We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A princess for a night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A princess for a night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I really liked this hotel! Especially the lobby, the restaurant and the terrace of the hotel had that colonial feeling! Majestic! A fresh clean feeling! And to make it even better downstairs is a public bar! That was a nice experience drinking the first draft beer of 2 weeks with the friendly locals. I think this hotel and Nuwara Eliya were the highlights of my trip to Sri Lanka. Worth a stop over

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inmatxitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    66
    30
    17
See reviews for
38
63
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just stayed here for the night. It was a good hotel.Rooms were comfortable.Food was good for us vegans.We had to leave early next morning due to a visit to Kathirgamam which we added into our itinerary & when we requested the reception for some packed breakfast, they had given us a good two packs of sandwiches & fruits at 6am.Nice place & town.Great climate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRPChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Peregrine tour. Rooms were comfortable if a bit tired looking. Bathroom was adequate. Had to order our meals 2 hours in advance and it seemed as if there was only one staff member trying to do everything - reception, bar and restaurant!! He had to unlock the bar for us to go and get a drink and then would rush off to another area of the hotel. Meal was fine when we got it but all got served separately. Did not feel welcoming but fine for a one night stay.
Location was central to the town so rooms overlooking the road might be noisy. Felt dated and tired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here as part of an 'Exodus' tour of Sri Lanka. Turning up at the hotel it looked pretty grim from the outside, however, the rooms were fine, albeit a little shabby. We had a room that looked on to the side and overlooked a small building site - not sure if the rooms at the front may have had noise from the road. It's a central location. Suspect that there are better hotels in the town than this - but don't rule it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Need to stay in this hotel could be only because of the location otherwise the hotel is not that good. The room given to us was not that good..bed spread, bedsheets and cushions looked dirty ..When we asked for the new one even that looked the same. Bathroom was clean but not maintained, it had all chipped tiles. Restaurant was quite good. But overall, there is nothing great about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyer_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

excellent location and very nice town view. walking distance to all the places in town. average parking area and there is a security guard in the car park so you can freely park your car for days. inside the hotel is very nice interior and the foods are average.

if you take a city view room there is minor noise from outside so i suggest you to get a room from hill side view.

if talk about prices it is very resalable and ppl at the help-desk/reception is so nice and helpful.

Room Tip: if you take a city view room there is minor noise from outside so i suggest you to get a room from h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalitha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent hotel. Bang in the middle of town - close to the main market, local bus depot. They have an excellent dining room. Free WiFi internet access is available only in the lobby and dining room area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
24.2 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#31 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 2 Kandy Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing