We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nuwara Eliya
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,059)
Filter reviews
3,059 results
Traveler rating
1,319
1,034
455
162
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,319
1,034
455
162
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea thai restaurant magnolia restaurant sri lanka tea room old world charm grand indian snooker room golf course public rooms main restaurant lobby area colonial style colonial times wi fi dinner buffet beautiful garden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 3,059 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is what we had booked for our 2 day stay based on the highly reccommeded reviews online and Blog Articles from fellow travellers .

With an open mind we decided to judge after our stay .
On day 1 With a drop in temperature we could see most of the late check in guests huddled in the parlour sipping on their welcom drink same as us . There was something very homely about the parlour room . A walk is highly recommended in the Garden within the hotel premesis .
The guest coordinator in charge upgraded us to a family suite of 2 bed room instead of providing two separate suite rooms , which turned out to be even better . The view happened to be the front part of the hotel where you could see the guests walking in and also the wide garden which boasts of the Gigantic Bull Bay tree with Huge white flowers .
Next day was pongal and every guest was welcomed with the hosts claid in traditional ethnic attire , The women in Beautiful sarees with sweet smelling flowers in their hair and vermillion on their forehead where as the men in a cotton Half sleeve shirt and a lungi .
No complains about the breakfast . Every dish off the counter both multicuisine and the local cusine was excellent .
The courteous waiters make frequent rounds asking "tea sir / tea madam" thus keeping you well caffinated for your day :)
As for places to visit close by you can definitely go for the speed boat ride , shop for fresh fruits at a nearby fruit vendor hub and also pay a short visit to the age old post office .
We lunched at a Thai restaurant (again within the hotel premesis)
Authentic food . Must try the sticky rice and mango dessert . As for the main course most of the items are uniquely flavoured so your are bound to enjoy (I suggest you Lunch / dine atleast once here )

the spa section is decent (I would'nt say exceptional )any how the masseuse here are well experienced .
The indoor pool is the highlight of this place. Soak in and relax while listening to live classical music played on the intrument flute and sitar .

Again based on the online reviews we orderd indian food from the near by retaurant (which I believe belongs to the hotel ) called the The Grand - coffee bar .
Bad experience :( the biryani was half cooked with semi boiled rice and the roti was too rubbery , Butter chicken was okay to eat . Make sure you dine within the hotel or at a different place .

OVERALL love everything about this place . The aged furniture to the service and hospitality provided by the hotel staff . A warm and charming place at the right location .
NOTE: They provide accomodation for your driver / staff /help .

I have attached few pictures of the hotel premesis and also the room.

Room tip: Every room and service is good here .
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Divzin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refhan R, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya on TripAdvisor.

It is truly encouraging for me and my team to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel, and let us know of your plans to visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Refhan Razeen
General Manager
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are interested in plants then ask for Senila in the tourist office. He was excellent and really made our excursion worthwhile.
The rooms are exactly the right temperature. The beds/duvets are perfect. The room has an electric fire to add extra warmth if necessary and lovely large blankets, so you can lie on top of the luxurious soft bed with a lovely soft blanket on top.
The choice of food and extensive buffets were just overwhelming in their creativity and range. The wine was a very reasonable price, cheaper than even the 'best' hotels in Kandy. The Thai restaurant is also excellent, but get there early as it is in great demand. Appropriate clothing should be worn or a sarong to cover legs or shoulders will be given out.
There is a small restaurant at the begining of the entrance to the hotel which is perfect for lunch, but again in great demand.
We will definitely book up again for next year

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refhan R, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya.

We are glad to hear that our staff and services met your needs and expectations.

The Grand Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely
Refhan Razeen
General Manager
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was great and the service staff was excellent at The Magnolia restaurant. Loved every bit of it. Kalairaja was very attentive and Anupama was very helpful in showing around. Will definitely recommend this place. Five stars!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Thanuja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refhan R, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya on TripAdvisor.

It is truly encouraging for me and my team to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel, and let us know of your plans to visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Refhan Razeen
General Manager
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stately hotel with lots of charm. Lovely pool, fantastic rooms, unbelievable breakfast - you could eat here for a month and not have the same dish twice. A number of restaurants to choose for dinner - reasonably priced and excellent food.Enjoyable high tea for a bit of fun. Stunning gardens and well located. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refhan R, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya.

We are glad to hear that our staff and services met your needs and expectations.

The Grand Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely
Refhan Razeen
General Manager
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about Grand was grand.
From the way the walking entrance is designed, to the seamless checkin process.
The staff and service - I was travelling with two toddlers and was worried about how to manage thier meals, but i requested for khicdi as we checked in, and it was there the moment we enetered our room, which was super quick.
Food and breakfast buffet - all simply amazing, and thier cocunut jaggery hopper - must try
High tea - again a must try expereince
location - central , so it was super wasy to travel with the kids
there is a feeling of warmth and hospitality in the hotel, which definitely makes the stay here memorable.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refhan R, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at The Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya.

We are glad to hear that our staff and services met your needs and expectations.

The Grand Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely
Refhan Razeen
General Manager
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews