We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gregory House
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$142
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
$241
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$150
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$151
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
$149
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$201
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$50
$47
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$57
$43
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
15
10
5
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
10
5
6
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 42 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Gregory House seems to be a bit confused as to what sort of property it wishes to be. Based on prices, photos and advertising it fashions itself as a hotel, but it can hardly be considered that.

Apart from the superior room on the top floor, the rooms were dark, smelled damp and were poorly stocked. It did not come with bottled water nor a hot water flask. Despite the cool weather in Nuwara Elia, the lack of a fan meant that the room was badly ventilated and the air stale. Worse still, our room was not cleaned at all during our two night stay. The kitchen on the second floor also ensured that the narrow stairwell leading to rooms permanently smelled of food.

It's also challenging to get service as the staff who worked here never seemed to be on the property. We had to repeatedly request for towels and bottled water.

Location-wise the property is fairly centrally located and near the lake, but on both nights we were disturbed by loud partying at 2am in the morning.

Given the lack of service and amenities, the property is definitely not worth the price we paid. This was probably the worst property we stayed at during our 11 day trip to Sri Lanka. The Gregory House either has to revise its rates or severely up its standards. I would not recommend the Gregory House - there are far better places to stay at in Nuwara Elia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank me_g_toe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. Service, when available, was fantastic with smiles. However, the overall experience was not satisfactory at all.

Pros:
1. Excellent location. We booked a superior room but upgraded to the Deluxe room by paying $20 per night extra at the hotel. The room overlooked the lake, had a balcony too.
2. On our last night, they cooked an amazing Srilankan dinner for us. Rice with 6-8 curries, chicken and fish. It was absolutely fabulous! And cheap too, at Rs, 750 per person.
3. The staff is super friendly. In particular, the very young man who is there round the clock.

Cos:
1. The room, while big, was swarming with flies and mosquitos.
2. Water pressure was really low. I complained a couple of times and they turned on the water pump. Now there was probably a faulty water line going to the overhead tank. Each time they turned on the pump, water leaked (a lot) from the roof and flooded our room.
3. No one picks up the phone at the reception most of the time. I had to walk 3 floors down to find someone every time. The young man was always present but without much power. He had to call his boss for every little thing. No other senior staff member was present. The cook is supposed to also manage the property but he would be often absent.
4. No wifi in our room. Only in lobby.
5. They don't take credit cards.

Overall, I don't think it was worth the $110 per night that we paid. Maybe $60 would be a fair price. Look for other places in Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProverbialYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night and were a bit disappointed, it was our least favourite place out of everywhere we stayed on our 2 week trip around Sri Lanka and a bit over priced for what it was. The room was large and bed comfortable but the room did smell quite damp. The place was also pretty hard to find as there were no signs so it took us and our driver quite a while to find it. It was ok for one night but we were quite glad to leave the next day. The staff however were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPolwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I think this place was overpriced at $100-120 USD although it was nice enough and very clean.the views are minimal and about to get less with a new building going up next door..the rooms are very nice with great beds.The breakfast an extra 650 Rp so so.There was no one around to communicate with abut anything until the later half of the second day.We spent basically one and a half days with out hot water,but that is probably fixed by now.It is a good hour walk into town.There has to be better places around

Room Tip: top Floor rhs
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My friend & I stayed at The Gregory House for 2 nights in January 2014.

We arrived close to midnight but the owner helped our taxi driver with directions and we were warmly welcome upon our arrival with a hot meal and smiles all around :) The location was in a quiet & relaxing environment beside Gregory Lake.

The absolute best part of our stay was the bed. It is amazing…maybe the most comfortable bed either of us have ever slept on! As well, the showers were great and the hot water was consistent which is not something we always found in places during our travels in Sri Lanka. We also unexpectedly got upgraded to the top-floor bedroom where the views were spectacular!

The staff (especially the owner who was a great conversationalist) was helpful with all of our requests from helping arrange a tea plantation tour via a scenic TukTuk ride to figuring out the logistics of travelling back to Colombo. In general, these were really nice, friendly people.

We found the food fine and once we plugged the internet USB stick directly into our laptop vs. the wall socket, WIFI was solid.

We would definitely stay at the Gregory House again for our next trip to Nuwara Eliya.

P.S. We would highly recommend a tour of Pedro tea plantation but not Mackwood tea plantation as the staff were really rude and we got the feeling it is only set-up for large pre-arranged tour groups. Everything from trying to taste the tea or tour the factory turned out to be difficult as they seemed uninterested in serving any of their customers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews