We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loong ago”
Review of Alpine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Hotel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel very loooong ago ,it was brilliant back then now i dont know the status of this hotel as i heard and known from the rest ,its doing pretty good ,yet improvments to be done i am sure ..but it is always worth the money .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

The property has a rather high price (compared to other tourist locales in country) for what it offers. Rooms old with old furniture and outdated ambience, 4 flights of stairs to characterless corridors. Do not recommend, however there did not seem to be an abundance of good fair-priced options in town.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Freddy532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is not located in the centre of the town. Probably this option allows the hotel to keep the high level I have found during my staying.

My room was very clean, even if without a room bar where I could have put my bottle of water..
The bathroom was clean, but very small and the water in the shower was not easy to become warm.

The dinner was much appreciated; eating rice and chicken in a different way was great!
Breakfast had a lot of selection in terms of food: typical sri lankan food as well as european breakfast was available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed last summer and thought from the outside was a nice hotel. The room was dump, dirty and the bathroom quite old. There was a smell of old in the room. Also the manager said to us a price and then when we had to pay put the price up for 50% more.

At the end we had to pay too much for this place, it is not worth it!

The only good thing is that you can wak up to the guesthouses on the left and look for an excellent guided tour to the manager of the guesthouse. The best driver/guide is called Sumathi, a real gem!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4dany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Rooms are worn, with mildewed carpets. Bathroom door didn't close. Bed was comfortable, though, The TV was an old b&w konika without a remote.

Restaurant would have been charming fifty years ago. Service was very slow. A la carte wasn't available one night, and was forced to consume their idea of European cuisine (which seems to be part of the whole colonial hangover of the place).

Wireless was supposed to work (only) in lounge area but didn't -- receptionist just shrugged his shoulders. Receptionist also offered me a bungalow for $250 a night.

The one positive thing I must say is a superb banana-with-caramel dessert concocted by the chef.

At $76 a night (with breakfast), I thought it was rather expensive considering we were in a developing country.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelnovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Our room was clean and had a comfortable bed. However, it took ages to get the food we ordered at the restaurant and when we got it it was way overcooked but eatable. Some other guests seemed to be very upset but it wasn't that bad though...

The glory days of this place might be gone and the British interior and the erratic but friendly staff made us feel as if we were staying at Fawlty towers...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPC494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

we stayed H/F on 5th Feb 2012
rooms were clean, toilets good, had a good shower..
friendly staff..
Foods average..but eatable..

Can recommend

Kasun

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasunA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#18 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
853 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hill Town Cottage
The Hill Town Cottage
#8 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hotel

Address: 4 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Hotel is situated in the cool misty hill country of Sri Lanka. It's the greenest part of the country, flourishing in flora & fauna. It's lush green tea hills gives it a distinctive mark of its own.Exploring ecology sites you will find this and so much more at this Super Luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing