We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Nuwara Eliya is like a dream land. St Andrew's was an absolute English experience. Clean rooms, great service. We even got some good food!
What made it better was going frog watching into unknown jungles with an experienced and very friendly guide Ishan Senaviratna. The thought of a night hike itself was an adventure, and it just got better as we went into the jungle. We got to see some rare species of frogs, some typical to Sri Lanka. We totally loved our time spent in this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharadamurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is indeed our pleasure to hear that you had a memorable stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s and your words motivate our associates to do better. We will share your lovely comments with our team, especially with Ishanda.

Once again thanking you for your review and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    603
    251
    90
    46
See reviews for
328
734
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was an absolute delight very clean, large rooms (we had a suite it was huge!) excellent service all round, food was made to a very high standard yet still affordable. I would highly recommend staying here as it's close to the town and the spectacular views of the mountains and tea plantations which dominate this area. Plenty of nature walks to choose from however we did not go on any of them, but maybe next time!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateB136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your review of Jetwing St. Andrew’s and our associates. We will share your compliments with all members of the team and on behalf of all at Jetwing St. Andrew’s we hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

english type nice and small hotel. average service. climate is always little bit cold as its 6800 ft above the sea level. rooms are good and spacious. short walk to market place. choice of food is very limited. lots of greenery , tea plantations and tea factories arround. its a small town, nice lake near by where you can go for boating. i highly recommend this place for honeymooners.

Room Tip: choose front view room opening to garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amarthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya and for your recommendation of the property as a honeymooner’s haven.

Hope to see you soon at our colonial mansion in the hills.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
244 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a room with a view over a car park and a lean-to, complete with cigarette ends thrown from an upper window. The room was old fashioned with a bed that didn't just creak, it moaned when you got into it, a tiny wardrobe and old fashioned tv. Nice to have loose tea and a tea pot, but that meant you could only use it once a day, as there was nowhere to empty the leaves.
On the upside - there had to be one - the lounge areas (the only areas that had functioning wifi during our stay) were cosy and warm and the restaurant served some truly excellent sri lankan curries, some of the best we tasted on our whole trip. Service was good throughout, particularly in the restaurant.
The hotel is well located for a walk into town, but we didn't find a great deal to do and see there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you with regard to your warm comments about Jetwing St. Andrew’s. We will share your comments with our associates and certainly they will be delighted with your kind words regarding service. We shall positively work to improve the issues that you have mentioned.

Once again thanking you for your remarks and hoping to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nuwara Eliya is the place you go when visiting Sri Lanka for the tea plantations and English colonial feel experience. St. Andrews is a beautiful 150 year old building that has stood time but is in slight need of maintenance and some repairs.

The rooms were spacious clean and even had some nice BOP tea which you could have in the room. But there were little things that could use some improvement. For example, the bed situation tends to be 2 single beds pushed together but done up separately. This is not everyone's cup of tea (pun intended!) as in this day and age most couples tend to prefer Queen or King size beds.

The bathroom door in our room wouldn't close and they put some newspaper on the knob as some way of repairing it, not quite understand the logic behind it.

The reception area also needs some sort of more elegant and matching with the hotel decor reception desk. As at the moment is not really nice or antique looking like the furniture in the rest of the hotel.

But the lobby area, bar and restaurant are absolutely in synch with the rest of the hotel. The garden is absolutely stunning too. In terms of the restaurant, I must say the decor is very nice but the only option for dinner is buffet. Again, not everyone's cup of tea and at a hotel of this level, I would have liked to see an a la carte option available that perhaps could be served at a bistro or cafe within the hotel.

Having said that it was a really good option as a colonial style hotel for the area. Just a few improvements that I'm sure the Jetwing group are probably already looking into.

Room Tip: As this is a very old building you will probably get a bit of noise from the adjacent rooms. So if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabycalvehider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our colonial hotel and posting a constructive review on Trip Advisor. We strive to be the best and to retain the old world charm and colonial touch in and around the hotel.

Once again thank you for your observations and giving us the necessary feedback to improve. With the new expansion to the existing bar, lounge area and reception, it will address all of the issues you have stated.

We hope to see you again in the near future once the refurbishment is complete.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukbandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst touring Sri Lanka and its a really gorgeous hotel over looking the town!
The rooms were luxurious with a very colonial feel big oak beds, old furniture and lots of fluffy blankets!
Staff are very friendly and helpful nothing is to much trouble!
Dining room is very cosy and low lit with the food being served buffet style and the show chefs on the terrace, all the food we tried was excellent and there was plenty of choice!
A trip to the markets in the town is a must loads of things to spend your money on and all at low prices!!
My only issue with hotel is it doesn't have a pool but no hotels do in this town so we were told! But apparently we were the lucky ones as we arrived on a very sunny day and most of the time it's over cast and a bit chiller!
One tip is make sure you have packed a cardigan or coat as the temperature up here in the evenings drops a lot compared to else where in Sri Lanka.
One the whole very nice hotel and would recommend to anyone visiting this area!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NicNic2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your wonderful comment on Trip Advisor on your recent stay with us. We are very much glad to share your compliments of our team and surely this helps us to do better in future.

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again to see the improvements in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Old time splendour with dark woods and much brass in evidence. Rooms smaller than some more modern hotels but comfortable and adequate. Pleasant location with attractive gardens but close to town too. Restaurant staff struggled to cope a bit on first night when hotel was packed. Less hectic with a better meal on the second night.

Ask for a quieter room nearer the gardens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at our colonial hotel, Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya.

We extend our warmest wishes on behalf of the entire team and hope to see you soon during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Property: Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing