We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Wattala, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we had a good time”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

we went on a rainy day.on 15.6.2013, planned to go to horten plains but due to bad weather we coudnt go out so we spend the whole week end in the hotel, very friendly staff, rooms excellent, we were very comfortable,buffet is ok, restaurant staff is friendly and helpful.can recomend to any body

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanudayagammanpila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. Your compliments will be shared among our team and they will be thrilled that they made your stay a pleasant one.

Looking forward to serve again you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    604
    256
    90
    47
See reviews for
331
739
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived here and were totally taken with the hotel. An old English feel. It is 6000 feet above sea level so yes it is a bit chilly at night. But extra blankets and hot water bottles supplied by our housekeeper Chrishantha much appreciated. The staff are all amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was great. We travelled with young children so loads to look at in town which is only a 2 min walk down the hill. Check out Victoria gardens which has a playground and mini train. Also Gregory lake has paddle boats. High tea at St. Andrews was worth it. But decide to have it for a early dinner as we were totally full. Bottom line. Just relax and enjoy. The staff are great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your review of our century old colonial mansion and associates. Your compliments have been passed down to our dedicated team, which will encourage them to maintain the high standard that is Jetwing hospitality.

We do hope you will visit us again to experience our hospitality.

Sincerely,

Upul LKeukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We hadn't intended coming to St. Andrews. We were bound for Ella but there were problems with the trains (a tree over the tracks) so we stopped over at Nuwara Eliya. We first went to the Hill Club but although I was given 3 choices of rooms each was so cold I couldn't bear the idea of staying. So, we hot-footed it to St. Andrews. It's a lovely place from the outside and has huge potential inside with several public rooms available to guests. However, the main door of the hotel was kept permanently open and this didn't help the temperature in the hotel as it was blowing a gale outside and pouring with rain. We adjourned to a small bar for 'checking-in' and also given hot soup - great. A fire was waning in the grate and to prevent it from going out staff came along with some form of spirit (petrol?) - threw it onto the embers and then added wood. This happened again in the main guest lounge throughout the day. Unfortunately, the fire managed to resurrect itself for all of about 20 minutes and then went out again. Have to admit, the staff were very good trying to keep it going but I think the wood must have been quite wet.
There are two types of rooms - old style and modern. We chose the more modern furnishings and enjoyed our room and had a good sleep. However, we were awoken about 6.30am by a man talking very loudly and when I went to investigate I discovered it was the housekeeping manager talking to a staff member who was cleaning a room. Obviously, one up all up at St. Andrews....
The breakfast was pitiful - a buffet which really isn't worth talking about - and warm tea. After a day and night of solid rain there was a bit of a break and we went for a walk around the town. There is really not much to see or do in Nuwara Eliya, it really is a stopping off place between Kandy and Ella and has very little to offer. The hotel itself, obviously named after the other St. Andrew's in Scotland, is a poor copy - particularly on a cold and wintry day in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrabbleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by our housekeeping associates. We will most definitely look into all the areas you have mentioned and discuss with relevant team members.

There are loads of activities that you can experience while staying in Nuwara Eliya such as visiting Horton Plains, cycle tours, tea trails, hiking and many more and we hope the next time you will be able to enjoy all that Nuwara Eliya has to offer.

Wishing you a pleasant day.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staff was unfriendly and cold. Rooms were damp and stinking !!!! Beds were uncomfortable. Grand Hotel close to this one is a better choice. Although a good property but the management has been unable to exploit its potential. Food is average !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhanshu52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Appreciate if you mentioned all your comments while you were here as we would have attended to them and rectified to the best of our ability.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staff was unfriendly and cold. Rooms were damp and stinking !!!! Beds were uncomfortable. Grand Hotel close to this one is a better choice. Although a good property but the management has been unable to exploit its potential. Food is average !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster2534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Appreciate if you mentioned all your comments while you were here as we would have attended to them and rectified to the best of our ability.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a one night stopover in the hill country of Sri Lanka. We were greeted with hot flannels an soup. It was most welcome as it was very cold outside. The room was spacious and after a short delay to fix the electrics, all went well. I enjoyed a game of snooker on the full size table. The restaurant needs a bit of a face lift but the food was good. Buffet style breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwynanne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Appreciate if you mentioned all your comments while you were here as we would have attended to them and rectified to the best of our ability.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent Hotel. Superb food. We had a very special message written in leaves and flowers for Fathers Day. Thanks to Christantha. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. One of our party told the waiter she did not like certain foods. The Chef came and in no time at all presented her with a meal that met with her requirements. That's what real service is all about. This Hotel provides it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your review of Jetwing St. Andrew’s and our associates. We will share your thoughts with our dedicated team and I’m very sure they will be thrilled.

Hope to see you at Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your next visit to Nuwara Eliya.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukabandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
646 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Property: Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing