We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good customer focused servise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed a night at this wonderful hotel.everything was perfect and the rooms and public areas were cleaned at all the times.Restaurant staff was friendly.I recommend this hotel as good place to spend your vacation.Specially front office staff and housekeeping staff were very helpful.These staff are willing to help at anytime when ever we need assistance.It was a memorable stay for me and my wife.

Room Tip: 214 or rooms from the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunil121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya. Your comments will be sent to all relevant associates as we believe this will definitely boost their morale and to serve you better next time. Your recommendation on Trip Advisor is most appreciated.

We do hope to host you at Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We only got to stay here for 1 night but it really was a wonderful hotel.

Our room was incredible, we were in one of the suites which had an upstairs to it. The stairs were very steep and not suitable for anyone with knee problems. The room was very clean and the bathroom was huge with a seperate washroom with his and hers sinks.

The staff were so very friendly, ask for George Anthony, one of the housekeeping staff, to show you his dance moves!

I really wish we could have stayed longer in this beautiful old hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and the lovely review on Trip Advisor about your experiences at our charming colonial hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I would also like to thank you for your praise of our associates who looked after you whilst staying with us. I will certainly ensure that your compliments are passed on to them. I look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the future for a longer stay.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A stately hotel with big trees and manicured lawns and hedges, like a little oasis in the town of Nuwara Eliya. It is an older building with dark wood panelling, but well maintained. We found the hotel staff very friendly and attentive to our needs. We loved the dining room for its atmosphere and the delicious meals they serve, sometimes buffet and sometimes from a menu. We were there for two nights, on a birding excursion with Red Dot Tours. As the price of these accommodations was included in an overall tour package, it is hard to comment on value. Overall, our accommodations with Red Dot were of excellent quality for a very reasonably priced tour. We didn't see many birds on the St. Andrews property but did see several birds of interest to us in Victoria Park right in the town of Nuwara Eliya. The hotel prepared some take along breakfasts for us when we had a very early departure for birding in Hortons Plains.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowgeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review and recommending Jetwing St. Andrew’s on Trip Advisor. I will ensure that your compliments are passed to the chef for the amazing food you had during your stay.

We are pleased to inform you that we have designed a wetland to attract birds, butterflies and dragonflies. To date over 25 species of birds, 12 species of butterflies and 4 species of dragonflies have been observed.

We look forward to organize a nature trail with our resident naturalist on your next visit to Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Even though this is bit pricey, I selected this hotel for my honeymoon mainly because i wanted to avoid even a single little disappointment. The room was spacious and clean. Food was OK (nothing memorable) and the restaurant staff was friendly. (yes. they were really really friendly). I arrived the hotel around 8.00pm and no one was there at the entrance. One person came with sleepy eyes and rudely asked me to park the car under a tree. He refused to provide me a proper parking slot even i politely requested. Front desk took more than half an hour to fill out forms and serve me the welcome drink. then i got a vegetable soup which is the worst one i had in my life (sorry).

Sleep quality,cleanliness and rooms can be rated as very good. but there are lots of improvements to be done. this is not to rate you as "poor". but to give you an opportunity to improve the service quality. Of course you should improve.!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your genuine thoughts on Trip Advisor. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Your comments are well noted and will be put to positive and constructive development. We believe your opinion to be of the utmost importance in strengthening our services and hospitality.

Once again thanking you for sharing your thoughts with us and hoping to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A charming hotel, in a an eclectic and surreal town. Wonderfully attentive service, good hotel buffet and a sweet room. Overlooking the front is best, where a beautiful garden allows outdoor drinks and high tea. Visit the town, stroll around the lake and visit Horton planes. Beware though that journey time from Colombo to here is extended at the moment - huge redevelopment of the roads meant a 9 hour bus ride from the capital on the maddest highway ever.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobojek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your genuine comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. With regards to the 9 hour travel, we always advised our clients to use the Kandy Road and to avoid Hatton-Colombo road that causes long delays due to ongoing repair work. It is also important to inform you that we now have an Air Taxi service recently introduced in Nuwara Eliya and travel time will only be half an hour.

Hoping to serve you soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at st Andrews for 2 nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka and thought the hotel building and setting were very appealing abd full of atmosphere. The log fires in the living room and bar were lovely. The hotel is well placed for going to Horton's Plain and walking to World's End, which involves a 5.30am start to get the best light. At our request the kitchen prepared a packed breakfast which was delicious. We ate out one night, walking to the restaurant and getting a tuk-tuk home; the second night we ate at the hotel in the a la carte restaurant and the service was incredibly slow - but the food, when it eventually arrived was good. Breakfast was a subdued affair in the gloomy restaurant, good choice of pleasant food. We loved the gardens although the chairs are almost impossibly uncomfortable! But the flowers, plants and birds make it a very pleasant place to while away an hour or two. We had booked a double room: tiwn beds seem to be standard in all rooms apart from the suites and we were upgraded to a suite when we pointed out we had specifically requested a double room.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed - specify this clearly as twin beds seem to be the norm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwdebbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review and we are happy to know that you enjoyed most of your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the dinner due to slow service. I will try to rectify the issue by taking it up with the F&B team. We will be attending to all the areas you mentioned with the upcoming refurbishment program which will increase the service standard and facilities to revitalize the property and bring it to greater heights.

Wishing you very pleasant day from all at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I, chose to stay at this Hotel since we had heard of its unique look and feel of a colonial residence as it used to be an old country house. Since this happened to be my first trip to the beautiful city of Nuwaraeliya, I wanted to have the full "Nuwaraeliya Experience" and I must say I couldn't have picked a better place to stay than the St Andrews Hotel. It truly was a heartwarming experience. To start with, we were warmly greeted with a hot cup of soup which I must say is a very unique touch and quite suitable given the nice cold weather.. and we were escorted to our suite room through a passage which we were told was laid some 125 odd years ago..I believe details such as that really takes you back in time and also makes what this hotel is all about- restoring an old country house whilst maintaining its former glory. The suite room was very spacious and had a very cosy feeling to it, with a beautiful view of the garden. We felt like we were on our second honeymoon to see the bed nicely decorated with flowers to welcome us. The staff was very friendly and also the room service was very efficient. Hot water was never an issue which was one of our concerns reading some reviews. We really enjoyed a nice cup of tea in the evening, at the garden restaurant. The dinner buffet was extremely satisfying along with the wide variety of desserts available..(me being a sweet-tooth, it was such a delight :) ) Another nice addition was the warm hot water bottles that were kept under our sheets in the night.. which we noticed only when we came to bed :) So if you are a couple wanting to get away from the city and enjoy peace and quiet surrounded by the misty mountains and also be a part of history, this hotel is the place to be. I would also like to thank the Manger and the staff for making us feel welcome and for providing us with a very homely service. I would recommend this hotel to anybody and would love to go back soon..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isurini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor, regarding your first ever visit to the beautiful City of Lights, Nuwara Eliya. I was happy that overall you had an enjoyable stay and also like to thank you for your praise of my team who looked after you whilst staying with us. I will definitely ensure that your compliments are passed on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
896 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
333 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $153 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing