We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanyang Museum

Lanyang Museum
Ranked #1 of 240 things to do in Yilan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice and different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very life-like depiction of life in and around Yilan across time, including history, customs and geography. The cafe overlooking the river downstairs is good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hwm3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    166
    51
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“worths a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Taiwan, especially outsideTaipei, desn't have many touristic attractions and this museum is one of the structures you have to visit, during your trip in Yilan.
Taiwan island has a lot of history and beautiful nature to visit; in this museum you can find interesting information about Yilan environment and history, even if you are travelling without a local tour guide; the building itself worths a visit as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cercafoglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
“Windy Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Entrance fee was very cheap. 100 NT. Although there is not a lot to the museum it is a great place to learn about the history of Ilan County. Exhibits are generally in English and pretty well worded. The Building is Beautiful of course.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zingah89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning building, disappointing exhibition”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was hard to figure out where to park and then it was a long and very hot walk to get to the entrance. The building is quite an amazing design, but the exhibits were rather so-so. Somewhat interesting if you are passing by on the road, but not worth the trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MalkieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I live in Yilan and like to take visitors to various locations around Yilan. We had high expectations for this museum when we heard it was opening. Alas several visits later we came away feeling there is alot lacking.

For example:

1. There are no detailed descriptions in English. So foreigner travelers are in trouble right away.

2. I personally know people involved in setting this museum up. They told me alot of Yilan specific artifacts were purchased with the intent of displaying them for visitors. For example, old, antique Yilan furniture and ceramics to name two categories. However during my visits to the musuem I have never seen any of these vast holdings displayed. Museum personnel told me these items are now in storage with no plans to display them. Why???

3. There needs to be way more comprehensive emphasis on people, architecture, and industries, and there are MANY, that were/are Yilan specific. That is what will draw the visitors. During my visits I did not see much on the famous Yilan people who made Yilan what it is. Same with architecture. Same with industry. Yilan has architecture spanning the Qing, Japapanese, and Retrocession eras that is very fascinating. Note much on display. Little information. How about the old traditional professions? God carvers? Old documents/Maps? Kiln industries? Old houses? Dish renters? Fishers? Farmers? Businessmen/women? Foreign Missionaries/Priests/Churches? Old hospitals/medical industry? Old commerical districts? Transportation Industry - the first bus service/the old Japanese Zero airport? Information on Qing and Japanese Era Yilan/What it looked like/the life,etc., Traditional Yilan foods? Yilan's contribution to local and island democratization?

4. The current displays don't seem very well thought out, put together or displayed. As one who loves Yilan and the history of the area I was very disappointed. I hope that this is due to the fact that the museum has just opened and needs an adjustment period. I hope musuem personnel seeing this review can take my suggestions to heart and up grade the museum to a more decent level.

The gift shop did have some nice local products on display for sale. For example, cups made from bamboo which I thought were interesting and a good bargin.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank hossSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanyang Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lanyang Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing