We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, clean and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coco Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic location, clean and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I highly recommend Coco Bay hotel! It's located 5 mins from the main beach. The rooms are built to American standards and are wonderfully furnished (very comfy bed). Also, I was very impressed by the cleaniness of the rooms (clean linens, no bugs).

The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. They even helped us book a last minute safari trip to kumuna national park.

Overall, this is place is a lovely hotel to have a relaxing holiday with family and/or friends. Can't wait to go back on my next trip to Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancuck_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
85
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Champa and ruwan were fantastic host. We were looked after very well. Rooms up to European standerd very well maintaind. If you like wild life kumana national park is just 20 min drive or if its the beach its just two minutes walk from the hotel. Food is great choise of sri lankan or western and locals are friendly. Will definetly come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dileepa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are new and basic but with a nice finish and comfy beds. 2 mins from a great surf beach. The owners who happened to be there were so welcoming with a wonderful breakfast laid out and a welcome drink. It's a quiet spot and just round the corner from Mambos bar/restaurant/sun loungers. Seemed like the best place to stay on the whole strip. Go!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyMac_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The place was lovely and quiet, just down the track from the point which gave fabulous access to the surf breaks.The manager Alex was warm and friendly, provided excellent service and had good connections to other providers. He is also an excellent cook so be sure to try one of his Sri Lankan curries.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Alex is a wonderful host and makes the stay memorable. He speaks French and English so it is very helpful. Their 5 rooms are simple but nicely arranged and extremely clean, the surrounding are very quite but at the same time less than 5 minutes from the beach by walk and close from the town center.

Room Tip: If possible request one room, on the aisle where the 4 main rooms are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our Family stayed at Coco Bay in July/august 2013. It is a great place. Its clean, close to the beach and easy to reach. The manager Alex is just one of a kind. He will go out of his way to help you with travel plans, ideas and tips. He knows a lot about Sri Lanka's history and he is a very good cook.

We stayed with our 1.5 year old daughter and she loved it as well. Its a good place for families and kids beacuse its clean and save. They provide a babycot if needed and will do everything for you and your family to make your stay as amazing as possible.

There are a few things that we missed or could be improved. If in place this would upgrade our rating from 4 to 5. We will return to coco bay for sure one day.

1: we missed a little refridgerator in our room. This is partically handy with young children.
2: we missed buying a drink or some snacks, at the venue, it would be great for those long hot nights.
3: we beleive if coco bay advertises itself as a hotel and restaurant it would be great to be able to have lunch and dinner choices at the venue.
4: Its a family place, so it would be great to have some toys and games for kids.
5: Because the above points are lacking we think the rooms are not cheap, but on the pricey side, but thats personal I guess.

Overall Sri Lanka is overwelming and Coco Bay is relaxt and a very clean location, that will make your stay a great one. All this is because of the hospitallity of the manager Alex, he is one of a kind and has great ideas for the place, we hope he can put them all into practise and build the place into something even more outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Aaike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We've stayed there only one night and we wanted to extend our stay but the hotel was full. There only 5 rooms, very nice and clean, airconditioned! The place is walking distance from the beach and main street with restaurants and bars. Alex with his wife made very good breakfast for us and had some time for a nice talk in the morning. Highly recommended!
Monika & Michael

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.3 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#3 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 11 in Arugam Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Surf Cabanas
East Surf Cabanas
#5 of 11 in Arugam Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arne's Place
Arne's Place
#6 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Bay Hotel

Property: Coco Bay Hotel
Address: Sinhapura Road | Sinhapura, Arugam Bay, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay P18, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Bay offers accommodation with breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Our spacious and airy rooms are smart and modern, offering 30 sq.M of living space. With an en-suite shower room, air conditioning, super king bed with luxury bedding, a seating area and veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coco Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Bay Hotel Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing