We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B away from the Main Street” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coco Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great B&B away from the Main Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had four nights at Coco Bay and thoroughly enjoyed it. Location is ideal at the south end of the beach just a short walk from the famous point break. We stayed with our teenage son in the separate room (not part of the "chalet" block). The room was a little bigger than the chalet rooms and was ideal for the three of us. As most other reviewers have mentioned, Alex is a wonderful host. He arranged for us to get a good deal with a local Tuk Tuk driver and an excursion to the Potovil mangrove swamps. His Sri Lankan breakfast with a daal curry, string hoppers and coconut sambal was excellent. If you are looking for a comfortable, air conditioned stay for a few nights, or a bit longer then this is one of the best places to be.

Room Tip: Choose one of the chalets if you only require accommodation for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
85
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A good place to stay out of the noisy backpacker scene but still close enough to the surf. A little more expensive than the average, but thats that's a good thing if your not on a tight budget. Alex will look after anything you need.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just a couple of minutes walk (maybe 150 meters) you are on the main beach of Arugam Bay from Coco Bay B&B (Hotel). It is a great location although not directly on the beach. Alex takes wonderful care of all his guests and supplies a wonderful homemade breakfast at a time that suits you. The rooms are new and are very neat and tidy. They are air conditioned and the fittings in the bathroom are very modern. We were a family of 4 that stayed there for 5 days and we were very happy the whole time. The price is very reasonable and we met another family staying there that felt the same as we did. It was a quick walk to the main point of Arugam bay which I was able to surf every day. Thanks Alex, when we come back to Arugam Bay we know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We travelled with our two little children and were very pleased to find this guesthouse. Away from the hustle and bustle. Very kind welcoming, great simple rooms with AC and warmwater, homemade breakfast and just a quick walk from the best place on the bay for kids to swim. Also very close to the surfers spot (my husband being a surfer).

Room Tip: The above rating is misleading in regards to pool and fitness centre as there isnt any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was very surprised to hear the establishment is only 2 years old, as it seemed we were the first to stay there as everything was in excellent condition, if not, brand new. Great rooms with AC's and beautiful local wood furniture. Alex and his wife were incredible hosts serving wonderful breakfasts, The hotel is in a great location very to the town, and even closer to Main Point. If you are a surfer looking for a place to stay, to surf main point, Id recommend Coco Bay Hotel! Its so close to the point break....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are currently in Arugam bay,
We stayed at coco bay for the 1st couple nights, the rooms are perfectly clean with a/c and hot/cold showers.
The best part of coco bay is the couple who run it, Alex and his wife, both super friendly and doing a great job, they will help you in any way they can.
We moved on from coco bay because we needed to be more central.
The location of coco bay is close to baby point and main point but not directly on the beach, about 5-10min walk.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ave-Cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went as a group and stayed at Coco Bay from May 23rd-28th , 2013. Good location, great hospitality, very clean and comfortable rooms with hot/cold showers. Alex and his wife was very friendly and helpful. The food was good. We were served some of the local delicacies for breakfast with toast. Thank you Alex for introducing us to Woodapple jam ! Super delicious ! We plan to come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetyMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.3 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#3 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 11 in Arugam Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Surf Cabanas
East Surf Cabanas
#5 of 11 in Arugam Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arne's Place
Arne's Place
#6 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Bay Hotel

Property: Coco Bay Hotel
Address: Sinhapura Road | Sinhapura, Arugam Bay, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay P18, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Bay offers accommodation with breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Our spacious and airy rooms are smart and modern, offering 30 sq.M of living space. With an en-suite shower room, air conditioning, super king bed with luxury bedding, a seating area and veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Coco Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Bay Hotel Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing