We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere - rather basic accommodation - good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Folly

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pottuvil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Folly
Ranked #2 of 28 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere – rather basic accommodation – good value for money”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It is all about the atmosphere at Samantha’s. The staff is very nice and especially Samantha go a long way to help you out. The guest chats around the one large table in an enjoyable way. The food is average compared to other places we ate in Sri Lanka, and expect the usual long waiting time. You should be prepared for a rather basic accommodation, most with shared bathroom – some with privat bath/toilet. We stayed in the ”Arabian luxury tent” and in a ”cabana”. The tap in the cabana did not work, the (more important) shower did though. Do not expect daily cleaning. However what can you expect for this kind of money? All in all good value for money.

A few notes on Arugam Bay: For eating better than the average go to Hidaway (mains around 1500 LKR). Female travellers in bikinis (especially with out male company) shall expect a lot of attention with out any discretion from the local men/boys next to the main surf point. In the other end of the beach, like in front of Samantha’s, this is not an issue. We had a beginner surf lesson from Amigo surf school (next to Samatha’s) – they did a good job.

General info for Sri Lanka: we had 2 good drivers. Airport, central and south - Viraj +94 779154713. If you want to go to Arugam Bay (east coast) - +94 777212630 for Sanju. If you want to go by train try http://www.blueline.lk/, where you can book from home or just go 3rd class. We did and it was fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    29
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
105
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Thanks so much to all the gang at Samantha's!! So great to stay in such a safe friendly enviroment. The folly's are great and the cabana's are also fantastic, with a bathroom or with out. they are both great. The vibe is so chilled and friendly! The only place to stay in the Bay!!!
I think the best thing about staying at Samantha's is the people you meet whilst staying there! The "shared table" perfect. I met so many wonderful people from all around the world who I will look forward to catching up with on my future travels. The location is perfect, short walk to the main surf break, restaurants and shops. A short tuk tuk ride to Pottuvil for textile shopping and more. So many little adventures to go on near by. The team are so lovely and caring, everyone looking out for each other. Felt like family! Time just seems to melt, I stayed two weeks and it felt like a few days. I want to be back there..So perfect for relaxing. Yum breakfasts, great tandoori nights! Make sure to head down to the hideaway garden bar with Samantha and fellow Folly guests, for a cheeky cocktail or two at happy hour!! Oh and Ram's for a yummy dinner is worth a visit, but let him know you are coming. Thanks again so much to everyone at Samantha's and all the wonderful people I met while staying there. Love from Vanessa x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinapplep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were really excited before coming to Arugam bay after 10 days of traveling in Sri Lanka, and we were right!
This place is really amazing, the sight, the atmosphere, staff, guests, the food! Our cabin was really nice and clean, open air bathroom was my favorite part...
We tried different places to eat, just to explore and no doubt that this place has the best food, just not worth the effort, every dish here was wonderful, especially Thursday chicken tandoori, so gooood!
If I get a chance to visit Sri Lanka again all I need is a week at Samantha's Folly to be recharged with peace and energies!
Remarkable is the great staff and they way the took care of every detail for us (tok tok to the city, bus tickets to the airport and so on...)

Room Tip: Cabin are really nice and has privet restroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Samantha's folly is a wonderful place to stay whether you are a surfing fanatic, or just love to chill out in a lovely community vibe... and the beauty of it is you get to stay in cabanas and follies, which are really good value and in excellent condition. After a day of surfing or splashing around in the sea it is a perfect place to return to and sit on the center table and eat the delicious range of food that is cooked on site. Samantha is the perfect host, and all the staff there are very attentive and just bloody nice. I'd sincerely recommend Samantha's folly, i had a brilliant time, met great people and was the ideal end of my travels in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BennyWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A friend and I were fortunate enough to stay at Samanthas Folly for a week this summer, and what a week it was! We stayed in both a folly and a cabana. The property is right on the beach front, with around five hammocks by the gate and a little sunbathing structure by the beach. Guests meet at the communal table at any point at the day, to chill out in the shade, listen to some music and have a chat over a glass of ice-cold hibiscus juice.

Samantha's Folly is not just a place to sleep - it's an entire experience in itself - made complete by the gracious host herself, as well as the beautiful staff on the grounds. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Arugram Bay!

Room Tip: Cabanas are modest but clean and private with an outdoor bathroom/shower. A folly is a breezy outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapatigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

After a bad stay in another place in Pottuvil we were glad to came to Samantha. She is very friendly and she kwno how to treated her guests. I stayed in a Folly for two nights. Its was really a pleasant experience! I ask for the folly on the right, near the beach. It was really amazing. here are a lot of curtains to take care of your privacy. There is also a big box for your stuff. The best thing about the guesthouse is the food. It's cheap and really tasty! Everybody eats at one big table, so it's easy to get to know some new people. I really like Samantha, She was really a great host. The only advice is maybe to get more beds to lay down in the sun!

Room Tip: The folly is really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Thank you Samantha for an amazing stay at the folly! We originally booked a folly (kind of bed on stilts with a straw roof and sarong curtains) for one night just to see what it was like, and ended up staying for 4 nights because we loved it so much. We thought it wouldn't be totally secure especially if you had expensive stuff like cameras, but we felt more comfortable leaving our stuff there out of all the places we stayed in Sri Lanka. You lock your stuff in a giant chest, there's are always people in the folly to keep an eye out, and Brownie the dog adds even more extra security!

The best bits are the communal table (and amazing food) and the feeling of sleeping with the sea breeze washing over you - really magical and no need for a fan. All the staff make you feel so welcome and we will definitely be returning one day.

Room Tip: Go for a folly instead of a cabana for a different experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.6 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#3 of 11 in Arugam Bay
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 11 in Arugam Bay
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Arugam Bay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
East Surf Cabanas
East Surf Cabanas
#5 of 11 in Arugam Bay
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 11 in Arugam Bay
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Bay Hotel
Coco Bay Hotel
#1 of 28 in Pottuvil
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Folly

Property: The Folly
Address: Main Road, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Samantha's Folly)
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly beach resort in the middle of the bay with 4 luxury cabanas, 6 funky follies and two beautiful luxury Arabian tents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Folly Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing