enjoyed having you stay at Haven.
Thank you for your support and kind words.
We all hope to see you again if you return to
Vietnam!
best wishes
Rosie Huw and all at Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I can only echo other people's reviews; Haven was perfect in every way. The rooms and guesthouse are beautifully put together, with great attention to detail. Huw and Rosie are the perfect hosts, along with Lynne and the rest of the team. In many ways this is more than just a guesthouse, Huw and Rosie are doing so much for the local fishing village and surrounding area, they are an inspirational couple.

We ate lunch every day in the village, which was tasty, fun and super-cheap, went and attempted to paddle a round fishing boat, swam and mainly did a lot of nothing! The perfect place to relax.

We stayed in two rooms, because we extended our stay once we arrived and saw the place!, Room 4 (upstairs with a private balcony) was beautiful and quiet and Room 1 (downstairs with shared balcony) was a little bit cheaper because it was slightly less private and a teeny bit more noisy because it was near the village path to the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkerosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Rosie
thanks for taking the time to review Haven,
we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
Its great you experienced the village food and fun atmosphere
and we hope theough your words many other travellers
will be inspired to have this unique chance
to share and meet with the local people!
Safe travels and we hope to welcome you
again one day at Haven.
kind regards Rosie Huw and the gang at Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews