We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of old time granduer”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit of old time granduer”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Grand is a colonial era/style hotel which has been renovated and extended. Some reviews have reported that it is a bit tired, but we found the part we were in to be clean, well maintained, but old-fashioned (on purpose – traditional furnishings, lots of wood panelling etc.). We arrived late and there was a lovely log fire in the main hall (Nuwara Eliya is high up so gets chilly in the evenings and early mornings). Most of the people who stay here seem to be on organised tours (as we were), so it can be very busy. The night we stayed, the hotel was completely full, and by the time we arrived the buffet restaurant was full, so we had dinner in the coffee shop – which was small, cosy and served good ‘snack’ food (pasta, burgers, omelette etc.) and actually suited us better anyway. Most trips in Sri Lanka only spend one night in Nuwara Eliya, but make sure you get to the hotel early enough to explore the gardens as these looked lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishtripfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and we are happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    769
    375
    141
    80
See reviews for
535
895
67
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We chose the Grand Hotel for our two days stay in Nuwara Eliya, lured by its colonial style. Actually the exterior, the garden, and the lobby did give us colonial feeling.

But except for these, nothing more.

Room: small, poor sound insulation and do need a renovation (old fashioned furniture don't have to be very old...)

Service:
- the female operator is cold.
- Sb. took our luggage, but did not know our room number, I got my luggage until I called them. - Called for a blanket, but I did not get it until I called again half an hour later.
- When check-in, I told the guy that I need the breakfast packaged, fortunately I called them again in the evening, as apparently my first request had not been taken.

If you want to feel the colonial style, take a 10 minutes visit of the hotel is enough.

In short, it's not worth the price. After Nuwara Eliya, I stayed one night in Bandarawela Hotel which is smaller, simpler and much cheaper, but personally I think that would be a better place for you to feel the colonial style instead of the crowed Grande Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tianyi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest, We are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. We have noted the areas pointed out by you and have implemented corrective action.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, at some time in the future, and do hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A large hotel with over 150 rooms, overrun with large tour parties and poor service

The rooms were in serious need of renovation, with no air conditioning or central heating, paper thin walls and second rate bathrooms.

The main dining room was huge, dark and very busy during our stay. Tables for 2 people were few as the majority of customers were in large parties. Buffet breakfast and evening meals were very noisy with queues everywhere.

The Grand Indian restaurant -part of the hotel-was very good but you needed to be there at 6.30pm to get a table or wait until after 8pm. Service in the coffee shop was poor - with the starter ( soup) being served at the same time as the main course.

Overall. not good value for money

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel should give good views but any the rooms at the back did not provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimpat500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest, We are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. We have noted the areas pointed out by you and have taken corrective action, while we will address the deficiencies in the rooms in our upcoming room improvement program.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve us, at some time in the future, and do hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Only a two night stay on a touring holiday but a stop to remember. Friendly staff, a lovely night guard who seems to know the weather and the birds (if he is not busy, chat with him before an early morning walk in the Victoria gardens), landscaped and delightful grounds and entrances so grand that it's a route march to the rooms.

My room was excellent, large and overlooking the front gardens, well equipped with soft towels and nice toiletries, a superb shower suite and a very comfortable bed.

Did I miss the lift or is it stairs only? Whatever, is was a great night complimented by a delicious buffet dinner/banquet and a breakfast spread par excellence, absolutely nothing lacking.

Room Tip: Definitely at the front with a garden view if they have one free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review. We are delighted to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

All the hotels we stayed in whilst touring Sri Lanka were completely different, but all delightful in their own way. The Grand is a Colonial style hotel and our only regret was that we only stayed one night here. The room was clean and comfortable and the buffet was very good with an enormous dining room and large 'conservatory' area where the buffet food was available. Friendly staff (as everywhere in this delightful Country).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and your kind words about the Grand and Sri Lanka in general. To learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay is indeed most satisfying.
We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Location, atmosphere, history, it's all there. As a group we were greated warmly by the staff. The evening meal was plentiful and really, really good. Very reasonably priced too. We were there on Independence Day. How do they "celebrate"? By being a dry day, no alcohol was a bit of a blow! Don't miss the snooker room. We would loved to have had a drink in the bar but all the pumps were covered. Only one night there, we would have liked more so that we could have soaked up the atmosphere. As with all hotels in Sri Lanka very clean, the bedroom was lovely and we would have loved more time to wander the grounds. It backs onto a most scenic golf course so golfers would be in seventh heaven. It's right in the middle of the tea country which is fabulous so a great base to explore.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeggybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. Certainly a longer stay would have allowed you to appreciate all that the Grand and Nuwara Eliya has to offer.
We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel was very interesting and completely surprised me. It felt like a timewarp and I was transported back in time. The hotel was like an exclusive club and it was beautifully decorated on the inside and out.

The dining area provides for an entertaining eating experience and had live music playing. The buffet had a very nice range including a self-service ice cream section with about 12 different flavors. This was the highlight of the buffet but the rest of the food was good too.

Unfortunately, we only had time to stay one night here as we had to return to colombo for our return flight so we missed out on the safari but we heard the other guests talking about it and saying it was really good. We did have time to relax and enjoy the surroundings though through a game of golf and also rifle shooting.

Rifle shooting was very cool as its something different to what other hotels offer. Targets are set up only about 5 metres away but you will be surprised how difficult it is to hit. The person watching over us was also involved in the war and it was great listening to his experiences too. And I think it's safe to say on his behalf that he is glad the conflict is over and ready for Sri Lanka to enjoy a period of peace and prosperity.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
159 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing