We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay in Nuwara Eliya”
Review of The Gregory House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gregory House
Ranked #112 of 264 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My partner and I thouroughly enjoyed our stay at The Gregory House in Nuwara Eliya. After hearing tales of overpriced and damp-ridden guest houses in NE we decided to spend a little extra for our two nights in town and we were not disappointed with our choice. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the bed was large and warm, perfect for those chilly NE nights. The accomadation is a little further from town than other guesthouses but still only takes 4-5 minutes in a three wheeler. It's also located a few minutes walk from the recently refurbished Gregory Lake where you can hire a bike. The staff were also extremely accomadating and supportive. For a relatively new establishment The Gregory House is doing everything right and the value for money is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 43 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

It seems our confirmed e-mail reservation got lost, so we were upgraded the first night and downgraded the second night, so we have stayed in the third floor and first floor.
The amenities in the room were as good as in minimum 4* hotel,mother mattresses are super.
But both of the rooms were a bit smelly.
One of the employees could nearly not speak a single word of English, the other couldn't help us with anything. We have asked him help to organize a tour to the tea plantations next day and he told us ok, a little bit later he would come back, but he never did. So we just went to another place, but he could have told us, that he cannot make any reservation.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gringuito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We live in The UK and we have chosen Sri Lanka as our get away destination. Then we decided to stay in the hill capital of the country, I couldn't have been happier we choose the
The Gregory house.it is the best. Me and my missus stayed there for a long weekend in January. Its a location perfect hotel. The room was clean and comfortable easy to walk to and from all areas of interest.The housekeeping staff was excellent and always left extra towels or toiletries when we left a note. The breakfast was perfect and saved us time and money having to get something in a restaurant .Nuwara Eliya town within close proximity,The staff was friendly and helpful. The Gregory house exceeded our expectations and when we return we will be looking to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sajeevi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, the location great, a one-minute walk to Gregory Lake. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Best of all is the food -- this is a wonderful example of Sri Lankan home cooking, absolutely delicious with the degree of spiciness suited to your taste. We recommend that you have a meal here even if you are staying elsewhere or are just passing through.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman_Weiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel on January 14th, We had nine people and a little baby. I learned that the place has been acquired by the present owner recently, and have done a marvelous job in upgrading the facilities. The staff is good and well trained and at your disposal. Lunch and dinner were served well and was excellent. I do not hesitate to recommend this place for anyone who is looking for quality accommodation in NE. Great View of the lake and the adjoining hills.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anurapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We went there for 2 nights and were a family of 4 so we took 2 double rooms:

(++) everything looks new
(++) very clean rooms and bathrooms
(++) smells good in the rooms
(++) hot water comes fast and is abundant
(++) very comfortable beds with mosquito nets and clean bed sheets
(++) TV with cable in all the rooms
(++) good free wifi
(++) beautiful views from 1st and 3rd floor rooms
(++) reactive and attentive staff
(++) great food for dinner with choice of various meals. The chef is excellent, as good as in 4-5 stars hotels.

(-) 2nd floor bedroom: in front of kitchen and has no view (the room never smells of food and is very large though)
(-) 1st floor bedroom: the toilet is right outside the room, separated from the lobby by a transparent door (not the best for ladies)
(-) served artificial, cheap jam for breakfast but corrected it 2nd morning


Stayed: January 2014
Thank IzuBackpacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My family stayed at The Gregory House for two nights & it was a well relaxed holiday. I should say the room is very clean & tidy, you'll not find such clean & comfortable coverlets anywhere else. The staff is very friendly & helpful. As it's located right up of the edge of the Gregory Lake you can here the water flow which relaxes your mind. Also should mention the beautiful scenery around from the room view. Nice food & reasonable rates altogether make a wonderful & complete holiday package. Definately would go back & highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor rooms the experience is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuwan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#24 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highest Village Bungalow
Highest Village Bungalow
#10 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gregory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gregory House

Address: 31 Abeya Pura, Kalukele, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $60 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gregory's House is a boutique hotel that totally pampers only a few at a time. 4 luxurious, stylish rooms welcome you to stay, along with a tantalizing cuisine any way you want it. 24 hour smiling service with every modern amenity awaits you. Total comfort relaxation and peace of mind is what Gregory House is all about. The perfect retreat for a small group of friends or family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing