We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and spacious, but old and musty”
Review of Champagne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Champagne Hotel
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Yilan County
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The cons first: The hotel must have been quite old and looked grand in its heyday, but it's really, really overdue for renovation now. Paint was peeling everywhere, and our room air conditioning had a musty smell. The wifi signal was too weak to work most of the time. That said, the family rooms were very spacious, and the old aunties/uncles staffing the hotel were very friendly. The hotspring spa is more like an indoor water attraction park - I imagine that young kids would love it here. If you're here on a weekday, you can pretty much have the entire spa to yourself too.

Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take a short walk down to the Hotspring Park on the main street and soak your feet for free!

Breakfast: Surprisingly not a continental buffet, but a generous spread of local food such as steamed tofu, vegetables, bamboo sprouts, congee and various condiments. Was rather nice actually!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zanglang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 41 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's really near the station. Once you exit, keep walking straight til the T-junction. Turn left and you are there.

Hotel's old and tired. Room's really big and clean but bed's really hard but then, I found most beds in Taiwan hard so I'll not hold it against them. The bath water is from a spring so that's really good but you have to let it run for 20-30mins to get it nice and hot but once it's hot, it's heaven! They gave us an option of a voucher for a hot spring at a much better hotel down the road or their own and we decided on the better hot spring. It was amazing except for the toilet. It was a little too like the public toilet in Singapore's public pool. Ick. Again, can't hold it against them as most hot springs I went to did not have very good toilet/bathing facilities.

The people at the hotel were really friendly and the breakfast was amazing. Granted, it was only a sandwich but it was the best that I've tasted. There was one with a layer of egg and another layer of friend chicken cutlet. My kids wolfed it down including the picky one and declared yum! They were also nice enough to send us to the train station the next morning even though it was really near as we had 3 young kids and 3 luggages to juggle.

If you want to save abit, this hotel is acceptable. Go with an open mind.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank icepeachtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Although we have only stayed one night of a 5 night visit, we are loving the hospitality of the owners and their family here. We have a big room with two queen size beds, bar fridge, TV, bath, shower and decking. Managed to pick up WIFI free. We arrived with heaps of washing - and not only did they allow us to use their washing machines for free - the owner helped me hang it out and returned it folded in the morning. We also got a 'western' breakfast delivered to our room - our kids got 2 chocolate, honey and jam sandwiches, and we got meat, salad sandwiches plus coffee. Bed is very hard - but sheets are very white and clean. Not flash rooms - but very clean - great value for families and great location for restaurants and springs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Australian73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Staff is very helpful and friendly, both the younger two speak good English. They even picked us up from a nearby location when it was raining without us even asking!

Stayed here 2 seperate occasions. The spa in B1 is good, all indoors though. More jets and water massagers than Ive ever seen. 3 good hot pools and sauna/steam.

Breakfast was standard buffet the first night. Second stay they had breakfast delivered to our room at our desired time, nice touch!

Location is great, very close to the street markets.

Only bad thing I can say is the bed is rock hard, though I still slept well AND went back a 2nd time, so I am not letting it knock the score down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the small dining area, table and four small stools, its like a suite. #510 or 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saboru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 3cwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fongshek6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yilan County hotels
0.4 mi away
Jiaoxi Hot Springs Hotel
Jiaoxi Hot Springs Hotel
#98 of 158 in Yilan County
5 reviews
10.4 mi away
Anho Hotel
Anho Hotel
#13 of 158 in Yilan County
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aoike Hot Spring Hotel
Aoike Hot Spring Hotel
#87 of 158 in Yilan County
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#31 of 158 in Yilan County
20 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sun Sweet Hotel
Sun Sweet Hotel
#81 of 158 in Yilan County
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jade Spring Hot Spring Hotel
Jade Spring Hot Spring Hotel
#51 of 158 in Yilan County
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Hotel

Address: No.8 Zhongxiao Road, Jiaoxi Town, Yilan County 262, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Yilan County
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Yilan County
Price Range: $28 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Champagne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Champagne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing