We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smartest beach huts we saw”
Review of Coco Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coco Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are new and basic but with a nice finish and comfy beds. 2 mins from a great surf beach. The owners who happened to be there were so welcoming with a wonderful breakfast laid out and a welcome drink. It's a quiet spot and just round the corner from Mambos bar/restaurant/sun loungers. Seemed like the best place to stay on the whole strip. Go!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyMac_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 185 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The place was lovely and quiet, just down the track from the point which gave fabulous access to the surf breaks.The manager Alex was warm and friendly, provided excellent service and had good connections to other providers. He is also an excellent cook so be sure to try one of his Sri Lankan curries.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DivaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Alex is a wonderful host and makes the stay memorable. He speaks French and English so it is very helpful. Their 5 rooms are simple but nicely arranged and extremely clean, the surrounding are very quite but at the same time less than 5 minutes from the beach by walk and close from the town center.

Room Tip: If possible request one room, on the aisle where the 4 main rooms are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our Family stayed at Coco Bay in July/august 2013. It is a great place. Its clean, close to the beach and easy to reach. The manager Alex is just one of a kind. He will go out of his way to help you with travel plans, ideas and tips. He knows a lot about Sri Lanka's history and he is a very good cook.

We stayed with our 1.5 year old daughter and she loved it as well. Its a good place for families and kids beacuse its clean and save. They provide a babycot if needed and will do everything for you and your family to make your stay as amazing as possible.

There are a few things that we missed or could be improved. If in place this would upgrade our rating from 4 to 5. We will return to coco bay for sure one day.

1: we missed a little refridgerator in our room. This is partically handy with young children.
2: we missed buying a drink or some snacks, at the venue, it would be great for those long hot nights.
3: we beleive if coco bay advertises itself as a hotel and restaurant it would be great to be able to have lunch and dinner choices at the venue.
4: Its a family place, so it would be great to have some toys and games for kids.
5: Because the above points are lacking we think the rooms are not cheap, but on the pricey side, but thats personal I guess.

Overall Sri Lanka is overwelming and Coco Bay is relaxt and a very clean location, that will make your stay a great one. All this is because of the hospitallity of the manager Alex, he is one of a kind and has great ideas for the place, we hope he can put them all into practise and build the place into something even more outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Aaike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We've stayed there only one night and we wanted to extend our stay but the hotel was full. There only 5 rooms, very nice and clean, airconditioned! The place is walking distance from the beach and main street with restaurants and bars. Alex with his wife made very good breakfast for us and had some time for a nice talk in the morning. Highly recommended!
Monika & Michael

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had 2 nights here. Location was great, easy walk down to beach and restaurant. Manager (Alex) was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout: generous with offers of tea, arranged for our laundry to be done, sorted out taxi to next venue. Probably the newest and cleanest room we had in SL. There was a very generous breakfast, including the best bread of our holiday (fresh from the passing tuneful bakery van – imagine an ice-cream van, but more doughy), although it was a little cramped at breakfast with one communal table. We were really pleased we opted to stay here and felt it was excellent value for money. It was the only place we stayed that didn’t have wifi, so this might be one way to make it even better!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshirePezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just returned from our fantastic trip to Cocobay. We were there for two days in August.
The building were very new and kept very well. Rooms were comparable to western standards and the bath rooms were extremely clean. The neighborhood was very quiet but it was very close to the beach as well. Kids loved the walk to the beach and the beach was amazing……
The manager was extremely honest and helpful with what the place offers. We only had breakfast at Coco bay and it was amazing.


Dinesh

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.6 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arugam Bay
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Arugam Bay
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#5 of 12 in Arugam Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Blue Wave Hotel
The Blue Wave Hotel
#7 of 12 in Arugam Bay
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#8 of 12 in Arugam Bay
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 12 in Arugam Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Bay Hotel

Address: Sinhapura Road | Sinhapura, Arugam Bay, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay P18, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Price Range: $36 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Bay offers accommodation with breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Our spacious and airy rooms are smart and modern, offering 30 sq.M of living space. With an en-suite shower room, air conditioning, super king bed with luxury bedding, a seating area and veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coco Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Bay Hotel Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing