We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I arrived at the Hotel after booking and paying in full in August to be informed that there were no rooms available and we were being relocated to a 'better hotel'.

The Manager did not apologise for this and could not see why we were clearly disappointed by the change but moreso by his attitude and a member of staff. There was no reasonable explanation as to how and why this happened and The manager on duty, clearly was not concerned or displayed any Customer Service. Reading previous reviews it seems it is a common practice !!!!

The whole purpose behind staying there was to experience the 'colonial' atmosphere as we were only there 1 night and although service at the other accommodation outshone St Andrews the quality of the accommodation certainly did not meet their qualities.

Not what we expected after booking and paying for this in advance .... an appalling experience and I would not recommend risk making a booking...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jhpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in regards to the room reservation which you had made with us.

It was never our intention to change your booking to another hotel. Unfortunately there was a booking system error and the property was overbooked which resulted in alternative accommodation being provided. We understand that this standard was not to your liking and regret you having to experience it. We do realize you had reserved well in advance and this was a great inconvenience and we tried to mitigate the impact of this by offering you an additional person for both rooms, since you had booked two single rooms.

Once again, we are truly sorry for this experience.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having stayed at some of Sri Lanka's finest Hotels on our Island Tour This Hotel was Disappointing.
Having booked well in advance and arriving in mid afternoon. we were kept waiting in limbo whilst our room was made ready. Eventually we were trailed back in time to a dusty and delapidated history, and expected to be excited by its old Colonial charm.
I'm sure in its time, when as the Country club for the ex-pats, in centuries past, it was wonderful. Now in the present day, its just run down creepy and wierd? Staff lurk around corners waiting to dash to turn down your bed or carry your cases or some other such nonsence, in the obvious hope of a tip, with every meeting. Then there was the Manageress dressed in a beautiful Sari but also wearing a suit jacket? Perhaps to denote she was in charge?
Tea on the lawn was however very pleasant, despite the uncomfortable garden furniture, and Nuwara Elia is well worth a visit whilst spending time in the beautiful tea hills of Sri Lanka.
Dinner in the odd restaurant was silent and lifeless as was breakfast, probably because all the guests except one were drinking water? I thought it odd until I asked for the wine list and found the prices 3 times that of any other hotel in Sri lanka, including their superb sister hotel The Jetwing Lagoon in Negombo.
Food was mediocre, and the service dreadful.
The incompetance continued.
On departure we asked for our bill and paid it readily, grateful to leave and continue our tour.
Then embarassingly our driver was pestered several times by phone, insisting we had more expenses that they had forgotten to add to our bill, they implied we should have checked our bill more thoroughly, the petty sum amounted to approximatly £8 and we were presented with a photocopy of the bill via our poor inconvienced driver who we paid in cash, with a tip, whilst incidently we were staying at the Jetwing Lagoon, which was a super hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith_bidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we appreciate the detailed description by means of constructive comments on our services, facilities and rooms. We truly apologize for any inconvenience faced by you during your stay. The concept of Jetwing St. Andrew’s is firmly grounded in the old British colonial era and it provides a glance into the bygone colonial days. This concept has served us well as it is an attribute that is greatly enjoyed by our guests.

We will most definitely look into all the areas you have mentioned and further discuss the issues with our team members for additional improvement. The property is going into major renovations soon and soft refurbishments are already on-going. Many of the issues you have specified will permanently be taken care of and we hope you visit us once the renovation is complete.

Once again my sincere apologies for the unfortunate embarrassment that you had to face after check out. We understand that such an error is not on your hands and should have been addressed more effectively at the hotel. We will ensure such issues will not persist for the benefit of our future guests. We thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Wishing you a very pleasant day.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed one night as part of our tour between kandt and yala. An old fashioned quaint and quirky hotel where staff were very obliging. There was beautiful grounds to sit out in and relax. Not much else to do at the hotel but we did notice that guided walks were on offer. Dinner was veryu good but breakfast was disappointing. There was no chef cooking eggs etc to order as there was at the other hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka. We stayed in a corner room which was huge and very well equiped

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room adjacent to the services and we were awakened perhaps a little earlier th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments and review on Trip Advisor as it supports us in improving our service standards. However, it must be stated that we do indeed have a chef or multiple chefs, depending on the menu, at appointed action station for eggs, bacon, hoppers etc. I am extremely sorry that in this instant he was not available and will definitely look into why he was absent.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Despite having reserved and paid for two rooms in August 2012 upon our arrival last week we were informed the rooms were not available due to them being overbooked.

The manager was not interested in explaining how this situation had arisen and stated that it quite often happens!

We were offered accommodation in another hotel which was not at all the colonial experience we wanted and nor was it a higher star rating as promised by the St Andrews manager.

All in all a very disappointing experience in an otherwise fabulos trip around Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Ame E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely sorry for and regret the inconvenience caused with regards to the booking at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. It was never our intention to change your booking to another hotel, but an overbooking situation arose and alternative accommodation had to be provided. We understand that this was not what was expected and we are truly sorry that you had to experience it, thus the offering the compensation of an additional person for both rooms, since you had booked two single rooms.

With the renovations now on-going, the property will house more rooms and thus mitigate such situations occurring in the future, once the renovations are complete.

Once again, we apologise for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would have given the hotel 4 but felt very let down by some staff members approach. Location is fantastic and a welcome break after a long drive - great idea to give guests soup on arrival. We did have an issue asking for a childs meal of chicken nuggets with no pepper or spices, the meal arrived 45 mins later and clearly the no pepper had not been listened to along with the fact there was a spicy sausage. We did picked this up with the head waiter and basically told tough and presented with the bill, I again discussed the charge with the check out staff. Similar issues with the bottled water in the rooms, your only allowed 1 free bottle, despite there were 4 occupants.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are incredibly sorry to hear that your stay was marred by certain issues with service. Being part of the Jetwing family we are held to extremely high standards and we are truly sorry that these standards were not maintained during your stay.

We do hope that you will return to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the future to experience the property to its fullest and until then, we wish you and your family all the best.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is beautiful located, the village is nice, the staff kind and the food delicous. We always had buffet for dinner and we enjoyed it very much. They have a new renovated wing and an old one. Of course the renovated rooms are nicer and luckily we got one of these rooms. The hotel has an interesting history and it still has a part of the old entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MundM1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind observations about Jetwing St. Andrew’s. Your thoughts will be shared among the culinary team. I hope your visit to Sri Lanka was enjoyable and filled with sweet memories.

Once again we thank you for sharing your thoughts and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a fabulous location in a nice town: our room was fine, large, with excellent bathroom. Only issue with the room was the Grand Old Duke of York upstairs, whose marching round the room resounded throught the wooden floor, but you get that in old hotels all over the world.
If you do stay, try and avoid peak times in the dining/ breakfast room, as it is too small for the number of guests. 7:30pm dining was not the pleasant experience it might have been.
The big issue is with overbooking: we were travelling in a party of 10, and they tried to bump us into another hotel, which our tour leaders refused (we were on a Jetwings tour). On the second day I arrived back at the hotel to find a man in reception being informed 'Your reservation is wrong, you are booked into hotel x'. I didn't wait to hear the outcome.
An hour later my wife and I were having tea when a couple came in, in high dudgeon, sat down and demanded to speak to the manager. When someone appeared (not sure if it was the manager) the guest produced documentation with his name, the manager's name, date, time, reservation details, proof of payment etc and demanded the room he had reserved. He was informed that the room was not available, and they would be accommodated in a hotel elsewhere in town. The guy demanded a) a refund of their reservation money and b) free accommodation at the alternative hotel. Again we left before the issue was resolved.
When we returned from an afternoon wander around the town, a coach party was checking in: I leave you to draw your own conclusions.
So, a nice place to stay, but beware of double booking. When our leaders enquired about the issues the next morning, they were told 'it was the fault of head office in Colombo'. Hmmm.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the colonial atmosphere of our hotel in the hills. We will most definitely look into the areas you have mentioned and further discuss this with relevant team members for further improvement. Furthermore you will be pleased to note that we have already designed an extension to the main restaurant that will be under construction soon.

We are incredibly sorry for the inconvenience you faced due to the hotel being overbooked, not only were you part of the issue but had to witness other guests facing the same problem. We do understand that such issues are not warranted when on vacation, however we assure you this is not an everyday occurrence. We are looking into streamlining and rectifying the system to ensure such inconveniences will be avoided in the future.

Again, we apologize and hope you will come back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s once the renovations are complete.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
893 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
330 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $153 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing