We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise! Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Yilan County
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Surprise! Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Went with my cousin for a relaxing weekend. Completely blown away as we stepped off the hotel arranged airport pick up. You just have to be there to experience it! Japanese style everything, clean, pleasant, really nice. Brilliant front desk staff. Ample space in our tatami room, the best in-room spa bathroom I have seen for this kind of hotel. Delicious cookies tea and coffee provided in room. Dinner, afternoon tea and breakfast included. All restaurants are really nice. Buffet dinner was really something, the best in quality and variety! Outdoor hot spring is really very nice. Large swimming pool is beautiful (except they made us wear their hair cover. Remember to bring your own!) Evening entertainment at the lobby was different. We also visited the nearby night market, they have a free shuttle for that. Remember to buy some cookies from their own bakery at the lobby cafe.
Taiwanese Yilan local specialty plum wine, plum vinegar are a must buy at the basement, near the entrance of the public hot spring. Children and family activity are well organised. Must go!

Room Tip: Tatami might not suit all travelers, if you have a stiff back, don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocket4rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    126
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
240
94
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed at this resort as part of a tour package. Upon entering the resort, a hotel employee offered me some hot tea and brought my luggage from my bus to the lobby.

...as I initially thought that I was missing a large towel from the bathroom, a hotel employee quickly came by to bring a replacement and show me the large towels were located underneath the sink.

The hotel employee also spent time showing me the room, from the hidden wardrobes to the complimentary soft drinks, snacks, and tea in the room.

Our room was the "Western" style with a traditional 2 twin-sized mattresses.

The highlight of the stay was the buffet dinner. No penny was spared. Items from the buffet included seared ahi tuna w/ fish roe, fresh scallops w/ caviar, smoked salmon, sashimi, and crab. Everything from top to bottom was delicious.

Breakfast on the other hand, was more of a hit or miss. Some of the misses included the orange juice that tasted sour, the croissants that were rock hard, the smoked duck breast that was dry, and the bland pan-fried turnip cake.

The room itself was super comfortable and quiet!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofaonasock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Took a cab from Taipei. First impression of the hotel - impressive, zen and upmarket.
Outdoor spa with hot spring water was excellent.
Room was a tad small but thoroughly enjoyed the little tub with piped in spring water.
Included meals were fantastic. Buffet spread was very respectable.
Staff were polite and eager to assist.
English widely spoken.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

First trip to this area. We went just for the hotspring and decided to book a 5 star hotel. Overall design of hotel and grounds are work of art. Front desk people are friendly, polite and each guest is escorted to their room and given a full tour of the amenities. Free water and tea are provided in room as well as onsen apparel and slippers.
Hotspring is the reason why we chose this hotel and we were not disappointed. If you prefer to soak without clothes there is a separate hotspring for men and women. Bottled water, lavendar tea and lemon water provided at the dressing area. Good toilettries available for your use. However, you will not want to miss the hotspring outside (MUST wear swimsuit) where there are hotsprings with different themes. Example, there is the herbal medicine spring, the vanilla aromotherapy spring, the massaging spring and there is a feet soak where little fish clean your calluses for you (they eat calluses)
For dinner we choose the Zen Garden Fusion cuisine, which is basically a 6 course set dinner. Food was ok
For breakfast we had the buffet, food is average. Lots of people at the buffet so I would suggest others to try the set breakfast if you don't like fighting with other tourist over the buffet offerings.
Free guided hike to nearby waterfall park in the mornings 6:30am. You have to sign up for this activity the day before. Free yoga sessions in the evening.
General ambience of this hotel is so peaceful I did not want to leave the next day. Staff explained we can still use their facilities even after we checked out but we had to rush back to Taipei for our final 2 days. Next time if I have a chance I will stay 2 nights @ this hotel in order to fully relax.
Bonus: complimentary pickup/dropoff from train station.

Room Tip: Least expensive room will do. All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odiechau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Although the hotel has been around for couple of years, the design still looks spectecular, cool and contemporary. It is picturesque inside out, every corner, every moment, under drizzle or in the cloudless night, the hotel just looks great.

Service is exceptional. I chose the dinner buffet, which is included in the package, as one of us consumes mostly veggies and fish, and the buffet style dinner would be more suitable. We are surprisingly offered several very nice vegetarian dishes on top on the buffet. The food in the buffet breakfast and dinner is great, with those in the dinner being the highlight of the trip, which is quite unusual squarely. They have made many local dishes utilizing some very good local ingredients and they all tasted very fresh, appetizing and delicious.

The hotspring is good too, allowing you to relax your body entirely. Although the hotel is big, the public bath just never got too crowded during our stay. And you dont have to worry even if you opt for enjoying the hotspring bath in your own room, as the staffs cleaned the whole bathing area in between guests' stay, making sure they are all hygienic enough for their guests.That explains why they have such a early check-out and late check-in time. Really impressed. And even if you happen to arrive before their check-in time, which is 3pm, you would be given some temporary tokens to access all the facilities in the hotel.

And there is one single thing they have to improve. The floors in the room are just too slippery. Three of the us four, all physically fit, fell on the floor and get bruised. But the whole experience is so positive that it didnt bother us.

This is definitely one of the hotel I would visit again and definitely recommend it to my friends!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heronimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

What a fantastic hotel. The Japanese style rooms and the general ambiance was very peaceful - although the conference and retaurant facilities offered every modern convenience. The in room hot springs with a view right to the sea was great and the communal springs even better. Food was incredible - the breakfast alone offered every food type imaginable to suit every possible palate - all good quality and situated with a fabulous view. Cannot recommend this one highly enough and hope to come back next time I am in Taiwan

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarwickAvenue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My family and I went to Taiwan for my dad's birthday. This was the first stop of many stops and it was definitely the best. I wish we stayed here longer. We had two kids (1 & 4 years old) and they had plenty to keep the kids occupied. My 4 year old especially loved the DIY projects. She had a chance to paint her own chopsticks and make a cover for them. The room was very nice, Japanese inspired, tatami style rooms. I love those. It even had a hot spring bathtub. The set menu food was delicious and the buffet breakfast was just ok, but I didn't come here for the food. The only negative was they dropped my dad's b-day cake and offered to make a new one, however, it was not so good. We spent 4 hours straight in the outside pool area where there are swimming pools, hot tubs, pottery tubs, fish tubs for the feet, massage hot spring, etc. Lots of fun for my family and kids. We enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the pool, instead of facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyFamilyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yilan County hotels
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
#2 of 146 in Yilan County
407 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel  Suao
Lakeshore Hotel Suao
#1 of 146 in Yilan County
1,212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
#5 of 146 in Yilan County
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Silks Place Yilan
Silks Place Yilan
#6 of 146 in Yilan County
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wellspring by Silks
Wellspring by Silks
#4 of 146 in Yilan County
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Living Water Hotel
Living Water Hotel
#8 of 146 in Yilan County
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi

Property: Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Address: No.69 Wufeng Road, Dazhong Village, Jiaoxi Town, Yilan County 262, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Yilan County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yilan County
#2 Spa Hotel in Yilan County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the Wufengchi Scenic Area, less than 50 minutes in drive to the downtown of Taipei. The hotel uses a post-modern Zen style to combine with the childlike image of Yilan Country. Immersing in the pure hot spring, you may enjoy a broad eyesight through the French window, and overlook the extensive landscape of the Lanyang Plain while enjoying delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chiao Hsi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing