We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Yilan County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Took a cab from Taipei. First impression of the hotel - impressive, zen and upmarket.
Outdoor spa with hot spring water was excellent.
Room was a tad small but thoroughly enjoyed the little tub with piped in spring water.
Included meals were fantastic. Buffet spread was very respectable.
Staff were polite and eager to assist.
English widely spoken.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 528 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

First trip to this area. We went just for the hotspring and decided to book a 5 star hotel. Overall design of hotel and grounds are work of art. Front desk people are friendly, polite and each guest is escorted to their room and given a full tour of the amenities. Free water and tea are provided in room as well as onsen apparel and slippers.
Hotspring is the reason why we chose this hotel and we were not disappointed. If you prefer to soak without clothes there is a separate hotspring for men and women. Bottled water, lavendar tea and lemon water provided at the dressing area. Good toilettries available for your use. However, you will not want to miss the hotspring outside (MUST wear swimsuit) where there are hotsprings with different themes. Example, there is the herbal medicine spring, the vanilla aromotherapy spring, the massaging spring and there is a feet soak where little fish clean your calluses for you (they eat calluses)
For dinner we choose the Zen Garden Fusion cuisine, which is basically a 6 course set dinner. Food was ok
For breakfast we had the buffet, food is average. Lots of people at the buffet so I would suggest others to try the set breakfast if you don't like fighting with other tourist over the buffet offerings.
Free guided hike to nearby waterfall park in the mornings 6:30am. You have to sign up for this activity the day before. Free yoga sessions in the evening.
General ambience of this hotel is so peaceful I did not want to leave the next day. Staff explained we can still use their facilities even after we checked out but we had to rush back to Taipei for our final 2 days. Next time if I have a chance I will stay 2 nights @ this hotel in order to fully relax.
Bonus: complimentary pickup/dropoff from train station.

Room Tip: Least expensive room will do. All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odiechau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Although the hotel has been around for couple of years, the design still looks spectecular, cool and contemporary. It is picturesque inside out, every corner, every moment, under drizzle or in the cloudless night, the hotel just looks great.

Service is exceptional. I chose the dinner buffet, which is included in the package, as one of us consumes mostly veggies and fish, and the buffet style dinner would be more suitable. We are surprisingly offered several very nice vegetarian dishes on top on the buffet. The food in the buffet breakfast and dinner is great, with those in the dinner being the highlight of the trip, which is quite unusual squarely. They have made many local dishes utilizing some very good local ingredients and they all tasted very fresh, appetizing and delicious.

The hotspring is good too, allowing you to relax your body entirely. Although the hotel is big, the public bath just never got too crowded during our stay. And you dont have to worry even if you opt for enjoying the hotspring bath in your own room, as the staffs cleaned the whole bathing area in between guests' stay, making sure they are all hygienic enough for their guests.That explains why they have such a early check-out and late check-in time. Really impressed. And even if you happen to arrive before their check-in time, which is 3pm, you would be given some temporary tokens to access all the facilities in the hotel.

And there is one single thing they have to improve. The floors in the room are just too slippery. Three of the us four, all physically fit, fell on the floor and get bruised. But the whole experience is so positive that it didnt bother us.

This is definitely one of the hotel I would visit again and definitely recommend it to my friends!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heronimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

What a fantastic hotel. The Japanese style rooms and the general ambiance was very peaceful - although the conference and retaurant facilities offered every modern convenience. The in room hot springs with a view right to the sea was great and the communal springs even better. Food was incredible - the breakfast alone offered every food type imaginable to suit every possible palate - all good quality and situated with a fabulous view. Cannot recommend this one highly enough and hope to come back next time I am in Taiwan

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarwickAvenue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My family and I went to Taiwan for my dad's birthday. This was the first stop of many stops and it was definitely the best. I wish we stayed here longer. We had two kids (1 & 4 years old) and they had plenty to keep the kids occupied. My 4 year old especially loved the DIY projects. She had a chance to paint her own chopsticks and make a cover for them. The room was very nice, Japanese inspired, tatami style rooms. I love those. It even had a hot spring bathtub. The set menu food was delicious and the buffet breakfast was just ok, but I didn't come here for the food. The only negative was they dropped my dad's b-day cake and offered to make a new one, however, it was not so good. We spent 4 hours straight in the outside pool area where there are swimming pools, hot tubs, pottery tubs, fish tubs for the feet, massage hot spring, etc. Lots of fun for my family and kids. We enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the pool, instead of facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyFamilyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Last weekend some friends and I headed out to Chiao Hsi for a hot spring weekend and we feel this hotel is the best in town. It is situated on the outskirts of the town and there is a convenient shuttle bus which picked us up from the train station and it took us about ten minutes to reach the hotel. It is situated among hills and a mountain is behind the hotel so there are some walking trails and a waterfall close by. The hotel was well designed and large glass windows everywhere let in the light and show off the view. There are also many places to sit relax and read or just unwind. Our room was a mix with japanese style on the first floor and a western room on the second floor with a semi-outdoor hot spring pool on the balcony. We also had Thann spa bath products which was great. The outdoor pools were fun until they got too crowded and then we went into the hot spring area which is seperated into male and female pools and you are not allowed to wear bathing suits into those pools. It was much quieter and the water quality is good and they have an outdoor pool and indoor pools.

The room came with either a buffet dinner or a set menu dinner and we chose to go for the set menu dinner. The service was on the slow side but we were relaxed so it didn't bother us and then for breakfast one can choose again either a breakfast buffet or a set menu brunch and we decided to go with the buffet. The buffet selection was acceptable and they had taiwanese and western options but nothing that surprised or wowed us. I felt I would have prefered to have gone to the set menu restaurant because it is quieter and more orderly. The breakfast buffet restaurant was very busy and people were coming and going and it was quite raucous.

At nights there is a show in the lobby relating to Taiwanese culture and when we were there we saw a Taiwanese opera and there were English and Japanese translations on a slide show. It was interesting and after the hot springs we were feeling lethargic and didn't want to go into the town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alextaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed there in August for one night in a Japanese style room. Really spacious room with a big balcony. Great experience to try both the outdoor hotspring where swimming suit is required and also the Japanese style hotspring for naked bath. Buffet breakfast and dinner were up to standard though a bit crowded. A great hotel for a weekend getaway which is just about 1 hour by car from Taipei city.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yilan County hotels
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
#4 of 164 in Yilan County
460 reviews
1.1 mi away
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
#2 of 164 in Yilan County
772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wellspring By Skils
Wellspring By Skils
#1 of 164 in Yilan County
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel  Suao
Lakeshore Hotel Suao
#3 of 164 in Yilan County
1,250 reviews
5.1 mi away
Silks Place Yilan
Silks Place Yilan
#6 of 164 in Yilan County
333 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hefong Villa Faddism Hotel
Hefong Villa Faddism Hotel
#42 of 164 in Yilan County
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi

Address: No.69 Wufeng Road, Dazhong Village, Jiaoxi Town, Yilan County 262, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Yilan County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yilan County
#2 Spa Hotel in Yilan County
Price Range: $332 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the Wufengchi Scenic Area, less than 50 minutes in drive to the downtown of Taipei. The hotel uses a post-modern Zen style to combine with the childlike image of Yilan Country. Immersing in the pure hot spring, you may enjoy a broad eyesight through the French window, and overlook the extensive landscape of the Lanyang Plain while enjoying delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chiao Hsi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing