We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Grand !!”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Grand !!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

As soon as you enter the driveway, this hotel takes your breath away. Excellent gardens all around the hotel , antique furniture, chandelier's and a Kir Royal to finish off the day. We only stayed one night and really needed two nights to take in the colonel buildings in the area. We joined the locals as they celebrated their New Year. Their New Year being the 14th April !! and where made very welcome. The best meals in all of Sri Lanka. The rooms are small and old but clean and within keeping with the appearance of the hotel. They take British plugs and European plugs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    770
    379
    142
    80
See reviews for
536
901
68
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here, as a return visit after having stayed last year for 2 nights as well.
The hotel is large with a couple of sitting rooms, and several restaurants. We ate at the Marigold restaurant the first night for a lighter meal, where they have an open kitchen. The food was nice although he room was a bit noisy. The second night we ate in the newly opened Thai restaurant, which was lovely. There isn't really anywhere to eat in the town. The breakfast buffet is excellent, although the dining room is huge. High Tea in the afternoon is good value.
The bedrooms are a little smallish but adequate, and the bathrooms are tiny, but do the job.
The flowers and grounds are really beautifully maintained with lots of photo opportunities. Although the hotel is not original vintage, it feels that way, and provides a pleasant overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peking303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

One of the best hotels that I have spend my holidays. Rooms and walkways reminds you of the English era in Sri Lanka. The Management was very helpful and attended all mu inquiries in timely manner, Rooms are quite small however its worth for amount you are paying.

Staff was friendly and food was the difference for us in comparison to the others. Its was quite busy during the April season. Location wise, its a walking distance to most of the attractions in Nuwara Eliya. Indian restaurant is quite expensive when it compare to food offered in Colombo. Car parking is a concern for us and we decided to hire tuktuk for our requirements.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards to main road are the best to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. To be able saitsfy discerning guests such as your self is extremely satisfying. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night in the lovely old stately hotel. We had a spacious room, 333, which was a corner room, with lovely bay windows overlooking the gardens. The bathroom is not modern, but clean and functional, and no complaints about the shower. I guess the outstanding element is the fantastic gardens, I think the best I have ever seen, an abundance of flowers, lovely places to sit and relax. The lobbies are stately and comfortable, and we thoroughly enjoyed the buffet dinner, a huge selection, great service- without being stuffy and good value. The night we were there there was a 6 piece band which were terrific, they played a good variety of music, and lot of people were up dancing. The breakfast buffet was also good, there was a large egg station, including eggs benedict, which I haven't seen before. I would recommend this for the ambiance and something different from the run of the mill hotels.

Room Tip: We enjoyed 333 a corner room, maybe a bit bigger and lighter than some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing,West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a great time here and note your comments about a possibility of a pool.There isn't really a great deal to do in Nuwara Eliya and so a pool would be a great addition-even though everyone here thinks the weather is cold-during the daytime its summer for us Europeans!!
We stayed for two nights , went to Horton Plains and had a look round the park and town and then went to look at the Heritance Tea Factory Hotel (A hotel converted from a tea factory).

We had high tea at the grand which was great, but wasn't advertised anywhere so you could easily miss it if you weren't around the area between 3.30 and 5.30.
The next night we went to the curry house at 6.30 when it opened (as recomended by the barman) and by 7pm it was full so glad we went early.
All the food was good.

As people have already mentioned it is old England ,when sitting in the lounge you could be at the Grand in Eastbourne, very amusing, but very stylish!
The piano player in the lobby area was brilliant!!!!!!!!!
The rooms were a bit dated -true -and we couldn't get the kettle plugged in or mosi repellent provided as they didn't fit in sockets.
One comment we did mention to management was to turn the outside ground spotlights off at
night time.We overlooked the Rose garden and the lights just lit up the room, my husband had to sleep with the eye mask he had from the plane ,not the best nights sleep.
Other than that had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyEdwards13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I booked the Grand Hotel since it is historic site. The rate in Agoda for the deluxe room was around 190 US$ per night and it was mentioned that there will be a spacious room of 40 square meters, with modern bath room, nice garden view and also balcony.

When you see the hotel from outside and in the lobby, it is indeed a small jewel. I recommend only to visit the hotel and maybe have a drink but not more, for following reasons:

The room (number 339) was not all spacious and was rather little (approx. 16 m2), the bath was very small and old (but not nicely old), there was no balcony and the view was just okay. The room was also not furnitured in a nice old way, rather in a simple manner. It does not earn more than a average 3 star rating. I complained at the reception and they told me that all the rooms are the same. They showed me some other rooms, but they were not better. One at least had a newer bath, but it was also very and even darker room giving sight into a small patio. Management of Grand Hotel told me that it is Agoda's mistake, since they were responsible for the description and all the rooms look like 339.

When I was checkin to the hotel, i had an other surprise. By error, I booked a room for one person instead of two persons. The hotel wanted to have the add up from my rate paid with Agoda to their rack rate for two persons (this was US$ 50 per night more, although the difference in the hotel between single use and shared use is only US$ 20). I also thought that this is a rather inacceptable manner of hotel management.

Don't go to the Thai restaurant in the hotel. Although it is a nicely decorated restaurant, the service and the food was very poor (sloppy and unreliable). I had also a big surprise that one orange wodka cost about 17 US$ what is extremely high for Sri Lanka. Ask the drink prices in the hotel before you order!!!

In the main restaurant, there is in the evening a buffet in the larger restaurant room. I would have liked it, but loud pop music from a pop band was played. I am not sure whether this fits well with a good hotel.

The hotel also declared that they have a SPA. But it was just a small sauna in the corridor. The fitness room was small and ugly, but sufficient to make some weight exercises.

The only positive thing of the hotel was the breakfast which was quite varying and also inlcuded sri lankan dishes. Although it was nicely sunny and therefore warm, you can unfortunately not sit outside in the garden for breakfast.

I complained with Agoda and at least they refunded me 20 % of the price paid by them. They were mentioning that Grand Hotel was not supporting this refund. This also demonstrates that this hotel is poorly managed and any sense of customer relationship is lacking. Agoda was supporting my complaint in a positive manner.

I am extremley surprised that the Grand Hotel is rated so highly in this place. I felt fully cheated. I can in no way explain why this hotel comes to a high tripadvisor rating! I will partly correct this with my terrible rating. For the price paid for this, it cannot be more than a terrible rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElmarBacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest, We are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. And although this is a rare adverse review, please be assured of our attention to the points mentioned by you. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, at some time in the future, and do hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri Lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What anybody who frequently visits The Grand, would see is the unique colorful garden & the unchanged authentic front look of the hotel, over decades. Grand style warm & friendly hospitality is the same & admirable.
Front lobbies & lounges are still the same English with plenty of majestic wooden craftsmanship & cozy comfort.
Reception is also warm but little lethargic, perhaps due to the large turn over during the April season.
Unlike the gorgeous entry way & the lobbies, interior corridors & definitely rooms lack glamour & specialties available in smaller grade hotels. Governor's wing (old wing) rooms are apparently larger with very old doors & windows with no proper interior arrangement suited for a Grand hotel. Furniture do not have any class or do not match each other, & may disappoint any concerned guest.

Even though the hotel keeps the bygone era values, it could well have equipped the rooms with LED TVs and all.

If not for the space, new wing could be a better option.

As usual, the restaurant is the greatest in the hotel with wider array of starters, meats, pastas and deserts & most of the dishes have the authentic taste whether it is eastern or western. But it was much larger & greater a decade ago. Any way, anybody could be satisfied with something in the menu.

The staff from front lobby, the reception to the restaurant are really friendly and helpful, & the best are in the restaurant.

Best thing about the hotel is the well manicured, maintained garden, Don't forget to go around the hotel otherwise one could be deceived only by the front yard.

Room Tip: Over the window scene is better in the new wing room. Must try the Grand Thai restaurant, which tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SISIRA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, at the same time note your comments about the need for our rooms to be improved. . In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing