We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duck dinner outbeat everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silks Place Yilan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silks Place Yilan
Ranked #6 of 145 Hotels in Yilan
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Duck dinner outbeat everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's actually a great hotel specifically tailored for kids! Hotel locates right top of the Toyrus, so no worry nothing to do after dinner! A large outdoor playground for little kids to spend the afternoon before dinner! Then there is the most important part of the experience for adults ... dinner! Strongly recommend the duck feast, very nice and unique! Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yxc166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    84
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
183
19
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
267 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

A 5-star luxury hotel, contains all kind of recreational and relaxation facilities. It is in a building complex connected to a large shopping mall. Really is a good spot of entertainment and leisure.

The room is spacious and clean. The bathroom is large, bright and quipped with high quality amenities

The breakfast buffet is excellent. Chinese restaurant also serves delicious food. The Cherry Duck is a highly recommended cuisine.

Participate a conference here. Good conference room. However, the facilities of the conference room need to improve. For example, the inadequate speaker microphone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liucy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We in totally 4 adults and a 4-years old kid stayed at Silk Place Yilan for 2 nights. I must say this hotel is very all rounded high quality. It is especially a great choice for family with young kid and everyone can find activities they likes: wonderful and clean kid playground, spa, swimming indoor or outdoor, sauna, shopping downstairs or in the cities, outstanding duck meals at the Chinese restaurant. Rood are spacial and comfortable. Location is very convenient to go to different view spots including the Lan Yang Night Market. In conclusion, staying 2 nights is really not enought, we will come again Silks Place Yilan.

Room Tip: We stayed at King Bed Room, they offer plenty of room type to choice, I recommend the spa type if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivytsang2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I am actually still staying at this hotel, but I think my humble house is a lot better than this. Costing at 9000nt per night, service should be prompt, room should be clean and room should be ready when we arrive at 3:00 pm.

However, none of the above is there. We called reception several times to put an extras protective pad around the crib. No one came. Asked for wifi service (which apparently needs an Internet sharing device of some sort) no one came.

Room is not clean too. When entering the room, carpet outside the bathroom is wet. Hair was found on crib's comforter.

Finally, room is not ready when we arrived is a death sentence to any hotel. We arrived at 2:45 and we had to wait until 3:20 to check in. Service at reception is like waiting at economy class checking counter. A true thumbs down.

Stay away from this so called five star facility.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blacklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Thanks to my brother-in-law, I got to tag along with my sister's family for a short 3-day getaway to Yilan. With some credit card promotion, we got to upgraded our hotel room to a really awesome big suite with 2 King-size beds. The sofa in the room are also convertible to 2 full size beds. The suite also came with 1.5 bathrooms. It's great!! For the first time in my traveling record, I didn't have to fight for toilet stall in the hotel room. The bed is super comfortable. I slept like a baby both nights and no jerky and stiff neck or sore back next morning. I loved it!

The location of the hotel is perfect for shopping, exploring the town, or just to relax. And just like many other great 5-star hotels in Taiwan, Silks Place offers many premium amenities within the hotel that if you just want to relax in the hotel, you for sure will not be bored out of your mind. If you want to shop, you are right next to the Luna Plaze where there department stores in it you can shop till you drop and the prices are not crazy expensive.

THIS IS IMPORTANT: If you are coming here, be sure to use Club LeFoon. It has everything from dry, steam saunas to heated/super hot jacuzzi pool next to a super icy cold jacuzzi tub, and high-pressure Vichy showers, if you want some nice wet treatment for your sore backs. If you don't have heart problem, I strongly recommend you try jumping between the hot jacuzzi tub and icy cold jacuzzi tub. You will love the sensation if you've never tried it. They also have a decent-size warm-water indoor pool.

The hotel offers buffet meals in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food is decent but not the best. The breakfast, for instance, contains the same selections every morning. However, there are other restaurants if you don't want to eat buffet stuff. The best one and the one I recommend is the Red Lantern, if you are a duck-meat eater. Its best and most famous dish is the Cherry Duck. It's similar to Peking Duck but much, much, much better. However, you must pre-order the duck dish when you RSVP for the restaurant. If you are interested in Cherry Duck, read my reviews that's coming up in Red Lantern Chinese Cuisine.

Keep in mind that this is a kid-friendly/family hotel. Thus, there are facilities/amenities for kids and you will encounter some noices, but not to a level that it will pass through the walls of the hotel room. For instance, the hotel has a kids playground in the center court of the hotel buildings, where they actually provide kids programs, not just some slides, swings, or a seesaw. When we were there this March, they actually had some fun camping-scene program for kids on the playground at night where they set up the playground with tents, fake camp fire and they have someone from the hotel hosting the program and playing games with kids. I think the program lasted about 2 hours. I thought that was a really cool idea.

Yes, I will definitely recommend this hotel to any of my friends who are to visiting Taiwan and as a matter of fact, when I was back this August, I went back again. That tells you how much I enjoyed my stay the first time!

Room Tip: Try its LeFoon Club sauna/jacuzzi pool, you will be sorry if you didn't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ItchyFeetBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked this place on a whim, seeing their promotional rate advertised. It was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is very conveniently located above a nice shopping mall. The decor is very charming, modern chinese style and the staff were all incredibly helpful.

The pool and spa area is definitely a treat. There are many jacuzzi options and both an indoor and outdoor pool area. There is also an indoor and outdoor playground complete with a bouncy castle! A joy if you're traveling with little kids.

The rooms were all impeccable, clean and neat, very modern. There is nothing I could say to improve on this. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Yilan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The location was west of the train station and seemed to be in a mainly residential area, which was quiet. The entrance itself was grand and nicely decorated, and we were already impressed. The next surprise was that this was only the drop-off point, and the lobby was on the 6th floor. When we arrived at the lobby, we found it very tastefully done and spacious. Paintings on the wall and display shelves (pictures) gives visitors something to be interested in. Staff were approachable and helpful.

The rooms were also very clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a separate WC and shower stall, which was very convenient for sharing the bathroom.

Breakfast was at the Mix Gourmet restaurant in the lobby floor of the hotel, which had an extensive spread covering both eastern and western tastes.

The other plus point was the hotel shares the same building as Urban Premium Outlets, and even has a direct connecting door to the outlet. Shopping was like in a factory outlet with heavily discounted prices, as well as a wide range of clothes and sports attire. Daiso in the same building is a one-price shop, with everything at NT$39 (bit more than US$1). Carrefour is a hypermarket in the basement which was useful to load up on snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yilan hotels
5.6 mi away
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
5.4 mi away
Wellspring by Silks
Wellspring by Silks
#4 of 145 in Yilan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
5.4 mi away
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel  Suao
Lakeshore Hotel Suao
#1 of 145 in Yilan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
#3 of 145 in Yilan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
5.1 mi away
Landis Inn Lotung
Landis Inn Lotung
#8 of 145 in Yilan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silks Place Yilan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silks Place Yilan

Property: Silks Place Yilan
Address: No.36 Section 2, Minquan Road, Yilan City, Yilan, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Yilan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 145 Hotels in Yilan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silks Place Yilan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Silks Place, the self-owned brand of FIH Regent Group, is introduced to Taiwan with exquisite and top-class posture.Silks Place Yilan-the only international 5-star hotel in Yilan. It is located at 6F to 11F of the largest shopping center in Eastern Taiwan-Luna Plaza, an emerging spot of entertainment and leisure. It is situated at the traffic pivot of Yilan city center, close to the Yilan train station and bus terminal. The nearby area is well-known for the financial and administrative importance of the city, as well as the historical and cultural area in Yilan. The hotel is benefited with the business convenience, rich art and humanistic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silks Place Yilan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing