We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Staff, Cabins and Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coco Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff, Cabins and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Located approximately 5 minutes from the Pottuvil town on an ocean side avenue towards the end of Arugam Bay. A very simple place with super clean cabins. The staff, Alex his wife and pal, were super friendly. Also need to mention his friendly dog Toaga. Alex provided us tremendous support in planning our visits around the area. The food at Coco Bay was amazing, traditional Sri Lankan food with tea on request :) The bad is that, it is break first only, you will need to manage the rest of meals from restaurants around the area.

Awesome place, very reasonable prices and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dineth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
85
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karmiel, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The cabins are great, very big, very clean. the best thing about this place is the western standards it got inside and out side the room, compare to all the other hotel in Arugam bay its give you the best benefit for your money. the owner, George is a very nice and warm family guy that will treat you like you are his only guest and take care of everything you need. it got a generator so the common power cuts in the bay will not effect you at all.
we (me and my wife) recommend you all to try it. it great for everybody that fancy a western and worm hospitality. specially for couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maor k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Rooms are super clean, with good smell of wood. The owner is very friendly and helpful, and the food.... It's the best food we had in Sri Lanka!!!
3 minutes walk from the beach.

We really felt like home here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura-33333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Location: Located towards the point break end of Arugam Bay, convenient for surfers. Not right on the beach, but only 1 block away.

Rooms: Very simple, SUPER clean, great bathroom, brand new A/C units. Really tidy.

Ambiance: The owner is super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PM_SIN_JKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.3 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#3 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 11 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 11 in Arugam Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Surf Cabanas
East Surf Cabanas
#5 of 11 in Arugam Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arne's Place
Arne's Place
#6 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Bay Hotel

Property: Coco Bay Hotel
Address: Sinhapura Road | Sinhapura, Arugam Bay, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay P18, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Bay offers accommodation with breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Our spacious and airy rooms are smart and modern, offering 30 sq.M of living space. With an en-suite shower room, air conditioning, super king bed with luxury bedding, a seating area and veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coco Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Bay Hotel Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing