We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay.”
Review of Alpine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
colombo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent stay.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

It was a great place to spend your vacation. The receptionists were customer friendly.room service was good.rooms were clean.advice for people looking for a good place to stay, this would be worth and comfortable enough for the amount you pay...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    37
    27
    37
See reviews for
48
55
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Paid approx £70 for a depressing room that felt like a 1960s seaside boarding house. There was a kettle but no cups, tea bags etc, a very old telly with no remote control, a bathroom door that wouldn't shut.... We did sleep well -in the vast bed that took up practically all of the floor space (along with the extra bed). Breakfast was basic and whilst we were eating a member of staff tried to sell us the book he had written, which was a little awkward. The public areas could have been nice but they seemed to double up as offices eg: the manager's desk was in the middle of the lounge. The staff were nice but we did relocate after one night. If we had paid half the price it would have been too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christineplusfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed tow night at this hotel where the the staff was very helpful and understanding and always on point. Room was very nicely cleaned and this has been with a very elegant decor. The deluxe room was spacious and very well equipped - room service was prompt and friendly.
I greatly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling Colombo if they are looking for a nice, comfortable and well located hotel as an alternative to the big brands.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danush256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Alpine. Classical English architecture enables Alpine to stand out amongst best Hotels in the Central Hilly terrains of Sri Lanka. The Manager is a character to reckon with, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. He arranged tours for us while discussing philosophy & Quantum Mechanics.
Alpine Hotel is preparing to celebrate its Centenary Year next year 2014. We found the rooms spacious & comfortable although they were dated. Views of the Mountains, Lake Gregory and the Racecourse make it have an edge over Grand & St. Andrew's Hotel where we stayed the last time.
The Pool table and Bar is a great place to relax after a tiring hike around the Mountains and on a rainy day. The restaurant served fresh salads and veggies with our western, Sri Lankan and Chinese cuisine.
The staff were much more friendly and helpful compared to the staff of other hotels in Sri Lanka. The versatile Manager arranged bicycle and 4X4 tours of uncanny terrain into Horton Plains and the Mountains.
It was a great experience we had at Alpine ..... I'd recommend any traveler to check it out for a couple of nights to taste a glimpse of paradise ...... real value for money ....

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this place. Yes, it needs a serious renovation but the service was pretty good. We spoke to the manager for ages while we were booking and he was really friendly, as were the other staff.
It is built to look European and it had a bit of a friendly feel to it.
The room was what we wanted. Comfortable bed, good shower, TV, heater. We feel we got what we paid for.
We didn't eat dinner there so can't rate the food but had breakfast and that was nothing to rave about. Cereal, fruit, toast, bacon and eggs.
It is not in the centre of town but it is near the lake. The town isn't that big so the location didn't matter to us. And of course there were tuk tuks everywhere.
If you want something for a night or two and don't care about modern refurbishment then this place is quite good. It was clean, quiet and comfortable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dangirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel very loooong ago ,it was brilliant back then now i dont know the status of this hotel as i heard and known from the rest ,its doing pretty good ,yet improvments to be done i am sure ..but it is always worth the money .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The property has a rather high price (compared to other tourist locales in country) for what it offers. Rooms old with old furniture and outdated ambience, 4 flights of stairs to characterless corridors. Do not recommend, however there did not seem to be an abundance of good fair-priced options in town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddy532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hotel

Property: Alpine Hotel
Address: 4 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Hotel is situated in the cool misty hill country of Sri Lanka. It's the greenest part of the country, flourishing in flora & fauna. It's lush green tea hills gives it a distinctive mark of its own.Exploring ecology sites you will find this and so much more at this Super Luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing