We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean luxurious hot spring hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Yilan County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Didn't expect there would be such a clean and luxurious hot spring hotel in this place. This hotel is located 1 hour by car from Taipei city and 1.5 hours from Taipei airport. Enjoyed the stay. Stayed at a Japanese style hotel room with bed sheets (tatami) on the floor, surprisingly comfortable. I especially liked the hot spring bath tab located in the hotel room so that you can enjoy hot bath with privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 500 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband, my daughter and I spent a very nice stay at this resort. We booked a Japanese tatami room with breakfast and dinner. Everything was gorgeous. We were driven to the resort from Taipei Railway Station. It took about an hour, going through altogether 5 tunnels. When the coach left the longest one, a view of paddy field came in front of our eyes.
When we arrived at the entrance of the resort, the staff were already waiting for us. We were brought to the reception and told that our room needed a few more minutes to be ready. We waited at the waiting area. About ten minutes later, the receptionist showed us our way to our room. When we got to our room, our luggage had arrived already. The lady told us another staff would come to make us some tea and tell us the facilities of the room and the hotel. She then boiled some water. Before long, a lady in Japanese costume arrived and made us the tea, showed us the amenities in the room and told us what we could do during the stay.
Not to waste any time, we tried to take a brief walk around the resort to find what we could do and booked the hiking trip the next morning as well as the yoga class that evening. Then we changed into the swimsuits to go to the swimming pool and the outdoor hot spring area. Before plunging into the pool, we tried the simple cooking class, making Vietnamese pancake. Simple, but fun. The indoor hot spring bath was like the ones in Japan. It was nice with good facilities.
When you book the resort, don't forget the buffet dinner. There was the freshest local food, like bamboo shoots and baby corn. The other international cuisine will not disappoint you. The dinner was just sumptuous.
In the morning, we joined the guided walk to the nearby waterfall and catholic church. It is really a refreshing way to start a day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived at Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi curtesy of their shuttle pick-up service from the station.

Booking in was fast and we were soon shown to our room by a lovely lady who made us tea. The suite is exceptionally clean and minimilistic with elegant decor. We had booked the Western Suite which had a huge picture window overlooking the countryside. There was crisp white bed linen, nicely ironed. Soft white towels and many products in the bathroom. Everything was well thought out for the traveller. Shoes were removed at the door and soft flip-flop slippers supplied for guests to wear. Not free and not for taking home, but very handy for wearing around the hotel, outdoor pool and spa's.

Food was exceptionally good and beautifully presented. There were lots to choose from for both eastern and western tastes.

There is a recreation area which includes two play areas for children, pool tables, table tennis tables, gym and reading room with computers. The reading room is extremely small (only two sofas) and situated next to one of the children's play rooms, so it was quite noisy. Certainly not quiet enough for reading. There is complimentary coffee available, which was appreciated.

The hotel is situated quite a way from the town centre so we didn't venture out, but enjoyed the beauty of the hotel.

The Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi is a little expensive, but a lovely experience for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuchtravelledEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

In the last year, my wife and I have come to the Royal Chiao Hsi three times and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The Japanese style hotel has two types of rooms available, Western and Japanese. On each visit we chose Western style, wanting to have a comfortable bed to sleep on.

Each room is simply and elegantly designed with it's own private hot spring bath. There is also the choice of public (clothed) and nude hot springs, as well as a pool, mini-golf course and short walking/hiking distance to the waterfalls of a nearby park.

The hotel is great for couples for a romantic getaway and also for families. Each day, the hotel hosts a number of DIY activities and there is a game room for toddlers and for kids/young adults of all ages.

For our stay, we had included breakfast buffet (which was very good quality and good selection) and a set dinner (more formal and also very good quality).

By far the best thing to experience at Royal Chiao Hsi is the hot springs (public and private), but the addition of great food, extra activities make it a great destination in Jiaosi.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for one night--made full use of the "spa playground"--which the kid thought was the greatest thing ever. Had a wonderful time--relaxing and (after staying at the grubby Leofoo in Taipei) found this to be a paradise of cleanliness and design and excellent service! The prices were very fair for the quality of the experience (compare to Japanese hot spring hotels with similar amenities). Beautiful setting. Easy access from Taipei. I've never experienced such a high level of hospitality and service (everything we could have wanted was anticipated by a staff member). We enjoyed the food, too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Washingtonwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's a very relaxing place to just check-in and stay in. The package includes breakfast/brunch and dinner with access to all the indoor & outdoor hot spring. If you prefer to just stay in the room, you can also fill the bathtub of your bathroom with hot spring water. Aside from the hot spring, there are many activities for both adults and children to keep you busy. The hotel also provides shuttle bus to go to near by places for shopping of souvenirs so that you do not have to worry about transportation.
Thee only downside is that since the hotel is so big, they do take in tourists who comes in in big buses. So, when you go for your buffet meals in the restaurant, it's kind of hectic and noisy there. My suggestion would be to go for the set menu (included in the package) in another restaurant which is less noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Wow. Love this place! I can't even begin to tell you how wonderful of a time I had recently with my Husband and my parents. The four of us spent one night here, but it was such a fun and relaxing time that it felt like we were here for weeks!

My parents have been here before, and on the recommendation from my Dad (and my Dad is a picky person), when we all met up in Taipei City, he said we ABSOLUTELY have to come here. He even went as far to mention that the design of the building was my design aesthetic. Boy, was he right.

After I looked at the website, I was immediately anticipating this modern, minimalist Zen structure when we arrived. We arrived during the day, and it was nestled amongst all these trees in a quiet meandering road. It truly is a sight to be seen.

Once we entered the hotel, we were immediately couriered over to the front desk to check in. The four of us stayed in a Japanese style room for 4 with a mountain view. The layout of the room was simple, yet functional. Airy yet cozy, it was very comfortable and easy on the eyes. I liked how the sliding door of the traditional Japanese tea room doubled up as a divider of rooms, instantly transforming 1 room into two smaller rooms for sleeping. The bathroom/hot spring arrangement was lovely with the dark slate stone. It accented and complimented the beige vanity sink area nicely. Near the entrance of the room (or what you'd call a foyer) stood the toilet and a small sink. Actually, it's a washlet and like with most Japanese influences, the seat was heated.

Now onto the food. We had dinner and breakfast here, and man, was it AWESOME. The dinner buffet selection had an amazing spread from traditional Japanese fare, Taiwanese fare, all the way to European fare. There was just so much good food, and the way it was laid out made it very accessible to navigate through the different areas. My only qualm about dinner is that since there are 2 separate seating times, if you opt for the earlier dinner (as we did), you have 2 hours to eat, and then they give you a "heads up" warning that service will be closing soon. I know some other reviewers were bothered by this, but we were okay. It's not like they only gave you 1 hour to eat all this delicious food after all. :)

Breakfast was equally as amazing and with no time restriction, so that was nice. However, the later we stayed, the more people came and it was simply louder, but that's normal.

Overall, we had a great time here, enjoying the hot spring and pool. This place is perfect for spending quality time with your close friends or loved ones. There are activities for everybody, and plenty of reading material for adults and kids. In fact, I saw so many kids running around and having a grand time.

I would most definitely come back here next time I'm in town, but instead of summer time, I'd love to visit during the winter/fall period where the hot spring really envelopes you when it is cold outside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tycl516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yilan County hotels
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
#4 of 158 in Yilan County
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Yilan County
736 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel  Suao
Lakeshore Hotel Suao
#3 of 158 in Yilan County
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Silks Place Yilan
Silks Place Yilan
#6 of 158 in Yilan County
317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wellspring By Skils
Wellspring By Skils
#1 of 158 in Yilan County
578 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hefong Villa Faddism Hotel
Hefong Villa Faddism Hotel
#36 of 158 in Yilan County
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi

Address: No.69 Wufeng Road, Dazhong Village, Jiaoxi Town, Yilan County 262, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Yilan County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yilan County
#2 Spa Hotel in Yilan County
Price Range: $318 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the Wufengchi Scenic Area, less than 50 minutes in drive to the downtown of Taipei. The hotel uses a post-modern Zen style to combine with the childlike image of Yilan Country. Immersing in the pure hot spring, you may enjoy a broad eyesight through the French window, and overlook the extensive landscape of the Lanyang Plain while enjoying delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chiao Hsi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing