We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation and location”
Review of Hoang Yen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoang Yen Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good accommodation and location”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had a trip to Quy Nhon and decided to book room at this hotel, the reservation is simple through phone call. Overall, the price is ok, the room is clean and comfortable, staff os friendly also. Additionally, the location is very good, it's nearby the beach and main road of town. Quy Nhon is a very great place to visit with delicious and cheap food, clean sea, and peaceful town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giang1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We decided to stay in Quy Nhon for a rest between Nha Trang and Hoi An. We were pretty happy with the room we had a great view overlooking the beach and also a very large fairly clean room. The bathroom however was something else! It was disgusting very unclean, the plug hole was clogged with hair! You also have to let the bath water out by letting it flood the whole barroom into a plug at the side of the toilet so you have to let the water out in stages! It is quite pricy for what you get even the wall paper in the room is peeling off. We have stayed in hotels half the price of this and had a much better time!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char_chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel feels like it wants to be high class, but just lacked the budget to achieve its goal. However, it is located right on the beach, has elevators and a bell-hop, spacious rooms, and very comfy beds. But given that you pay 30-50% more that other back-packet style hotels, you certainly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

On our way heading south from Hanoi to Saigon, we stopped in Quy Nhon, where we ended up staying 6 days. The town is great and bustling with locals living undisturbed by tourism. The town has a beach several kilometers of lenght in day time it is totally unvisitited and we had it all by ourselves, but in the afternoon it wakes up when all the locals come to swim, run and play. All along the beach runs the main road and of the opposite site almost every building houses a small local restaurant that prepares delicious seafood. of course the locals gave us quite a lot of interest but that is what to except with few tourists around, and luckily it was all friendly faces.

By far the town and beach is what you should come to visit here and not the Hoang Yen hotel. The hotel had poor service, I would guess they work long hours and we met them after a hard days work, they were definitely not too welcoming. Anyways the room itself was ok, not too big and a bit worn, but still liveable. Especially when you pay only around 33 US for a family room. The breakfast was nice and made up by a big buffet with lots to choose from. unfortunately the pool was not clean and we decided it was better to stay away from it. At one point in the evening we went down in the restaurant and ordered food and since in was all converted into a big wedding room I asked if we could have the food brought to our room. This was no problem, but when we received the food there was extra fees of 30 percent because we were using room service. I found this to be a bit of a hustle since we couldnt eat in the restaurant and nobody told us about the extra fees.

However we ended up moving to the hotel next door called Binh Duong Guesthouse, this is a bit smaller ever more worn not as good breakfast, but half price and has much bigger rooms, here we paid only 21 us for a big family room with seaview.

Be aware that all three hotels on the beach Hoang Yen, Seagull Hotel and Binh Duong houses weddings and especially the ever present karaoke can be noisy. These events seemed to be most popular in Hoang Yen and Seagull hotel. Which was another reason for us choosing Binh Duong.

If you a looking for a real escape and no noise you should choose the Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort a couple of 100 meters up the beach. it is more expensive as you are likely to pay at least 65 us for a big seaview room, but there will be no noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuslingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Firstly, if you're looking for a hotel in Quy Nhon - don't. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else, you will be the envy of me and everyone else I met there. If by some horrible misfortune you absolutely MUST go to Quy Nhon then I have the following to say about Hoang Yen hotel:
PRO:
- The room was comfortable with a satellite TV and mini fridge and firm bed.
CONS:
- It's in Quy Nhon
- It's nowhere near anything to eat
- It hosted 9 weddings in the 2 nights we stayed there. And the Vietnamese have music playing at a high volume the entire way through. Not just for a little dance to the Grease megamix at the end, the ENTIRE time, even when eating. So we could barely hear our thoughts when we were in and around the lobby, pool, cafe. Not to mention the hundreds of wedding guests coming in and out (no exaggeration). 
- If you eat at the Restaurant during a wedding (i.e anytime) you eat at the back of the reception... With the deafening music. We opted out and went hungry.
- The "cafe" attached to the hotel can seat maybe 150 people had about 3 customers in it, had about 15 staff sitting around and wouldn't seat us for whatever reason and told us to go to the restaurant. We said there was a wedding, they told us to sit on the balcony (which was open to the reception hall, effectively sitting at the back of a wedding reception). I have absolutely no idea why they don't allow you to eat at a cafe, particularly when it's impossible to enjoy your meal at the restaurant. 
- We asked reception to book us a bus out of Quy Nhon (we couldn't leave fast enough) she told us the price, we paid, she booked it and obviously told the bus company we were Westerners because mid phone call the price mysteriously went up by 30,000 Dong each. I asked if it was because we were Westerners, she didn't say anything and asked for the money. When we received the ticket that afternoon, it had the original price that we paid written on it. No surprises there. So we paid more and were given the worst seats on the bus, the only 2 which didn't recline. 
- The noise of the other guests was so loud in the mornings that you can forget about a sleep in. They didn't mention on the website they hosted the shouting world championships at 5:30am, but now you know. 
- There were cigarette burns in the bed spread
- The shower head sat at about below chin level
There is a reason Quy Nhon is "off the tourist trail" don't believe a thing Lonely Planet says about it. The beach was brown and dirty, the 'White sandy beaches a few kilometres away" aren't much better, there are no decent restaurants, the locals don't want you there and look at you like you've just arrived in a spaceship. If you want a place to break up the bus trip from Hoi An to Nha Trang or vice versa, then I suggest you find a hotel with room service, arrive, check in, eat in your room, leave first thing the next morning. You're not missing anything. 

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicheleE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quy Nhon hotels

Toronto Canada
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This nine storey beachfront hotel, sits on a beautiful stretch of sand in a place where the Western tourist has yet to find. There's hardly any English spoken here, and that's great. We just arrived from Hoi An where I began to feel as though the words "No thank you" had been etched in my brain from from what seemed like the entire populace trying to sell me things I didn't want. You don't get that here. People will take your picture though, if you're white. That makes me feel kind of special. Oh, and for your $23.00 per night you get an ocean side balcony, flat screen television and a buffet breakfast of foods you've most likely never seen before. But they're all good and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I stayed here for ten nights with my wife. We had room 520 which cost us 500,000 Dong per night ($25 US). Beautiful room with sea view balcony and window overlooking the beach. The most comfortable bed we've slept in in Vietnam. Well furnished, WI-FI in room, fridge, full cable, flat screen TV, hot water shower in large bathroom. A flat out great value given that the hotel is on the beach and has a pool.

There is a large restaurant in the hotel but we found the food only average given the prices. There is a hotel next door called the Binh Duong Guest House with a restaurant serving much better food. There is also a restaurant 300 meters south on the beach called the Nha Hung. Wonderful food and seaside tables.

On one occasion we had a noise issue as the hotel was hosting a large Vietnamese tour group. On our fifth day here we noted some crawling insects in the bathroom. We reported the problem to the desk and the matter was dealt with the same day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
0.3 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quy Nhon
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
#9 of 16 in Quy Nhon
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
#12 of 16 in Quy Nhon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon
1.7 mi away
Sunflowers Hotel
Sunflowers Hotel
#6 of 16 in Quy Nhon
50 reviews
5.5 mi away
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Yen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Yen Hotel

Property: Hoang Yen Hotel
Address: 05 An Duong Vuong, Quy Nhon, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hoang Yen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing