We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel For The Money I have Had In Nam”
Review of Hoang Yen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoang Yen Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
442 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
“Best Hotel For The Money I have Had In Nam”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I stayed here for ten nights with my wife. We had room 520 which cost us 500,000 Dong per night ($25 US). Beautiful room with sea view balcony and window overlooking the beach. The most comfortable bed we've slept in in Vietnam. Well furnished, WI-FI in room, fridge, full cable, flat screen TV, hot water shower in large bathroom. A flat out great value given that the hotel is on the beach and has a pool.

There is a large restaurant in the hotel but we found the food only average given the prices. There is a hotel next door called the Binh Duong Guest House with a restaurant serving much better food. There is also a restaurant 300 meters south on the beach called the Nha Hung. Wonderful food and seaside tables.

On one occasion we had a noise issue as the hotel was hosting a large Vietnamese tour group. On our fifth day here we noted some crawling insects in the bathroom. We reported the problem to the desk and the matter was dealt with the same day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Our room (seaview deluxe) was clean with new TV and good air-con but had signs of wear and tear but was ok for the price.

When we tried to eat in the restauraunt in the evening we were turned away from the main areas and had to eat on a balcony surrounded by the debris from a party. We didn't make it for breakfast as it finishes at 8.30 and the menu wasn't very inspiring.

Service ranged from indifferent to rude and like the town itself you get the impression this is a local hotel for local people.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
324 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

This would have been rated a "5" for the Rooms, Breakfast and Price, but the very poor service by totally unhelpful staff lowered our rating to "4 minus". We actually had to go next door to the Seagull Hotel, to have their Staff help us on varous matters. Regrettably, we also got a real bad feeling about Quy Nhon, staying here over the Tet New Year Holiday. Most unusual in our travel experiences, the people here really did not want to include us "Foreigners" in their festivities -- i.e. despite finding many local restaurants open and serving boisterous crowds drinks and dinner, they would repeatedly tell us they were not open; and, when we finally found a place that begrudingly sat us at a table, they mostly ignored us, and we barely got two small plates of entrees, while skipping over our additional orders of entrees and repeated requests until we finally asked for Check and left.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

This hotel was reccommended to us by the awful hotel we had in Hoi An, so I was a little apprehensive about it, but it turned out to be a great place to stay. The only problem was that it was a long walk (25/30 mins) into the centre of town, but it was good exercise!!
We paid 28 dollars a night for a very nice room on the 7th floor with a balcony overlooking the beach. It had all mod-cons, aircon, tv, ensuite etc. The hotel has a nice restaurant overlooking the beach. This town doesn't get many western tourists, so the staff's English wasn't great but they were very nice and you can communicate very easily with sign-language and pointing!! There's also a nice swimming pool with a cafe beside it.
There's a very popular nightclub in the basement of the hotel, you can hear the loud dance music in the restaurant, but we could never hear it in our room, and it closes up pretty early anyway.
I'd definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone who's going to Quy Nhon, it's a very good hotel right on the beach, and Quy Nhon is a lovely town too.

  • Liked — Nice staff, nice room, restaurant, pool etc.
  • Disliked — The long walk into town, but taxis are cheap and readily available.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jrcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckman
Level Contributor
236 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We walked in with our luggage and no reservations, having been brought there by our cab driver (we had taken a taxi from Kon Tum), and got a very nice top-floor room with a/c, and a darling, tiny balcony overlooing the sea, for, as I recall, $40 a night! The Hoang Yen is a "fancy" high-rise hotel right on the beach, has a pool and a cute cafe overlooking the sea (we had a Very nice meal there, along with a fancy ceramic bottle of the Binh Dinh Specialty Liquor (Extremely potent stuff!) for, as I recall, $7!) We had a delightful Honeymoon stay, exploring the city on foot, walking along the beach for miles past the fishing boats and baskets, and then returing to dance the night away at the hotel's disco- which turned out to be THE hottest disco in town! The staff was charming and helpful (and the desk staff spoke English), and we considered it a great find... The room on the website (pictured here) is the exact room we had!

  • Liked — Location on the beach, Cute room balcony, fun disco, & beach cafe- & a Bargain!
  • Disliked — We thought it was Great!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elissejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
0.3 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#2 of 15 in Quy Nhon
301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
#9 of 15 in Quy Nhon
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
#12 of 15 in Quy Nhon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon
1.7 mi away
Sunflowers Hotel
Sunflowers Hotel
#6 of 15 in Quy Nhon
50 reviews
5.5 mi away
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Yen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Yen Hotel

Property: Hoang Yen Hotel
Address: 05 An Duong Vuong, Quy Nhon, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hoang Yen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing