We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't find serious faults, so still a biiiiiig thumbs-up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Revisit, last one was 2007 and then there were some serious concerns esp. with the rooms. They're still upgrading so possibly some of the positive remarks apply to our room (222, ground floor) and not yet to all others.
Still a lovely setting, this old planter's villa on the outskirt of town. Room was simply good, with huge beds, small sofa, nice heater (needed in Eliya nights!). The bathroom was okay with upgraded taps etc.; however the water running in the bathtub gets some dark colour showing outdated (lead?) tubing deep in the building.
Restaurant had some busy tour groups but still managed amazing quick service for us and 4 local guests. The 'set menu' (4 courses with variation) is quite good, almost haute-cuisine level. B'fast buffet was also extremely good but like most Lankan hotels they only have this when there are groups; on earlier visits had standard continental B'fast which was more limited. Still the best hotel with good price/quality ratio inside Eliya town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm comments regarding our hotel and your stay with us at Jetwing St. Andrews. I hope your trip to Sri Lanka was a pleasant one full of happy memories.

Hope to see you with us again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
General Manger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed here as part of the Images of Sri Lanka tour with Virgin. On arrival at the hotel it looks lovely, castle type building, large well kept grounds and quaint tea garden. Inside it is awful though. The rooms are dingy, we had bed sheets stained with spots of blood, the carpet was a variety of colours due to various stains, the bathroom was mouldy, the window glass looked like it was about to fall out of the window. They had pushed the two single beds together but there wasn't much point due to the huge gap in the middle.

The restaurant had a go at nouveau cuisine so it looked good on the plate but all tasted horrible. The stuffed chicken in particular looked like it was straight out of a Bernard Matthews packet. The service was ok in the restaurant but painfully slow in the bar. The cocktails were very over priced. More expensive than in the 5 star hotel that we stayed in later on. Maybe they are trying to improve this hotel as there were workmen sanding the hallway down and sawdust all over the floor after dinner but I wouldn't stay there untill they have done some serious refurbishment.
Oh and by the way ladies there is no hairdryer in the room so take your own! No safe in the rooms either.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Dear Guest,

Starting off I would like to apologize for the issues you have faced during the course of your stay with us.

We try to maintain high standards which is demanded by the guests who come to Jetwing St. Andrews. The points of your concern have been looked into and the necessary action will be taken to improve them.

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed here one night in February 2010 with a Sri Lanka Highlights Tour. The colonial atmosphere was breathing from each and every corner! Our room was very nice, spacious, clean and with all necessary amenities. Yes, the bathroom looked a bit outdated but everything functioned well and, in a way, it fitted into the 'old and colonial style' so we did not mind at all.
They served a cup of warm soup a welcome ‘drink’, which was a bit surprising, but rather delicious.
Downside for us - as opposed to most other reviewers - was the restaurant. It took ages…ages…ages… to get served and the place was full of noisy Russians. The meal was also nothing special to remember.
Despite the less good dining experience, we enjoyed this place and would stay here again anytime (but would go and eat somewhere else).

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Dear Guest,

While thanking your for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrews during you vacation in Sri Lanka I would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory dining experience. Your feedback has been passed on and we will look at it in a positive way to better our services.

Thank you again for choosing Jetwing Sr. Andrews and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

How refreshing to stay in a hotel that isnt just a carbon copy of every other tourist hotel. In St Andrews they have managed to retain the character of a bygone age while ensuring most of the 'creature comforts' we have all become used to. We were only there one night, and wished it could have been longer. We had a delightful room, the luxury of a teapot and loose tea was especially welcome. The hotel was full and dinner, though superb was a bit like eating in the school canteen. Coffee by a roaring fire afterwards being 'fussed over' by the excellent staff was lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loughside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for your stay at Jetwing St. Andrews. Your compliments have been passed down to the staff.

I extend our warmest wishes on behalf of the entire team. I only wish you could have stayed longer and hope to see you soon during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

we were there for the nite after visiting the plantations. we were checked in to the rooms, both rooms smelled the humidity. one of the them was ok but the other one was really unbearable. actually to hide it, they had painted the rotten spots that same day so the paint was still wet. we complained, they said they were fully booked. after getting really angry with them, they decided to give us another room. the new rooms was very decent. when we asked why the rooms were like that, they told us that they had water leakage from the roof. so we went out and took some pix of the outside wall of one of the rooms and another one of the inside wall of the second one. the other room was very cold and the bath robe was torn. we took a photo of that which we will upload later. as for the bed, the most uncomfortable i've ever slept in. the base wasn't leveled. the next morning we had terrible lower back ache.
the food was surprisingly delicious, presentation was amazing, service was really good. the actual setting of the hotel is nice. for the food i would rate it 5 stars but definitely not more than 3 for all the rest.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky_Wakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Dear Guest,

While thanking you with regard to your warm comments about Jetwing St. Andrews I would also like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Your comments have been well noted and it has been passed down to the team. We will look at the issues mentioned and will do the needful.

We truly appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you at Jetwing St. Andrews during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
General Manger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

the hotel is in dire need of a bathroom upgrade ours had a chipped bath, damaged tiles , dirt engrained grout and looked grotty to say the least, this was confirmed by the rest of the group who travelled with us as part of a tour, .the bedroom was fine and overlooked the town. the most delighful part was being woken in the early hours by the call to prayer from the local mosque so don,t expect a lie in.
on the plus side the food was fantastic in a realy great setting. the bar staff are in a world apart, and seem to have trained with the faulty towers training scheme, you will enjoy them.
one night was enough for us.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john-suffolk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments and for giving us your necessary feedback to improve.
All comments you have provided will be looked at positively and areas for improvement have been duly noted.

We thank you for your comments and trust you will return to Jetwing St. Andrews to experience the improvements made in the future.

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Can't see any charm in this hotel, everything is so old, with a odd smell. I was shocked when the front desk reception trying to write my room no. on my luggage with a PEN!!! I manage to stop him before he damage my luggage! How professional is that??!!! The staff seems to be only interested in the caucasian, and not very attentive to Asian people.
The bell boy actually get impatient and shouted 'COME' to my old folk when they took too long to get out of the sofa!
I just can't ait to get out of this hotel... I have doubts about the TRIPADVISOR reviews after 2 dissappointing stays now...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Dear Guest,

Starting off I would like to sincerely extend my deepest heartfelt apologies. I am sad to say I do find myself disappointed at falling short of your expectations. Your points are well noted and will be addressed immediately.

I would like to add that all our guests are important to us and as such are treated with equality and utmost importance.

On behalf of the entire staff at Jetwing St. Andrews I would like to make amends to your concerns.

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
893 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
330 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $153 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing