We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good facilities, not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Old hotel. Carpets seem to be also ancient :) But clean rooms, good customer service.

View is great. Make sure to take a room on the highest (2nd) floor.

Dinner buffer was above average. They had a mongolian food both, serving fresh made to order dishes. The direct flaming of the food was especially cool for kids. Dining area was small though.

Not much in terms of other facilities. No pool, etc.

Room Tip: Take a room on the highest floor if possible to avoid a lot of foot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amadhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. We will share your comments with our team and it surely will help us to serve you better on your next visit. You will be pleased to note that the property is going through an extensive renovation, which includes increasing the size of the dining area as well.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Jetwing St. Andrew's Hotel
Excellent service & very Friendly Staff….
We Arrived to Nuwara Eliya after Very tiring Flight from Dubai around 09:00hrs... We did not expect rooms to be ready at the time of arrival. If I’m not mistaken we had to stay only 15 min, & we didn’t even feel the tiredness after having the welcome drink till waiting time … (WOW Spicy nice soup…)
Exciting part was upgrading … Nice cozy, warm room can’t expect more…. Thank you Mr. Leukebandara
We wear only stayed for one day but it was very welcoming stay... during turn down service the hot water packs & flowers on the bed had an extra touch……Not to forget all the reception staff (Darshana I suppose chiefly), concierge Staff including Service Attendants, from Housekeeping Anthony & from Room Service I think Suranga(I’m not sure the Name who delivered food )and Breakfast Area All the Staff was exceptional. Especially the room service Suranga & Anthony was gone an extra mile to satisfy us…
Once again thank you all of you & more than ever Rishad From jetwings for making our stay memorable – I’m Very sorry I’m so bad with names :-)

Room Tip: Deluxe Room Was Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sathya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the lovely detailed review posted on Trip Advisor on your stay with us. We will share your thoughts with our entire team. It means a great deal to us and your kind expressions will encourage our entire team to serve all our valued guests better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were unable to stay here due to having a child in a wheelchair (there are three flights of stairs into the building) but came for an evening meal. Staff helped carry the wheelchair (with child!) up all the stairs and down again at the end of the evening. We loved the ambiance, much smaller and more personal than the Grand where we stayed. Most importantly, the meal was one of the best we've had here. The setting, a wood panelled hall, is very impressive but not at all stuffy. The staff couldn't have done more for us and the food (we ate Sri Lankan) was superb. Would highly recommend this place and just wish we could have stayed there.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such an encouraging review on Trip Advisor. We are truly glad that you enjoyed dinner at our charming colonial hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that Jetwing St. Andrew’s will be going into major renovations in the coming months. We will be planning and implementing easy accessibility for our differently abled guests as well.

Hope to welcome you back to Jetwing St. Andrew's once the refurbishment is complete.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely English style hotel in the middle of tea and market garden country. Rooms very spacious and comfortable with modern bathroom. Bar and restaurant facilities excellent and enjoyed afternoon tea in the garden. Full size billiard table, old photographs all add to the charm. Very interesting local fish and vegetable market. We loved staying here for the hotel and the beautiful town.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was wonderful to read your comments. Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. The colonial charm of the property is part and parcel of the Jetwing St. Andrew's experience and we are glad that you enjoyed it.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed here on 13th March 2013 and what a beautiful colonial hotel. on arrival asked at reception of mode of dinner and we were informed it was buffet so no problems for the two veggies in our party. Arrived for dinner and were told due to lack of guests the dinner now will be set menu with only one veg option and we were furious and with difficulty finished our dinner. We had asked for the manager but did not meet him until after dinner and when we explained to him that they were informed in advance of our two veggies he checked and apologised. After that meeting the manager did go out of the way to make sure everything was to our liking and it certainly was. Full marks to the manager for making our stay wonderful. The rooms are clean and functional but the surroundings are wonderful and probably the best hotel from what we saw in the area. So a special thanks to the manager.

Room Tip: Sory did not check other rooms but the 2 rooms we had were quite good on the same level as the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We apologize for any inconvenience cause during your dinner but we are happy that everything was to your liking from that point on.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Part of our Sri Lanka adventure tour, the cool climate here made a welcome break after the tropical heat. The hotel is clean, well presented and full of history and charm but above all the welcoming and friendly staff added that little extra to our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thankful to you, for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your adventure tour to Nuwara Eliya. Your comments will be sent to all relevant associates as we believe this to be very important in further improvement.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We my husband ,Frank and myself,spent one night in this hotels best suite,it was sheer bliss. The suite was large,even had an upstairs bedroom,the furnishings and decor were in the old Colonial style.Large ornate wooden boxes were placed either side of the huge canopied 4-poster bed ,as it was so high!dressing gowns and slippers were provided for our use,and the his and hers washhand basins were equipped with elegant toiletries,as was the large corner bath and the double shower cubicle.We had tea making facilities.a bowl of fresh fruit,lounge furniture and use of large tv,a desk and stationery.After a lovely buffet style dinner we returned to our suite to find hot water bottles had been placed in our bed as nights are cold in hill country a fire was also provided Marvellous hospitality

Room Tip: location and grounds are important for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept a very big thank you for posting such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are grateful to your kind words and compliments and they will be shared with the team. Your comments on the ambience, rooms and services were greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you soon, until then best wishes from all of us at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
893 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
330 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $153 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing