We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Happy Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gecko

Gecko
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pottuvil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gecko
Ranked #21 of 28 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My Happy Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have stayed at Geckos twice, the first time last year and again just last month. Located a 10 minute fun walk along the beach from the point break, Gecko is easily the best place to stay in Arugam Bay. The staff are helpful and will go out of the way to make you feel comfortable and nothing is too much trouble. The food is sooooo good....fresh fruits, great curry's and a top club sandwich.....and the prawns...holy hell take me back, i love those suckers!!! Its such a relaxing place to hang out and to be honest its hard to drag yourself to anywhere else once your there because its so good.....I will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMexicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    6
    2
    10
See reviews for
3
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
361 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I loved staying at the Gecko! Right on the beach with very nice rooms with air conditioning. The surfing waves a short walk away. At night the restaurant is a hang out spot for tourists and laid back locals and sometimes a fire on the beach. The food is amazing! After almost a month in Sri Lanka, the prawns were the best meal I had in Sri Lanka. Run by a nice couple Liz and Ramesh. Liz is from the UK and was very helpful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalalabad, Afghanistan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Far and away the best place to stay or eat in Arugam Bay. I want to make it clear that this is not some 4-star hotel, it is a 3-star guesthouse with an awesome restaurant/bar. But it's literally the best place to stay in Arugam Bay (believe me, I stayed at other places when I was in town). If you're a broke surfer who doesn't care about mosquitoes, this is not the place to stay (but you should come eat a nice cheap lunch like everybody else). This place costs (slightly) more than some of the shanties around town, but you get what you pay for: Air conditioning, clean rooms, mosquito nets, excellent bathroom facilities.... BTW, if you've never been to Arugam Bay, you should understand that this constellation of amenities is pretty amazing. And did I mention you are ON the beach? This place has less than 10 rooms, and basically the owners (Liz (from UK) and Ramesh (from SL)) make you feel like you're a member of the family from day one, and their kids are hilarious and amazing. There are a few Sri Lankan surf instructors hanging out at the bar, and there will be an Australian or two, but what's amazing is that it is a chill place to be at any time of day. Although there are plenty of food options, I have to recommend the amazing Sri Lankan breakfast of rice, dahl, and coconut hot sauce, which is incredible. When I was there, the veranda with the thatched roof and fans was considered the primary social center of Arugam Bay (I realize that in July/August the tourist market may create some changes), and I met people who were staying at many other guesthouses, almost all of whom wished they had stayed at the Gecko.

Do yourself a favor and book in advance, because this place is popular. Try to get one of the Gecko's A/C rooms, which are among the most sought-after accommodations on the island (don't tell anyone). Spend an evening drinking with Liz and Ramesh, and spend the day in the company of one of their many surf experts. Or just nap and read cheap novels like I did. Any way you slice it, the Gecko is pretty much the best guesthouse around.

Room Tip: Make sure you get A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barthelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We arrived at Gecko thinking we'd stay for a night or two and move on. I think we decided within 5 minutes of being there that we'd stay for much longer. It's a brilliant place run by the lovely Liz and Ramesh who do their utmost to look after you in every way possible. Liz cooked great food and always helped with our questions, and Ramesh was an absolute gentleman, who did everything from building a wooden structure to give us some shade, to getting us to where we wanted to go, to coming running with water and a smile when all the G+Ts made us sick... They're doing a fantastic job.

They've created a lovely and safe haven and you'll have a great time. Say hello to Jay and Millie too when you're there!

Love, the noisy english girls

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Gecko- really relaxed and homely and they went out of their way to accommodate us in every way, making recommendations of things to do, organising transport, delicious food, even building us a lovely shaded area on the beach when we couldn't handle the blazing heat! Ramesh and Liz are really lovely. We really enjoyed our stay there and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabana which was great for a bigger group but other rooms for smaller groups seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jossiestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Whilst we have had super food experiences at Gecko's in the past, this time it was more than disappointing. The burgers we ordered were dry, and the Greek salad ordered did not contain any olive oil. On requesting for olive oil to add to the Greek salad, we were brought a bottle of 'olive oil' which in actual fact was VEGETABLE OIL. The staff insisted that it was olive oil even though we knew very well the flavor and taste of olive oil and were one hundred percent sure that what they brought to the table was in fact vegetable oil.

Overall, a very disappointing experience. I hope the management takes appropriate measures to correct the situation with the food.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hishamshums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pottuvil hotels

Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Although I didn't stay at the Gecko when asking around for somewhere good to eat everyone said I had to try the Gecko, especially their famous ice cream.
After 3 weeks of curry and rice (which I love) it was a treat to have a homemade hamburger - they make their own bread on the premises, the other ingredients Liz (chef by trade) sources from Kandy or they grow themselves .... and the ice cream ... you definitely have to leave room for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.0 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Bay Hotel
Coco Bay Hotel
#1 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arne's Place
Arne's Place
#6 of 28 in Pottuvil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paper Moon Kudils
Paper Moon Kudils
#2 of 17 in Pottuvil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kottukal Beach House by Jetwing
0.0 mi away
Bay Vista Hotel Arugam Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko

Property: Gecko
Address: Located Between #39 Hillton And #42 Deens, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gecko Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing