We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“came for 3 nights stayed 12...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pottuvil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galaxy Lounge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“came for 3 nights stayed 12...”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

What can i say the title speaks for itself.
Excellent location, quiet and large rooms, open sky shower, good beds, excellent food cooked by master hassane for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Great welcome from Pi who will always have a good joke to tell or a story about the country.
Very helpfull staff just ask and they will provide.
Laid back atmosphere excellent value for money if you dont like it i'll give you your money back :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredberni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    73
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
50
109
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in Februar for four nights and really enjoyed our stay! From our balcony we watched the sea and liked that the Water was only metres away. The open air bathroom is with plants and the whole garden is well cared for. The owner is very helpful and the Cook is creating lovely food!!!
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Take the cabanas on stilts, Better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Glad to be back again! And for sure it eon't be my last! Although it's off season, Arugam Bay and Galaxy Lounge are still my favorites! Nothing had changed: hood ambiance, friendly staff, good relaxation garden, fantastic cabana's with seaview.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kirstenwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Galaxy Lounge. We were arriving late from Kandy and despite it being low season the chef stayed and prepared us a delicious curry and we were able to have a few beers with the duty manager before bed. Our room was amazing, a very rustic beachfront cabana on stilts with an outside shower area downstairs. We loved it. In the low season, Galaxy has a fantastic chilled vibe. I'm sure it's much crazier when the surf season starts, but for us it was perfect. There is a great shared restaurant area with some lovely cushioned benches as well as plenty of tables. If other people are around, you'll probably get talking, but there's also plenty of room to be left alone if you like. Our hut looked out onto the beautiful beach and we had a great balcony. The furthest rooms were about a minute walk to the beach, if that! The food was great, we ended up sharing meals because portion sizes were huge! We went on the mangrove lagoon tour organised by the hotel and were made aware of other activities (Yala East National Park and Bhuddist monastery, etc) but never felt pushed into anything. Staff (especially the young lads) were great. We would definitely come back. I think Galaxy would do well to advertise more to older travellers and those looking for a super relaxed holiday during the low season!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JennyLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights. Our cabana was basic and roomy with bathroom downstairs. Despite the rain we had wonderfull time. Personnel will really make you feel welcome. They had BBQ at New years eve, cooking class (so we could take a look in the kitchen and lovely chef). Food was really good (so we stayed in the hotel for dinner), we had Sri Lankan breakfast two times and both times they had different things.
Staff can arrange all kinds of transportations or tours at reasonable price.
Manager Pete, was really funny guy with lots of englsh jokes and funny stories.
I really enjoyed my relaxed stay at Galaxy Lounge!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cercops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here off season a few weeks ago and pretty much had the place to ourselves.The communal areas are great to chill in with hammocks and big sofas. Food was amazing, crab and prawn curry highly recommended. We also decided to do the Mangrove tour. Don't know much about birds but it was amazing to do as the sun went down. Beautiful birds, two crocodiles and no one else in sight - my girlfriend found it pretty romantic. Hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davevalente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights off season and pretty much had the place to ourselves. It was a little haven, and can imagine it's also good fun in season when it's busy as the communal area is a lovely big space to chill, socialise and eat. There's also a book exchange and a selection of board games to use. They can organise the usual trips etc. As it was off season there was no surfing or yoga so we just spent 2 nights there.

Our cabana was great; huge, really comfortable bed. Very rustically romantic! Although it was quite dark even with the windows open. Wasn't sure about outdoor bathroom at first but loved it in the end. A (cold) shower with pressure, woohoo! That said, the sink and the loo were both leaking and the loo flush was really dodgy.

Food was good (a little pricey compared to Sri Lankan standards) but portions were huge and there's plenty of choice.

Would recommend if you're heading that way.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel_Delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.1 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Arugam Bay
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 14 in Arugam Bay
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#7 of 14 in Arugam Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Arugam Bay
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
#11 of 14 in Arugam Bay
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Bay Hotel
Coco Bay Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pottuvil
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Lounge Hotel

Property: Galaxy Lounge Hotel
Address: Pottuvil, Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to stay. The staff give you anything you might need and they are friendly. The guy that runs the place has a great sense of humour and their is an older lady who does a great job of your laundry. The huts a rustic yet comfortable. They are not dirty - but they could be a bit cleaner. However, this place is miles cleaner than many other places in Arugam Bay. There were no rats and the plumbing was good - which is more than can be said for other places. I will stay there again when I return to Arugam bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galaxy Lounge Hotel Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing