We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Senani Bungalow Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Senani Bungalow Front View
Rose Garden Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
133 reviews
Senani Bungalow Front View
Rose Garden Terrace
Lounge
Fireplace
Lounge
Dining Hall
Dinning Hall
Room 1
Room 2
Room 2
Bathroom 2
Family Room 3
Room 4
Breakfast Room
Putting Green
Putting Green
Lavender Field
Strawberry field
Alstroemerias
Part Of Herbal Garden
Fuchsias
Night Time At Senani
New Rose Garden Terrace
Herbal Garden
Gazebo
Gazebo
BBQ In Progress
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 133 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
ayaz k
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Authentic Experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a comfortable stay. The support staff are very helpful. This villa is perfect for a big group and gives you a very authentic sri lankan experience. Do indugle in the breakfast, its great!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Dear Ayaz, thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at SENAN. Looking forward to welcome you and your friends again. Dusica & Wolfgang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahishini...
Colombo, Western Province
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Senani's bungalow was beautiful!”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a really lovely, pleasant stay. The rooms were very clean and comfy and the place felt like home. The cook and manager were sweet and they cooked everything that we asked for. We had no issues at senani bungalow and would recommend it to anybody traveling there with a family!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Dear Mahishini, we are happy to read that you and your team had a good time at our bungalow. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards Dusica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKato11
Geneva Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite a gem”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This bungalow is quite a gem. It is high class style and comfort. The staff (manager, cook, gardeners) are welcoming and attentive. The food that Prema cooks up was wonderful and our 7-day stay was a real pleasure. We really appreciate the independence, i.e, come and go as we please, have breakfast, lunch and dinner at any time and suggest our favorite dishes to Prema. The four bedrooms are great if one wants to have guests. Senani Bungalow is in a quiet location just 10 minute walk from the center of Nuwara Eliya and a short walk to some great hiking at Lovers Leap, Single Tree and Pedro's tea factory. This was our fourth time at Senani, that's how much we like it.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiru J
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very homely and relaxed”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

The hosts of Senani were very warm and friendly and they have attended to every detail of our stay. The staff was also friendly and helpful. Prema's cooking was awesome! In addition to the cozy colonial character of the interior, Senani also has an organic vegetable garden and a sustainable living set up. There was also a chilled out area for BBQ and nice drink in the evening. Overall we had fun and a comfortable stay.

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumbleBuf...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful family house, very welcoming, fantastic food too !”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Great family history to the house, pretty garden and within easy reach of the centre of town. great home cooking, really good, no chance of losing weight here !!

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyper-hou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming bungalow and garden”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We were looked afer beautifully with a wood fire in the evening and hot water bottles for those who felt the cold - it was unseasonally wet and misty during our stay. Good food and friendly people.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than just a bed for the night!”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Senani Colonial Bungalow is more than just a bed for the night! We were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown to our bedroom which included a large four-poster bed. The spacious attached bathroom had modern fittings. The evenings in Nuwara Elyia can be quite cool and on this particular evening the staff made up a log fire in the sitting room which really made the evening feel quite special. Our delicious dinner was served in the dining hall where the walls were featured with interesting Sri Lankan photographs of times gone by. After a peaceful night’s sleep we chose to take breakfast in the farm style breakfast room where we had the pleasure of watching the lady cook making hoppers, a typical Sri Lankan speciality, both plain and with eggs. Breakfast also included the usual fare including toast and home-made marmalade and jams. One of the highlights of staying at Senani bungalow is the lovely garden, particularly the vegetable and herb gardens which are quite amazing. The owners have a great passion for gardening which clearly shows when you take a walk around the (just under 1 acre) garden which is laid out on many terraces. Senani Colonial Bungalow has a lovely homely feel and we would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Gardens and homely feel
Liked least: Nothing at this price level
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing