We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic cleam rooms, not the best view but with a shared kitchen! :D”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon Eyes Beach Hotel
Chaloklum
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic cleam rooms, not the best view but with a shared kitchen! :D”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Tassiem our friendly host is really welcoming. He will help you with everything you need. The rooms are clean. You don't have the best view but hey, you don't stay in your room all day! It's a bit further out from the centre but a nice 10 minute walk away. Good value for your money.

Room Tip: No swimmingpool, who needs one if you are next to the sea! Own kitchen, clean basic rooms with or wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RensandChiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
15
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Me and my friend ended up staying here for 8 days since we really enjoyed this place and Arugam Bay. The Hotel is located at the beginning of the main street just before the bridge to Pottuvil. The Owner and his brother run this place and are very helpfull and kind people. We ate a home cooked meal twice prepared by the owner, (fresh Tuna with rice and curry) which was very tasty and not expensive at all. The rooms are spacious and clean. If you like surfing talk to the brother of the Owner (Musamil) and he will show you the best spots around Arugam Bay with his Tuk Tuk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamkaret_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the minute we arrived untill the day we left we felt so at home. Our host Tassiem, couldnt do enough for us,, his hospitality was remarkable and so geniune. He even cooked dinner for us twice. Both meals were prepared from local organic produce and authentic Sri Lankan spices and were the best we had during our holiday in Sri Lanka. The atmosphere at Moon eyes is relaxed and the bungalows are modest but very clean, with iether mosquito nets or air conditioners. I can understand why people come to Moon Eyes for 3 days and end up staying 3 weeks..it is the perfect place to chill! Thank you Tasiem for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Unexpectedly, arugam beach was almost fully booked when we arrived (so book ahead, we;ve heard many travellers having difficulties finding a room). luckily, we found a room in this nice guesthouse. The owner is very friendly and helpfull. the rooms incl. AC were a bit overpriced (dark rooms, bathroom needed some more attention). just a short walk from the beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Was nice to sleep in palm's leaves cabana in Moon Eye.
We share the bathroom but we can use the kitchen how much we wished.
The beach is close, Arugam Bay start there, enjoy the athmosphere!
If you like to walk on the beach, in 20 minutes you can cross the bay.
Thaseem is kind and cook very well.

Room Tip: In cabanas temperature is very good and you don't need air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I arrived in Moon Eyes off of a weary bus ride from the hinterland after several days of travel into Sri Lanka. Having never heard of the location before, I took the advise of a Tuk Tuk driver of which I usually never do but was rewarding with a valuable one month long stay at Moon Eyes! At first, I thought, I would stay a night and see how it feels but ended up staying a month. Thaseem, the owner, creates an unassuming feeling to the place. He is very nice, courteous and cooks amazing meals for dinner. The location is quiet, away from the hum drum of peak season Arugam Bay, there is a convenient store in the front and several great places nearby for Rotti and Dahl. You feel relaxed, with close by amenities and big kitchen/dining room free to use by the guests. I will now recommend Moon Eyes to my friends and will return when I come back to Sri Lanka.

Special Thanks to Thaseem for all of his wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnwardsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skofja Loka, Slovenia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in Mooneyes for 4 nights, and had a blast. The relaxing atmosphere in Arugam bay is just amazing. Although the whole Arugam bay is mostly paradise for surfers, it can be very nice also for people who do not surf. Thaseem is the owner, and he is very helpful. He is also a really good cook. But be careful, if you are going to eat many meals at his place, you will gain a kilo or two :). The portions are HUGE. Thaseem if you are reading this, thanks for everything, and to keep my promise, here is a photo of us :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matevz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.1 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 13 in Arugam Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#3 of 13 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Arugam Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coco Bay Hotel
Coco Bay Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arne's Place
Arne's Place
#7 of 29 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.2 mi away
Paper Moon Kudils
Paper Moon Kudils
#2 of 17 in Pottuvil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Eyes Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Eyes Beach Hotel

Property: Moon Eyes Beach Hotel
Address: Main Street, Arugam Bay, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Pottuvil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Nestled on the Eastern beachfront, mere minutes away from one of the world’s best surf points, moon eyes beach hotel invites you to unwind, while you let yourself feel the nature of this quaint village. Company Overview moon eyes beach hotel is located in the east of Arugam Bay, east of Pottuvil in the Ampara District. Set right at the beach front, we’re only a few minutes walk away from Arugam Bay Point, which is among the top 10 surf points in the world. Currently provides Mooneyes Beach Hotel 10 guest rooms, which offer a range of facilities. This includes traditional beach side cabanas with thatched roofs and, clean and comfortable budget rooms, as well as more spacious rooms on the upper floor with tiles and double fans. All guestrooms are equipped with fans, mosquito nets and private bathrooms. Sheets, pillowcases, soap and towels are provided for guests to ensure they have a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Mooneyes Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moon Eyes Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Eyes Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing