We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tsunami Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Pottuvil
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Spice Trail(Arugam Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shell Resort(Arugam Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
East Surf Cabanas(Arugam Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
19
29
14
18
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
29
14
18
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationinvitecabanahammocksarugambayhuts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 107 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

At first we believed that this hotel would be somewhat of a novelty - staying at a place named the 'Tsunami hotel' before the actual Tsunami happened. However boy were we to be surprised.

Whilst the location was ideal, right on the beach, the rooms were basic and unclean. Our mosquito nets had holes in, so we were consistently discovering bites. This hotel was all about ripping you off, food was overpriced, and pretty average, whilst the room was very overpriced for what we got, and we could have gone cheaper elsewhere.

I wanted to rent a surf board whilst i was there, and they pretty much forced me to rent it from them. As the surf was not too great whilst we were there, i wanted to swap it for the bodyboard and occassionally use that for just a set price, however i was informed that i had to pay full price for both. Rip off!!

We were introduced to the owner during our stay and he turned out to be a real creep. He was offering us drinks and food, which we assumed, as the owner he was paying for and just offering it to us as a lovely jesture. However we have since found out that he charged all of this to some other travellers who were also staying there. What a snide joker!

I would not advise anyone to stay here, as the experience of our stay was truely awful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ranna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel has a nice location but that's all it's got going for it. It was dirty, the food was not good and the service was patchy. There was a lovely younger member of staff who was always smiling but the manager was not accomodating at all. There was also an issue with upselling and tuk tuks always trying to take us places we didn't want to go.

During our stay we met the owner who invited us to drink with him. Initially he seemed harmless although pretty soon we started to realise that things we not quite right. He was quite forceful in presurring us to drink every night and turned nasty when we refused. It is clear now that this treatment is a pattern for many western female travellers. Beware this man, had we been foolish enough to drink too much in his presence i dread to think of what might have happened.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scuba88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We checked out virtually all the places to stay in Arugam Bay and this was definitely the best in terms of location, price and quality of rooms.
The rooms are not just huts but well designed houses, and there is a range of rooms for all budgets.
The staff are extremely helpful and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and were not disappointed. After checking in at a below par venue that was incorrectly described on Trip Advisor, we found this place a few doors down and immediately moved location. We got the A/C room with the only outdoor loft which we had several private drinks in during our stay. Room was great, proper double bed which my wife loved and the A/C worked awesome, even cooled our drinks down. Location couldn't have been better, a small break off a rock outcrop in Arugam bay, out the front of the resort which was the best break other than the point break right along the Arugam Bay beach. Food was great also, one night they got in some fresh lobster for us which they showed us in the morning when it arrived to make sure we were happy and cooked it fantastically. Breakfast was good also. Have to say Dillum who served us most of the time was the best service we have had so far! Suggested places to stay elsewhere in the country and was at hand whenever you needed anything. All the staff got out and we threw a frisbee around one afternoon which just added to the great friendly atmosphere they all helped to create while we were there. Easily recommended to anyone for your Arugam bay experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights there but did not have a nice experience there, so we moved somewhere else for our third night in Arugam Bay.
The cabana seemed nice at first sight, but the bathroom was very dirty (and believe me, we've seen a lot of dirty bathrooms in Sri-Lanka) but here the sink was really disgusting.
Not even cleaned inbetween us and the former guests.
The toilet was broken, it was not possible to flush it.
Because it was already late we looked around the premises and found a bucket to flush it.
The next day i told the staff about our problem and they came to have a look, but since ther was a part broken and it was saturday (shops were closed they told us) it was not possible to fix it.
So we continued with our bucket...
Another day later we decided to move to another hotel, and when i asked the manager (who is really not a nice man, and to use the words of other guests there "he is a horrible man") for a small discount because of the toilet issue he refused.
He said "we gave you a bucket, didn't we?!", i replied "no, you did not, we had to find a bucket ourselves".
After me insisting because we pay as much for the room as someone WITH a working toilet we got a discount which was ridiculously small, the price of 2 beers, what a joke.
So to summarize: good location, dirty rooms, horrible manager, staff is nice though and the food is very ok, but you get nescafe instead of real coffee at breakfast.
There are much better places in Arugam Bay for less money, believe me!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews