We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Comfortable”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A stately hotel with big trees and manicured lawns and hedges, like a little oasis in the town of Nuwara Eliya. It is an older building with dark wood panelling, but well maintained. We found the hotel staff very friendly and attentive to our needs. We loved the dining room for its atmosphere and the delicious meals they serve, sometimes buffet and sometimes from a menu. We were there for two nights, on a birding excursion with Red Dot Tours. As the price of these accommodations was included in an overall tour package, it is hard to comment on value. Overall, our accommodations with Red Dot were of excellent quality for a very reasonably priced tour. We didn't see many birds on the St. Andrews property but did see several birds of interest to us in Victoria Park right in the town of Nuwara Eliya. The hotel prepared some take along breakfasts for us when we had a very early departure for birding in Hortons Plains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review and recommending Jetwing St. Andrew’s on Trip Advisor. I will ensure that your compliments are passed to the chef for the amazing food you had during your stay.

We are pleased to inform you that we have designed a wetland to attract birds, butterflies and dragonflies. To date over 25 species of birds, 12 species of butterflies and 4 species of dragonflies have been observed.

We look forward to organize a nature trail with our resident naturalist on your next visit to Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    616
    261
    91
    47
See reviews for
347
753
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Even though this is bit pricey, I selected this hotel for my honeymoon mainly because i wanted to avoid even a single little disappointment. The room was spacious and clean. Food was OK (nothing memorable) and the restaurant staff was friendly. (yes. they were really really friendly). I arrived the hotel around 8.00pm and no one was there at the entrance. One person came with sleepy eyes and rudely asked me to park the car under a tree. He refused to provide me a proper parking slot even i politely requested. Front desk took more than half an hour to fill out forms and serve me the welcome drink. then i got a vegetable soup which is the worst one i had in my life (sorry).

Sleep quality,cleanliness and rooms can be rated as very good. but there are lots of improvements to be done. this is not to rate you as "poor". but to give you an opportunity to improve the service quality. Of course you should improve.!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your genuine thoughts on Trip Advisor. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Your comments are well noted and will be put to positive and constructive development. We believe your opinion to be of the utmost importance in strengthening our services and hospitality.

Once again thanking you for sharing your thoughts with us and hoping to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A charming hotel, in a an eclectic and surreal town. Wonderfully attentive service, good hotel buffet and a sweet room. Overlooking the front is best, where a beautiful garden allows outdoor drinks and high tea. Visit the town, stroll around the lake and visit Horton planes. Beware though that journey time from Colombo to here is extended at the moment - huge redevelopment of the roads meant a 9 hour bus ride from the capital on the maddest highway ever.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobojek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your genuine comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. With regards to the 9 hour travel, we always advised our clients to use the Kandy Road and to avoid Hatton-Colombo road that causes long delays due to ongoing repair work. It is also important to inform you that we now have an Air Taxi service recently introduced in Nuwara Eliya and travel time will only be half an hour.

Hoping to serve you soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at st Andrews for 2 nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka and thought the hotel building and setting were very appealing abd full of atmosphere. The log fires in the living room and bar were lovely. The hotel is well placed for going to Horton's Plain and walking to World's End, which involves a 5.30am start to get the best light. At our request the kitchen prepared a packed breakfast which was delicious. We ate out one night, walking to the restaurant and getting a tuk-tuk home; the second night we ate at the hotel in the a la carte restaurant and the service was incredibly slow - but the food, when it eventually arrived was good. Breakfast was a subdued affair in the gloomy restaurant, good choice of pleasant food. We loved the gardens although the chairs are almost impossibly uncomfortable! But the flowers, plants and birds make it a very pleasant place to while away an hour or two. We had booked a double room: tiwn beds seem to be standard in all rooms apart from the suites and we were upgraded to a suite when we pointed out we had specifically requested a double room.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed - specify this clearly as twin beds seem to be the norm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwdebbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review and we are happy to know that you enjoyed most of your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the dinner due to slow service. I will try to rectify the issue by taking it up with the F&B team. We will be attending to all the areas you mentioned with the upcoming refurbishment program which will increase the service standard and facilities to revitalize the property and bring it to greater heights.

Wishing you very pleasant day from all at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I, chose to stay at this Hotel since we had heard of its unique look and feel of a colonial residence as it used to be an old country house. Since this happened to be my first trip to the beautiful city of Nuwaraeliya, I wanted to have the full "Nuwaraeliya Experience" and I must say I couldn't have picked a better place to stay than the St Andrews Hotel. It truly was a heartwarming experience. To start with, we were warmly greeted with a hot cup of soup which I must say is a very unique touch and quite suitable given the nice cold weather.. and we were escorted to our suite room through a passage which we were told was laid some 125 odd years ago..I believe details such as that really takes you back in time and also makes what this hotel is all about- restoring an old country house whilst maintaining its former glory. The suite room was very spacious and had a very cosy feeling to it, with a beautiful view of the garden. We felt like we were on our second honeymoon to see the bed nicely decorated with flowers to welcome us. The staff was very friendly and also the room service was very efficient. Hot water was never an issue which was one of our concerns reading some reviews. We really enjoyed a nice cup of tea in the evening, at the garden restaurant. The dinner buffet was extremely satisfying along with the wide variety of desserts available..(me being a sweet-tooth, it was such a delight :) ) Another nice addition was the warm hot water bottles that were kept under our sheets in the night.. which we noticed only when we came to bed :) So if you are a couple wanting to get away from the city and enjoy peace and quiet surrounded by the misty mountains and also be a part of history, this hotel is the place to be. I would also like to thank the Manger and the staff for making us feel welcome and for providing us with a very homely service. I would recommend this hotel to anybody and would love to go back soon..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isurini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor, regarding your first ever visit to the beautiful City of Lights, Nuwara Eliya. I was happy that overall you had an enjoyable stay and also like to thank you for your praise of my team who looked after you whilst staying with us. I will definitely ensure that your compliments are passed on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Looking at previous reviews, I can only re-iterate their theme. Don't stay here. We booked, and paid for, 2 rooms for 2 nights way back last year, through a reputable travel agency. Shortly before we were due to arrive, we were told that there were no rooms available for us. We, and our travel agent, were very disappointed and upset, and complained at the highest levels. Eventually we were given our rooms for 1 night, but for the other we had to stay at Plains Bungalow (see my review) which was totally unsatisfactory.
For the night we did stay here we were given rooms in the old building. They were clean but shabby and tired - as was the whole hotel. The dining room and bar areas were crammed with tour groups. We had specifically asked our tour agent to book this hotel as we thought it would have an old world charm, but this is sadly lacking. The staff were helpful and pleasant, and my low mark for service reflects the central booking staff, not them.
The hotel manager and floor of house manager were both apologetic and gave us a free bottle of wine. Better still they arranged a tour of the hotel and town gardens for us with Ishan, the hotel's resident naturalist. This was the best thing about our stay. Ishan is young and enthusiastic, and very pleasant. He is a mine of information about the hotel gardens and green 'farm', the town farms and the bird life. He walked us through the town, the golf course and other hotel gardens, all of which we would have otherwise have missed since we were only in Nuwara Eliya for a short time due to being bumped by the hotel. I recommend Ishan, but nothing else about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulkington643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. My sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused with regards to the room reservation which you had made with us.

It was never our intention to change your booking to another hotel. Unfortunately due to a booking system error we found ourselves overbooked which resulted in alternative accommodation being provided with a similar standard. We do realize you had reserved well in advance and that this was a great inconvenience. With regards to the accommodation and dining I would like to add that Jetwing St. Andrew’s is currently going through major renovations which will revitalize the property by housing additional rooms and a much larger dining area.

We are glad that you enjoyed the company of Ishan our Resident Naturalist and we will share your comments with him. Once again apologizing for the inconvenience while you were staying in Nuwara Eliya and hope that you will one day return to the property once the renovations are complete.

Wishing you a pleasant day.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirissa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stopped by for afternoon tea and were given a tour of the hotel by the friendly Manager
who then kindly allowed us to have tea in the dining room, as one of our party wanted something from the a la carte menu whilst the rest of us just wanted Hi tea.The service & the food were excellent throughout our brief visit and they even let us have some extra cake to take away with us.All in all an excellent experience,thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thespicehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Jetwing St. Andrew’s posted on Trip Advisor. Your compliments will be shared among the team.

We would like to invite you to stay with us during your next visit to Nuwara Eliya and we will be more than happy to accommodate you and your loved ones.

Hope to see you soon at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
159 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Property: Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing