We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Genuine Humbugs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Genuine Humbugs
Ranked #97 of 277 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

There was Only 1 waiter for the service so it has a slow service but food is very very tasty.very close to haggala gardens.max 20m from humbugs.also has multiple strawberry dishes available.we stayed in the bunglow for 2 nights Rs 25000 per day.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apexpredator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palitha J, Owner at Genuine Humbugs, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you very much, and we have now refurbished the whole bungalow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Genuine Humbugs Bungalow. The original structure was built in 1817. It has a British Raj feel to it... The lawn, veg garden, well and the pond enhance the beauty around. The sunrise and other views around the bungalow is breathtaking. A fully self sufficient bungalow will offer you cozy & comfortable stay. the meals can be requested as suitable. The owner of the Bungalow is an interesting person who is willing to have a intriguing conversation with you and make you feel at home and ensure your comforts. The peace & quiet that it offers is relaxing.

Room Tip: Book for the Bungalow in advance. there is a ceiling for the total number of visitors that this bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damanjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palitha J, Owner at Genuine Humbugs, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you very much .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

very nice fresh strawberry drink and the shake looked even better. Meal was good as well.
nice outlook and you can eat out the back on verandah or down in garden.
We had the usual rice and curry. The only drawback is that you can hear the traffic as it struggles uphill when dining outside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvertoptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palitha J, Owner at Genuine Humbugs, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Humbugs is a hidden gem in Sri Lanka; one that should not be missed during a visit to Nuwara Ellya, Horton Plains, or the Hukgala gardens. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The food is excellent with strawberry delights to savor. But the best part is the friendly staff and gracious owners who willingly share the dynamic history of this special bungalow. At Humbugs you have the rare opportunity to stay in a 100 year old bungalow and made to feel as if you are visiting with a local family. A trip to Sri Lanka would not be compete without a visit to Humbugs!

Room Tip: The bungalow has 5 rooms, all of which are clean and comfortable. 3 have amazing walk out to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nilmini H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palitha J, Owner at Genuine Humbugs, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, and happy you enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I took my family to Humbugs which was recommended by a friends. My kids really enjoyed the garden. The place was beautiful, the view from our room was quite amazing. The rooms were clean and the food was really good. One thing which made us feel very much at home were the staff. I would definitely go back here, the next time we are in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ishini81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palitha J, Owner at Genuine Humbugs, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and happy you enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Wow, I wouldnt know why someone would say that this place is less thatn fantastic. You are in a valley, surrounded by misty mountains and afantastic view. True, the weather when we were there was not good but curling up inside with a hot chocolate solves that. The place was clean and neat and full of old world charm. For Rs.2750.00, it was a fantastic deal. I saw a review here about bedbugs and the weather and thought it was a little unfair to conplain about the weather! and as for cleanliness, we found the place to be well kept.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake201167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palitha J, Owner at Genuine Humbugs, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and happy that you all enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at this quiet, family-run holiday bungalow - located in Hakgala, which is about a 15 minute drive from the Nuwara Eliya town - for 2 nights in Feb 2011.

In order to confirm our reservation, we were cordially requested to make full payment to their bank account. We were able to check in as late as 11pm and even though we did not require it, they were accommodating to prepare a late dinner for us.

We were informed that the room they had allocated for us has a plumbing issue and we were instead given a room in which the bed linen wasn’t changed since its last occupants, despite the bed being made, and where the skylight had a broken glass pane. Our room had a TV with a limited selection of local and cable TV channels but had no in-room heating.

We moved into our originally-reserved room once the plumbing issue was allegedly rectified however, the moment I turned on the hot water in the shower, the exposed hot water pipe running along the wall of the bathroom burst, filling the room and bathroom with steam and nearly burning me. The staff efficiently transferred our belongings back to our old room (where thankfully the bed linen had been changed to freshly laundered ones) and they were followed by the proprietor who personally apologise d to us for the mishap.

From previous visitors, we had heard of the quality and variety of the meals and had opted to stay on b & b basis, and were provided with an average Sri Lankan breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarRush77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palitha J, Owner at Genuine Humbugs, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,711 reviews
0 mi away
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Hotel
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
257 reviews
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,171 reviews
0 mi away
Nuwara Eliya Hostel By Backpack Lanka
Nuwara Eliya Hostel By Backpack ...
#104 of 231 in Nuwara Eliya
25 reviews
0 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#23 of 277 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genuine Humbugs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genuine Humbugs

Address: Meena Ella Nursery Hakgala | opposite Hakgala Botanical Gardens, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $26 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite Hakgala botanical gardens 9 km from Nuwara Eliya on main highway, restaurant 50 covers well maintained colonial tea plantation bungalow built in 1912. Refurbished, indoor/outdoor sports with a breathtaking view of the Uva Valley and in the midst of the strict natural reserve, mountain climbing, 13 miles to Worlds End. Pioneers of strawberry dishes (strawberries with fresh cream and strawberry pancake) in Sri-Lanka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Genuine Humbugs Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing