We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place but something is lacking.....................”
Review of Alpine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Place but something is lacking.....................”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is only a km away from the town. Nice place near Gregory lake and the race course. the service was good for first three days but on the final day they didn't even cleaned the room after we requested only even gave water bottles. need improvement in food and cleanliness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFFERNANDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    37
    27
    37
See reviews for
48
55
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This place looks nice from the outside... but that's pretty much the best of it. As most places that we stayed around Sri Lanka, staff were very friendly and helpful.

They charged us $86 with no breakfast, we felt that it was overpriced but we didn't have many other options, as the rest of hotels around Nuara Eliya were fully booked, so we decided to spend one night at the hotel; unfortunately for us it was a bad night sleep.

The room felt like there was moist everywhere, and you could even smell some mold. It's the moist that you can feel on your clothes, skin, bedsheets, it never goes away.

The property feels a bit rundown, furniture and carpet are very old and it does not make you feel welcome.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Olgs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I have taken this on reviews here but my actual experience is not good.rooms cupboards cannot lock, sink water didn't drain,carpet was wet when we check in itself.staff was the only positive thing here.for same rate you can get better place around.food taste is good but variety was lacking in buffet. Don't misled by the some comments and pics in the web.even rooms don't have drinking water at least one bottle complimentary. No room phones you have to run down for everything.for price it's not worth the trouble.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randyex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have spent a night with my family as my last day of a three day trip to Nuwara Eliya. The hotel location is ideal for a tourist as it is just a few minutes away from the City, Gregory Lake and Victoria Park and any other places to visit. The most significant thing about this hotel is the staff as they are very much helpful and friendly. They will attend to any issues or requests immediately as you report. Food was good but I feel it is bit overpriced for what they offer if you book full board or half board. Plenty of hot water and bathroom was clean. However there was no telephone available at the room and I always had to climb down and go to the front desk to get things done. Overall this is an average hotel and I'm happy with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raji_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Foods and room service is good. im booking through the rooms.lk website.
i would like to thank Alpine Hotel staff there friendly service.
its really really nice.
Thank you all.

Foods and room service is good. im booking through the rooms.lk website.
i would like to thank Alpine Hotel staff there friendly service.
its really really nice.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: Clean Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiwankalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went there with local rate, the place is clean and acceptable although the toilet is a bit old. At a good location but that's a bit boring at night in Nuwara Eliya. More suitable for retired people. That area all hotels look lovely and you feel like in Europe

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Room was expensive for what it was, bathroom door couldn't be shut from the outside and there was lots of noise from the corridor.
Shower did the job but the water went everywhere.
The lounge area is nice but dated and as some other reviews have mentioned, it's a bit weird having staff's desks in the middle of it.
All the staff I met were friendly.
For dinner I had the Sri Lankan curry and wow, what a feast. Two huge bowls of rice, poppadoms, four different curries and a salad!! It was all very delicious and some of the best food I had in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: 27 has no natural light and looks onto a noisy staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hotel

Property: Alpine Hotel
Address: 4 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Hotel is situated in the cool misty hill country of Sri Lanka. It's the greenest part of the country, flourishing in flora & fauna. It's lush green tea hills gives it a distinctive mark of its own.Exploring ecology sites you will find this and so much more at this Super Luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing