We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faulty towers of Aragum Bay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gecko

Gecko
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pottuvil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gecko
Ranked #20 of 28 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Faulty towers of Aragum Bay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The two good things about Geckos is the beach front location and the food once the correct meal is delivered to your table it is quite tasty. The hotel would be great place to stay if the rooms were cleaned daily ( and you did not have to ask for them to be cleaned) - if there was hot water to use in the shower - if there was Wifi* to use as advertised - if it was a safe place to stay as there was a deliberately lit fire started at 3 am whilst we were staying and this was the second in as many weeks ( Ramesh and Liz are not liked by their staff and the locals). Geckos would have a better vibe if the owners treated their staff with respect and spoke nicely to them. It would also be a great place if the room air conditioning ( that was paid for ) was not turned off at the switch board during the day. It would be an awesome place to stay if Ramesh left the hotel all together, stopped being so money focused and stopped hiding alcohol in the guests rooms so the police could not find it when the site gets inspected. "Geckos" is also know for other questionable activities. Please look at other options like "Sun and Surf" across the road - that place is awesome.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KW69SydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    6
    2
    10
See reviews for
3
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Love this place! Its quiet, relax, the staff is very friendly and nice. And not to forget, they have wifi! You can just chill there with your laptop and enjoy the ocean view! Oh, the food!! Delicious! Try the eggplant dish!
Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totekiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Heaven on a spoon ! The best in the world . What a simply fabulous place. Great food and hospitality . The owners divine and with puppies, Beach boys and a cool vibe it is the loveliest place to be
Also try the strawberry daiquiris !! We went for lunch. Came back for dinner and returned again for chocolate milkshakes to sustain us on our travels

Terrific !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We walked through the restaurant and out to an outside table looking at the beach which was nice but everytime we wanted attention to order something it took forever and then they usually forgot and im not a fussy person... it is sri lanka afterall but we ordered dinner at 630 and did not receive it until 845.... over 2 hours!?! To make 2 burgers..... really!? They were also very plain and were supposed to come with chips and a side salad which was no exaggeration about 6 chips each and a piece of lettuce with 2 tiny cubes of tomato. I know sri lankans are good at what they are used to cooking probably not western food but the Australian owner really needs to pick up there act.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pottuvil hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the first and hopefully last time I have ever felt compelled to write a review on here.

I recently chose to stay at gecko's for 4 nights at the end of a wonderful 2 week holiday in Sri Lanka, after reading some good reviews on this site. Upon arrival we were shown a room with an A/C unit for 4000 rupees/night. After unpacking, we found the air con didn't work and to have it switched on would cost an extra 1000rupees. None of the staff appeared to know the price of the rooms though and were plucking prices out of the air. When we left, they added on a 10% service charge to the cost which was a bit rich as the room was only cleaned once. The rooms are cramped and dark and as such I think are substantially overpriced.

The food here is good if you are after a taste of home but it takes an age to come. For example, we waited almost an hour for 2 coffees and when they eventually came, were served tea.

The staff are a lazy and clueless and did not make our stay at all pleasant. I feel sad that we ended our holiday at such a shambles of an organisation as it has left a bitter taste in the mouth. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hblky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have stayed at Geckos twice, the first time last year and again just last month. Located a 10 minute fun walk along the beach from the point break, Gecko is easily the best place to stay in Arugam Bay. The staff are helpful and will go out of the way to make you feel comfortable and nothing is too much trouble. The food is sooooo good....fresh fruits, great curry's and a top club sandwich.....and the prawns...holy hell take me back, i love those suckers!!! Its such a relaxing place to hang out and to be honest its hard to drag yourself to anywhere else once your there because its so good.....I will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMexicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
362 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I loved staying at the Gecko! Right on the beach with very nice rooms with air conditioning. The surfing waves a short walk away. At night the restaurant is a hang out spot for tourists and laid back locals and sometimes a fire on the beach. The food is amazing! After almost a month in Sri Lanka, the prawns were the best meal I had in Sri Lanka. Run by a nice couple Liz and Ramesh. Liz is from the UK and was very helpful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pottuvil hotels
0.0 mi away
Coco Bay Hotel
Coco Bay Hotel
#1 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arne's Place
Arne's Place
#6 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kottukal Beach House by Jetwing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paper Moon Kudils
Paper Moon Kudils
#2 of 15 in Pottuvil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Vista Arugam Bay
Bay Vista Arugam Bay
#5 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Rock Beach Hotel
Sea Rock Beach Hotel
#13 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko

Property: Gecko
Address: Located Between #39 Hillton And #42 Deens, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gecko Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing