We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but a good place for family to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Ranked #3 of 145 Hotels in Yilan
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive but a good place for family to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We drove there from Taipei and used about 1 hour to reach there. The rooms were spacious with balcony and there were different types of spa/ hot spring for us to enjoy. It was a pity that we didn't bring the swimsuit so could not enjoy the outdoor spa. I enjoyed the Japanese style in-outdoor spa and the hot spring was good. Kids enjoyed themselves in the common room with pingpong, computer games and slides for smaller kids. There were also traditional performances too in the evening. We chose the buffet dinner and found that both the varieties and qualities of food were good. My daughters also enjoyed the stay. Though the price is relatively high when compared to other hotels, but we think it's good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koongkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    116
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
208
87
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in the Western Suite and wished it was longer. The whole property exudes serenity. Apart from their hotsprings, it's their thoughtfulness that impressed me. The facilities are generous: 2 pool tables, 3 pingpong tables , a complete kids gym, reading room, computers. Free drinks everywhere. Complimentary (and perfectly good) show every night followed by door prize. Truly this hotel is not trying to shortchange you. You come here and relax.

The bed in our room was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was a tad on the small side but overall, a very comfortable room. The dinner buffet was a delight for its sheer variety. The breakfast did not disappoint either. The dining space was airy and light filled.

If I live in Taipei, I woildcertainly come here often. It may not have the prettiest scenery but it is truly relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

There are two highlights abot the hotel: natural hot spring flowing just every water tank in the hotel, including the bath tubs in the rooms, and the location: within just a walking distance from the hotel there is a mountain trail with three picturesque waterfalls and other grand views, just not so big and high and and tiresome for a nice walk (better start early) before or after enjoying the hot springs: whether joyful open area or more cosy and intimate indor facilities.
There was really professional local music performance in the hotel every evening: be sure not to miss it.
One point you would better know in advance: if you book Japanese style suite, you will have a very nice view from your room and spacious balcony, but you should be prepared that you would have no all-day bed, just tatami set out for the night only. If you are not Japanese, it is very interesting to try, but...

Room Tip: Try to check about the bed first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

There public hot spring is good. Very big and toiletries are enough to use. But the hot spring rest-room is not very clean. it's sad. I love there room. Their room are very clean and great. We live in the Western Suite twice, very cozy and relax room!We love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mono168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

As part of our Taiwan island tour, we spent one night in late February at the Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi .

The hotel shuttle bus picked us up from the train station. On our way to the hotel, the shuttle bus also picked up couple more passengers from town. These passengers were guest at the hotel and took the shuttle bus to town. The driver explained to us that anytime we want to visit the town, just arrange the shuttle with the concierge staff.

Check in was straight forward. The counter staff explained that our package includes dinner and breakfast in the dining area. We were than introduced to a young lady dressed in kimono who showed us to our room.

Our room is a western style room. Upon entering the room, the young lady suggested us to remove our shoes and put on the slippers. After showing us the room layout, she emptied a water bottle into a kettle. While the water was boiling, she explained the hotel facilities and the spa services.

Once the water is boiled, she asked us what type of tea we would like. There are several packages of different tea on the coffee table. We selected the tea and she proceeded to made us tea.

While we sipped the tea, she continued to finish her hotel orientation. I wondered how many times she has to do this everyday. Anyway, it is definitely setting a new experience for us in checking into a luxurious hotel.

The bathroom comprises of two areas - a rather large size soaking tub (pipe in hot spring water) with basin and a small enclosed toiler area with a hand wash basin. Typical to many of the hotels in Taiwan, the toiler seat is heated with bidet functions.

We went to the spa area and visited outdoor hot spring pool. The hotel wasn't busy at that time and we felt we were the only guests at the hotel.

The buffet style dinner was incredible. There are so many different food choices and all of them are high quality ingredients with eye pleasing presentation. Next morning, the breakfast selection was equally amazing. Lucky for us, this hotel stay was toward the end of our Taiwan island tour, if this had been our first stay of our week long tour, we would be disappointed with all remaining restaurants or hotel dining selections.

The motto of this hotel is quite simple - they want their guests to "Enjoy Doing Nothing".

If you have the time and money, you got to give this hotel a try. My suggestion is to stay minimum for three or four days to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofino8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
135 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Didn't expect there would be such a clean and luxurious hot spring hotel in this place. This hotel is located 1 hour by car from Taipei city and 1.5 hours from Taipei airport. Enjoyed the stay. Stayed at a Japanese style hotel room with bed sheets (tatami) on the floor, surprisingly comfortable. I especially liked the hot spring bath tab located in the hotel room so that you can enjoy hot bath with privacy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband, my daughter and I spent a very nice stay at this resort. We booked a Japanese tatami room with breakfast and dinner. Everything was gorgeous. We were driven to the resort from Taipei Railway Station. It took about an hour, going through altogether 5 tunnels. When the coach left the longest one, a view of paddy field came in front of our eyes.
When we arrived at the entrance of the resort, the staff were already waiting for us. We were brought to the reception and told that our room needed a few more minutes to be ready. We waited at the waiting area. About ten minutes later, the receptionist showed us our way to our room. When we got to our room, our luggage had arrived already. The lady told us another staff would come to make us some tea and tell us the facilities of the room and the hotel. She then boiled some water. Before long, a lady in Japanese costume arrived and made us the tea, showed us the amenities in the room and told us what we could do during the stay.
Not to waste any time, we tried to take a brief walk around the resort to find what we could do and booked the hiking trip the next morning as well as the yoga class that evening. Then we changed into the swimsuits to go to the swimming pool and the outdoor hot spring area. Before plunging into the pool, we tried the simple cooking class, making Vietnamese pancake. Simple, but fun. The indoor hot spring bath was like the ones in Japan. It was nice with good facilities.
When you book the resort, don't forget the buffet dinner. There was the freshest local food, like bamboo shoots and baby corn. The other international cuisine will not disappoint you. The dinner was just sumptuous.
In the morning, we joined the guided walk to the nearby waterfall and catholic church. It is really a refreshing way to start a day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yilan hotels
1.2 mi away
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
1.1 mi away
Wellspring by Silks
Wellspring by Silks
#4 of 145 in Yilan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Silks Place Yilan
Silks Place Yilan
#6 of 145 in Yilan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
10.2 mi away
Landis Inn Lotung
Landis Inn Lotung
#8 of 145 in Yilan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ya Nold Fashion Spring House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi

Property: Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Address: No.69 Wufeng Road, Dazhong Village, Jiaoxi Town, Yilan 262, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Yilan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yilan
#2 Spa Hotel in Yilan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the Wufengchi Scenic Area, less than 50 minutes in drive to the downtown of Taipei. The hotel uses a post-modern Zen style to combine with the childlike image of Yilan Country. Immersing in the pure hot spring, you may enjoy a broad eyesight through the French window, and overlook the extensive landscape of the Lanyang Plain while enjoying delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chiao Hsi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing