We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Nahariya
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel looks nice from outside but when you come in you see the carpets in the lobby are with spots.
The bedroom was not renovated for years and the room looked shabby.
The Bathroom was in a poor condition.The light near the bed was not working well.The room looked like a room in a very good guesthouse not like a room in a 4 star hotel.
We had a buffet dinner with a lot of food but it was not very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlyNahariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really disappointed to know that your stay with us was not enjoyable as expected. We would like to bring to your attention that most of your comments have been addressed.
We try our best to make all our guests feel comfortable by maintaining high standards, unfortunately we have fallen short in doing so, and for this I truly do apologize. You will be pleased to note that the property is undergoing renovations and will surely be restored to glory.

We do hope to see you once the renovations are complete to serve you better.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    616
    261
    91
    47
See reviews for
347
753
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Beautifully presented hotel with lots of charm. The rooms were exquisite and the restaurant offered many choices both buffet and a la carte. The prices werent cheap but the quality was worth it. Beware that the bar is shut on full moon holidays but we were able to order room service and drinks in the restaurant. A great home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maitai2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your encouraging comment on Trip Advisor of your stay with us and it means lot to our team. We will share your kind words with our team. Sri Lanka being a Buddhist country, all bars are closed to honor full moon Poya day, this is the case across the island.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel building is quite old..something which the hotel takes pride in.,from colonial era. So aisles and interior is not modernly aesthetic..but the hotel has a very serene environment. Staff are very understanding and polite. We had a slight problem with our room as was its too small for our family; they swapped it with a deluxe.

Food was delicious, they even offered us to have our breakfast in our room, room service was good. Overall worth staying for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfzalMinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to hear that your recent stay at our colonial manor was pleasant and happy. We will pass your comment to our chef and his team as well as our associates and surely they will be delighted.

Once again thank you for your lovely comment and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had fairly high hopes for this hotel, but they were not realised. I had read that the place was "colonial"and "full of rustic charm", I should have interpreted these descriptions as "pretty depressing" and "very gloomy". It's all just a little Fawlty Towers meets Old People's Home. The hallways and bedrooms were state of the ark, and the shower room was in a very poor state. One nice touch was the turn-down service where they put a hot water bottle in your bed - much needed as it gets pretty chilly in the hill country.

The food at dinner was OK, but the service in the restaurant was terrible - so disorganised it was as if they'd never done it before. Even breakfast was a shambles. The bar was quite strange, but reasonably comfortable, however, the barmen didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing.

There was also some pretty horrendous "entertainment" one evening - I think someone was singing but it might have been someone being tortured - really this guy could not sing - at all. Unfortunately we were on the ground floor adjacent to the lounge area where this "music" was being played, so we couldn't escape from it and it went on for a long, long time.

We did have a very pleasant afternoon tea one day on the terrace whilst taking shelter from a thunder storm, so that was OK.

The gardens are well maintained but the general feel of the place is that it needs a lot of TLC and investment in order to keep the 1920's colonial feel and still bring it up to 21st century standards. Staff training however, should be relatively simple and cheap to implement!

All that said however, it's a great location from which to explore the tea plantations and factories and nearby Horton Plains. The scenery in this part of Sri Lanka is stunning.

I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Somewhere away from the lounge/front of hotel, just in case they provide "entertainment"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. Jetwing St. Andrew’s is a colonial property that dates as far back as the 18th century. We apologize for any inconvenience faced by you during your stay and we hope to rectify the issues mentioned. Since your stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, the hotel has gone into room renovations thus the rooms are undergoing an upgrade.

We generally have very encouraging observations regarding selection, variety and quality of our breakfast. We apologize if we did not maintain our usually very high standards and also for the restaurant service that was not up to your standards. We are greatly apologetic that entertainment was not to your liking; still we are receiving excellent reviews for our entertainers. We understand that you want the best and if you would like to provide a constructive analysis on these matters, please email me at leuke@jetwinghotels.com

We earnestly hope you visit us again once the refurbishment is in order.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great building and very comfortable room, nice place to sit for a drink by the fire at happy hour.

3 stars because the dinner wasn't the best, and nor was the value. Still, a comfortable place to stay and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. Our century old fire places at Road Hole bar and lounge are very popular among the guests. We would be really appreciative if you could be more specific regarding the dinner which will help us to improve in future. Please email me at leuke@jetwinghotels.com.

Wishing you a pleasant day from all at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A 1920's hotel which takes you back to colonial days, but its ethos is not stuck in a time warp.
Hikes, nature walks and daily bird and frog spotting is available, the latter in the surrounding area which has been planted to encourage local wildlife.
I went on an evening frog walk with Ishan, the resident naturalist, who is extremely knowledable. We found 6 endemic species in and around the nearby ponds.
Jetwing also offers carbon offsetting treeplanting at 10 dollars a tree and involves local schoolchildren in the project.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to state that we are the hotel that started nature related activities with our resident naturalist in the Nuwara Eliya area. As per your comments, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed and now knowledgeable on frogs, after embarking on the excursion with our naturalist. Also we are proud to say that Jetwing have planted over 3,500 trees under Jetwing Eternal Earth Programme and will continue to plant trees as we believe it is a cause that everyone should support.

Once again we thank you for your patronage and we would be pleased to welcome you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This beautiful old hotel, set in the tea plantations, was once a summer retreat for the British. It is a large complex with beautifully manicured gardens. The cool climate comes as a shock after the heat of the lowlands. On arrival we were given a hot towel followed by a small cup of tasty soup. This time our room had a heater and blankets. We had tea and coffee making facilities but no bar fridge to chill our water. Our room was light and bright; however the halls and dining areas still retain the original dark wood panelling giving the hotel its unique, old world atmosphere. There is a billiard room, and internet facilities, and a jewellery/souvenir shop for the guests.
Dinner in the stately dining room was an international buffet with an amazing variety of food including a delicious creamy tomato soup. The buffet breakfast was also good. Unfortunately the table cloths had not been changed for some time and were dirty.
In spite of the hard bed and the dirty table cloths this is still a lovely hotel with very attentive staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_2hardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm wishes from Jetwing St. Andrew’s. I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to make a genuine comment on Trip Advisor. This helps us to improve our team work and dedication. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused and would like to state that we have planned to replace mattresses and table cloths with the upcoming refurbishment program.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the near future, once the refurbishment is complete.

Have a great day.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
828 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Property: Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing