We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with a lot of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a lot of character”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is an old colonial hotel originally built early in the 20th century but modified and added to since. As such, it stil retains much of its early character such as a couple of rooms at the front with old colonial style bookcase and furniture and a bar area which probably hasn't changed in 100 years except for the addition of masses of graffiti on the walls. It's therefore quite different to a modern concrete block but still has all the amenities you would want. it's quite close (walking distance) to the rather charming town and adjacent to the golf course (which seemed little used) if that's your thing. The grounds around the hotel are very pleasant but there's no swimming pool nor fitness facilities. the rooms are slightly quirky in their layout and decor but nevertheless quite spacious and comfortable with good facilities. Just a point - if you can't find the switch for the wall lights, try looking just above the skirting board behind one of the bedside cabinets! The restaurant and the food was excellent and we didn't have any problems with the service which wasn't always the case in this country. Overall, a very pleasant and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimstone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our old colonial mansion nestled in the Highlands. We hope you had an enjoyable holiday here in Sri Lanka. Your thoughts have been shared with the team and they appreciate it very much.

Looking forward to serving you soon at Jetwing St. Andrews.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    611
    258
    90
    47
See reviews for
339
744
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel generates two distinct views in its clients. Those that find the hotel dark and old fashioned and those, like me, who find a virtually unspoiled Victorian planters club fascinating. The wooden paneling, large sofas and wood fires were wonderful and who can resist a snooker table complete with a uniformed referee, complete with white gloves, to set the table up and reset pocketed balls.

The rooms were large and comfortable but even in February I found it necessary to use the spare blanket to stay warm at night. We had a particularly enjoyable tea on the lawns where the group ate our anniversary cake from the previous hotel.

My only concern is the inexplicably out of place “graffiti room” next to the bar. Originally it was painted a plain white, but since then every square millimetre has been “decorated” with names, inane comments and painful attempts at tags. It is so out of place as to be grating. We used it once when the bar was full, but settled for one drink rather than the usual three. Much better was the cosy bar with its log fire and a particularly old and very good arrack.

It must be hard to operate a modern hotel with all the expected facilities and yet keep the ambiance of an old and traditional building. St Andrews have achieved this with the exception of the horrid graffiti room. Please, please redecorate it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luap1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at our charming Victorian Club “Jetwing St. Andrews”, during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya.

Your comments have been noted and will be passed on to the management, as your kind words are truly appreciated.

We shall certainly taking into account your thoughts on the Bar, during our refurbishment program. Once again thanking you for sharing your comments and look forward to your return visit in the future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have been to a couple of Jetwing hotels before St. Andrews and our experience in those hotels was fantastic. But honestly, we were so disappointed on St. Andrews as we faced a number of hassles during our stay. When we first arrived this hotel the whole place looked isolated and we had to climb up a never-ending staircase to find a receptionist. Then it took another few minutes for her to find out a porter and for a while I thought she is the only employee in the hotel as it was that deserted.
Our room was big enough with all the necessary amenities, but the bathroom was smaller than we expected. Since we were traveling with a baby who is co sleeping with us, we were glad to find a king sized bed in our room, but honestly the mattress was a torture! It was squeaking the whole time and was such a pain! We, including our baby hardly had a good night’s sleep.
This hotel has a very limited parking space, which is not under the supervision of the hotel staff. On one occasion we found, a few other vehicles blocked our car in and there was no way around getting out. We had to inform the reception twice to get help until this security guard appeared out of nowhere. I don’t know where he was the whole time when those vehicles were parked, making the farthest inconvenience to the guests, in the first place. So after a long while we could move the car and the irony is, when we returned, the car park was packed with more and more vehicles but there wasn’t a single person to manage the place and the front desk was empty as well.
Hotel house keeping service was efficient but they forgot to clean the garbage bin in the bathroom, which contained our baby’s disposed diapers. Hotel room service was excellent and the staff in the restaurant was so friendly and supportive. Even though, the hotel interior was old and spooky, the outside garden was beautiful.
One of the few good things of this hotel is its food. Food was delicious and there was a good selection in the in room dining menu as well.
So, as a whole our stay at St. Andrews was quite a disappointment and we have no intentions to go there again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have very small bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDMB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We are truly sorry about the inconvenience faced while maneuvering your vehicle while entering and exiting the car park quarters.

And the comments you have mentioned regarding the squeaking bed and the porter not been present at the reception have been made note with the management, and we will certainly monitor operations more closely from now on. On a positive note, we are pleased that you enjoyed the chefs specials on offer during your stay at the hotel.

It would a pleasure to have you stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any help the next time you plan your holiday in Nuwara Eliya.

Sincerely yours

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed two nights at this English country house as part of our Sri Lankan tour. It's location is good sitting in an imposing position above Nuwara Eliya beside the golf course.

The owners have decided to retain this old country house style which is reflected in what were dated lounges and bar which should be refurbished and better use made of the space. Outside the grounds are very nice with lots of mature trees and well kept lawns though some of the outdoor furniture is looking tatty. There is no swimming pool.

Our room was good size though in need of refurbishment as it was somewhat tired though the bathroom was modern but small. Our ‘Superior Room’ didn’t resemble pictures of the same type of room on the hotels website which looked significantly better. Also, we requested a room on a high floor at the front of the hotel but were allocated a room at the rear on the ground floor.

Staff not especially friendly in restaurant where service was mixed. Restaurant management were friendly and kindly supplied some avocado when we asked about it. The dinner buffet in the Old Course Restaurant was relatively limited in choice compared with other hotels we stayed in and was the least good of the 8 hotels we stayed in during our tour. Staff elsewhere in the hotel were much more attentive and friendly - especially the bar.

We enjoyed the hotels bird watching walk with Ishan who found some interesting and rare birds for us to see.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the property on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that enjoyed the bird watching excursion which I will pass on to our naturalist Ishanda & team.

We appreciate the feedback and suggestions made on the lounges and bar area which is up for refurbishment very soon. I have discussed your comments with my team and rest assured the attention to detail by the staff and room make over will be a priority.

Thank you once again for bringing those points to our attention and for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s to spend your holiday. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to enjoy an even better stay at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The three elements of this property's charm are its cuisine, its atmosphere, and the proximity to Nuwara Eliya. The last item -- a few steps away from the center of town, make it particularly appealing, but it is the food I will remember. Some of the best food I tasted in Sri Lanka I ate here. Presented, prepared, and proportioned perfectly, the cuisine amazed me with its exquisite attention tod etail. I would have awarded this hotel five stars, had the bathroom not been so rudimentary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your comments on Trip Advisor on your recent stay with us. We are very glad to share your compliments with our associates specially the culinary team and surely this helps us to do better in future.

Hoping to see you soon at our colonial hotel in the misty mountains.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

if you cant manage steps then avoid this hotel, there are numerous steps to get to reception, then more to your room - not a lift in sight.
the room we had was dark and on entering we were met with the most awful smell coming from the bathroom-which i must admit was seen to very quickly.
some remedial work was being done at the recetion area so it wasnt immeadiately obvious that it was there as it was covered in dust sheets
we tried to get onto the tea terrace the doors were bolted and we had to ask someone to unbolt them for fear of setting any alarms off
our room was cold and we had the electric heater on and the blankets to keep us warm, yes there is a roaring fire in the lounge, the bar area is small but quaint, but the room adjacent to it is a graffitti room -this does not fit in with the hotel-dont know whos idea it was, but 10litres of paint should put that right.
the food was awful, the warmest item on the menu was the soup, but both at eveing meal and breakfast the food was tepid/cold
a positive note the shower was very hot !
not our "cup of tea" this hotel-would not recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, let me apologize for any inconvenience caused during your brief stay with us.

Your comments regarding bar and meals will be discussed with relevant associates. We would have appreciated if you brought these to our attention during your stay, as we would have addressed all or most of your comments.

Thank you once again for your stay the hotel, we are grateful to you for this review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you all back to witness the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is quite high up in the hills and is accessed by a winding road - great views from our vehicle. The hotel is quite magical inside and it was clean. It's all based on a Scottish theme, roaring log fires. The cuisine was good and accompanied by music from a grand piano - marvelous The bedroom was excellent and the bed was the best I have ever slept in..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGTE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Jetwing St. Andrew's. We were pleased to read your lovely comment on our magical Scottish mansion and will share your thoughts with our team.

Once again thank you and waiting to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
808 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
653 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Property: Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing