We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pottuvil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galaxy Lounge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights @ galaxy lounge in arugam bay.
the owner and staff are really nice and helpful.
they organize scooter, trips, driver, whatever...
the food was very good!
the huts are clean and very relaxing.
try to get one in the front with seaview and outdoor bathroom -> really nice!

Room Tip: all of them are good, but the best are in the front with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 252 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

I spent 15 days in one of the Galaxy's cabanas, back in august 2011, with 3 friends in another cabana. We had a great time over there!
The place is simply lovely, not the closest to the main point if you're there for surfing but well worth the 20 min walk, and you can catch a tuk tuk for 100 rupees if you are too tired to walk.
The cabanas are so nice, every cabana has an open mezzanne where you can chill or sleep if you want, and there's plenty of hammoks ,sofas and books in the common place to rest and chill all day long. The place is clean but as you can imagine it's tropical area cabanas, so don't get mad if you wake up in the middle of the night cause some squirrel is playing hide and seek in your room, or you find a big lizard in your open air bathroom. It's part of the experience!! Monkeys visit the place too every now and then, but they don't come too close so no worries.
Sri, the owner, and her husband are very kind, ask him about surfing if you need suggestions. Same goes for the rest of the staff. The food is good, and they can easily arrange vegetarian/vegan food if needed.
If you go there you'll find yourself drinking real fruit juices and eating fruit salads all day long.
If you need to move they have the best tuk tuk driver in town, Mario, as we used to call him.
Close to the hotel on the main road you can find a market, a nice vegetarian burritos shop, run by a ozzie couple, and a lot of local eateries.
On a last note, the place is cheap! Closer to the point you spend the same money for a super small, concrete walled, crazy hot room with no view on the ocean. And our friends booked late, and didn't find an available room for 3 nights, so Sri let them sleep in our mezzanine, free of charge.
This is the place to be in Arugam, fosho!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same, but for a few extra bucks you can book the tree cabanas with sea...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lastrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful beachside cabanas and bungalows in a totally idyllic location. The cabanas are fab with outside bathrooms, and so is the beachfront bungalow. Hammocks all round and the big sofas make it the perfect place to chill out and relax. The food is delicious and vodka and lime juice comes highly recommended !! It was so hard to leave

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisapoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

When arriving/booking you might want to order dinner for your arrival, I do not know why they don't just offer this, they could just suggest a curry and rice be ready for you when you arrive, the price of the food is very reasonable so I don't think many people would mind, and if they did they could say no. We arrived after normal kitchen hours and nicely they had kept open for us, but when its almost 10 O'clock and you've been travelling for close to 24 hours, you do not want to be told (rather brusquely by P) well you can have a snack or wait an hour and a half for them to make you a meal. The next morning I was then told (again by P - with attitude) that of course I had to stay in 3 different huts during my stay!!! - I was not at all happy about this as I have originally booked here as I didn't have to move. Anyway P went off to Colombo for a few days and I met Bari, well how lovely, I spoke to Bari and explained, and we chatted, and he solved everything very nicely. so after a troubled start, things changed and we felt so relaxed and at home, we stayed in a "Basic Hut" which is part concrete and part woven leaf and part slatted wood (open to outside to allow air to circulate), it was lovely after we got used to it, two light bulbs, two fans and two power sockets, it seemed like a good mix between staying in a hotel room and a tent, (it's not a tent, its a hut and it has a hard roof) we surfed most days and did Yoga most afternoons at Startdust which two or three doors away. Nowshun is fantastic and he'll make your stay, (he'll take you places, arrange events and excursions) as is everyone else - yes including P after his return from Colombo, I think maybe I just had to get used to him (but I did hear him on the phone, whilst I was there, talking to customers who were looking for rooms and he was so brusque they hung up on him - not only once) :))).

Our room was the last one they had, and it was their least expensive at around £10prpn!!! wow!!!

For Surf lessons/guiding the best teacher in A bay is Johnson, if he's too busy get him to recommend someone, other instructors can be dire and dangerous!!! you can find Johnson at Aloha, just around the corner from Galaxy.

Stay at Galaxy, drink King coconuts, have a beer at Siam View and get nowshun to take you to the locals restaurant in Pottuvil.

So to finish, Location is great, people are lovely, place is chilled! what a lovely stay, arrive with an open and relaxed mind and a full belly!! ;)))

Enjoy your Stay

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are probably best, but then you'll know that by the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamKingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Galaxy Lounge for five days this summer with our three teenagers. It was definitely the highlight of the whole trip to Sri Lanka for them, the youngest is constantly talking about it. Whether you're lounging around in the hammocks, taking a surfing lesson or heading to Yala East for a safari it's not really a problem filling your days here. At the quiet end of the beach as others have said, that suited us fine, it's only a 15 minute walk to the far end of the bay. The food does take a while to come, but you are warned of that so you know to order in advance - I'd far rather know I'm eating fresh food made from scratch than have something crap served up immediately. Yes there's wildlife around in the rooms sometimes but you can store your stuff under the mossie nets and that seems to keep them out. Fantastic bougainvillea flowering in the outdoor bathroom. The sea is pretty interesting, we spent hours every day getting knocked around in the surf, I think the kids probably enjoyed that more than if it had been flat calm. Staff were incredible and all the kitchen guys really friendly, couldn't go out of their way more to help at any time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moglet73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family just spent 8 weeks (my wife and I in the stilted #1 and the two boys in #2) and loved the entire summer in the bay. Arugam Bay is a great place to hang out for a few days or weeks and during our 8 weeks I saw about everything there was to see there. This is the place you want to stay.
The staff is great, the bungalows are airy and comfortable, bathrooms are huge, and the food is affordable and very good to eat. Yes, it is slow, but that is because they are making it from scratch. When you order hummus, they are taking the chick peas out of the water that they are soaking in and making it right then. Order early, grab a book or deck of cards and forget about it until they call you. Enjoy yourself.
The Lounge area and numerous hammocks are a great place to hang out and relax for the entire day. The beach in front of the Galaxy is perfect and as the monsoons heavily affect the beach topography seasonally, the location of GL, north of main surf area and in the bowl of the bay, allows it to keep its sand year long. While its location is a few minutes walk from the busy areas, this is great because you will want to go to Pottuvil for an ATM and most of you will want to sleep on those nights where the raging parties south of you can be very loud.
The staff is the friendliest group of people I came across all summer. Riaz and Musamuel, the two young kitchen guys will take care of you, Hassan the cook will fix it to your liking and even let you come help him, Devi will do your laundry for coins, Mutilief and Nowshun will take you anywhere you want to go anytime, Myzan will pick you up at the airport, Barri, the owner will always be there to guide you and knows the area well, and of course Prian (P) will keep you and your kids entertained and looked after. My kids were 11 and 13 and they enjoyed the entire summer surfing and enjoying the sights. They miss "uncle P"
These are bungalows in a lost area of Sri Lanka. Look at the price. If you are expecting the Hilton, do not even come to the area. You are going to see bugs, crows and chipmunks are going to visit your window sill in the morning, the toilet will not always cooperate (keep the red bucket full and dump it in the bowl), and you will experience power outages. Come here knowing what you are asking for and you will love it. Any Galaxy complainers should just stay home. Leave the traveling to the rest of us.

Room Tip: The stilted beach bungalows are worth the upgrade. However, the beach huts are really a great value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpuckettdoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

To the Galaxy Crew, King Bazza, Nowshan, Hassan, Rizzol, mama and the rest...thank you for making our trip what it was!

The Cabanas are great, stayed in 5 & 7 (pick was seven 7 ), clean, tidy, spacious (Sri Lanka style), all with nets, the outdoor bathrooms were awesome but the stilted cabana 7 with the sea views and breeze and the trap door leading into the open air shower was fantastic and couldn't have asked for anything more considering the price too!

The food was perfect, even though takes alittle longer then home to come out really that is too be expected given the current challenges of the country (electrity cuts out, thanks Government) however all the food was freshly prepared-every meal and we were not disappointed with the local cusine and also variety of other dishes they offer! Hassan don't be afraid to let Rizzol get involved...another great chef in the making!

The staff were super friendly, always trying to ensure everything was ok and we were enjoying ourselves, constantly providing tips and advice for anything we wanted to do even if it was going off the path least travelled!
To my brother from another mother Nowshan, the best Tuk Tuk driver in Sri Lanka and not a bad photograpgher also we found out, thank you mate for all the early morning dawn patrol trips and showing us some secret spots..those elephants every morning and crocodiles were awesome!

Can't recommend the Galaxy Lounge enough, but given I have already booked for Sept 2013 and have friends keen to join think that speaks enough for our trip and stay in A-Bay Galaxy Lounge!!

Found memories and great times,
Blake Bailey (Ameer)

Room Tip: Cabana 7 with views is then best, although can't go wrong with any of Cabanas really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.5 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 12 in Arugam Bay
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#5 of 12 in Arugam Bay
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arugam Bay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arugam Bay
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#8 of 12 in Arugam Bay
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stay Golden
Stay Golden
#4 of 105 in Arugam Bay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Lounge Hotel

Address: Pottuvil, Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to stay. The staff give you anything you might need and they are friendly. The guy that runs the place has a great sense of humour and their is an older lady who does a great job of your laundry. The huts a rustic yet comfortable. They are not dirty - but they could be a bit cleaner. However, this place is miles cleaner than many other places in Arugam Bay. There were no rats and the plumbing was good - which is more than can be said for other places. I will stay there again when I return to Arugam bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galaxy Lounge Hotel Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing