We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful colonial hotel set in lovely gardens with good restaurant buffet”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful colonial hotel set in lovely gardens with good restaurant buffet”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A lovely old fashioned hotel of character although we can't help but feel that the family for whom it was built would turn in their grave if they were aware of the assortment of guests who are now in residence! Clean and comfortable rooms and elegant dining room and bar with which the guests seemed rather incongruous; our table adjoined a number of Chinese who appeared dressed for an ascent of Kilimanjaro! Pleasant and attentive service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and your generous comments. We are extremely happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. Yes, indeed Sir Edward Barnes the first owner, way back in 1835, will be most intrigued by the varied users of his bungalow.
We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    750
    364
    138
    79
See reviews for
507
878
66
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for a one night stay on our tour and were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room (enormous, with two double beds) but seriously disappointed that the a la carte ‘Supper Club’ restaurant no longer exists (although still appearing on all their paperwork when we arrived and on their website when we booked) - it’s being turned into a Thai restaurant - not very British colonial……

Having found the Supper Club closed we then made for the Great Indian a la carte restaurant only to have to wait over an hour for a table. However, the wait was worth it - good, tasty food, including Masala Dosa at less than a quid each.

The breakfast buffet was vast but the quality of food and the service was not as good as other hotels we had visited - all minor stuff, undercooked bacon, no sugar/sweeteners on our table, a waiter who couldn’t stop pouring milk into our tea and coffee despite request for only a dash of milk followed by calls of “stop - stop”, etc ….

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillF2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We happy to learn that you were able to enjoy most of the services offered by our hotel. Sorry about the Supper Club being not available, but I am sure you will be able to enjoy the Grand Thai restaurant manned by Chef Boonsong from Thailand, when you visit us next.. Thanks again and we do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here one night during our visit to Nuwara Eliya. The hotel looks grand just like its name. It use to be Governor's house & office during the colonial era. It still retains the same charm with large wooden panels, fireplaces, stately furniture & furnishings, winding wooden staircases. The glory of the past era has been beautifully preserved and its almost like a visit to a heritage building. The only & big disappointment is the esp. the bathroom that badly needs renovation. The old plastic hung for shower curtain, worn out fittings & cabinets are a turnoff. The room was fine with a cute fireplace, lovely old style dresser but bed linen looks old n not very clean. The breakfast spread is okay, dining room again is a vast hall with large colonial dining tables & furniture. The lawns are pretty again. There's a nice Indian restaurant just outside the hotel near the entrance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. We have looked at the areas for improvement mentioned by you and will certainly address them in our upcoming room improvement program.
We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here on our tour of Sri Lanka, and absolutely loved it - we would like to come back again.

Old-world colonial-era charm in the middle of Sri Lanka. Comfortable and clean rooms (we had a triple room), and loved the old-style furnishings. We asked for extra blankets as it was quite cold that day, and were suitably warm as a result. Bathroom was very clean and new-looking. Service was great.

My children were ill in the middle of the night (as a result of food eaten elsewhere), and staff were prompt in helping clean up, and they helped me pack a take-away breakfast for my children the next day.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank s231ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay, although it was only for one night. We do hope your children recovered from their brief illness and were able to enjoy ther tour. We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good location. Fairly good rooms.
Huge dinning room good choice of food.
Surrounding tea plantations perfect place to enjoy Sri Lanka.

The town centre quite interesting.

The photo gallery out side the room passage was good reflection of life in the colony.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritadhitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and for appreciating the colonial ambiance of the hotel. We are extremely happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

First impressions of this hotel are very good. However over a couple of days we became aware that the reality was that of a grandeur long gone behind the public rooms. We had a luxury room? the sink waist wouldn't work at all and the bath plug wouldn't hold water. More worrying was that you could write your name in the dirt behind the bathroom door and the bedroom was not clean. We did report the plumbing probs and a chap came with a new bath pug which was no better, looked at the basin and never came back.
Our first night we were refused entry to the dining room as it was full until 9 p.m. this was because of large parties of Chinese visitors and were advised that this would be the case the following night!The A'La Carte restaurant is in fact a very limited snack bar. They do have a nearby Indian restaurant which turned out to have a queue of about 20 people at opening time due to the problems in the hotel, but the food was good. Overall we found the hotel a dissapointment compared to the other hotels on our trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrazzaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, We are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. We have noted the areas pointed out by you and have resolved most areas and have put in place extra measures to ensure that our rooms and public areas are kept at the required standards. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve us, at some time in the future, and do hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed 1 night. Only place in Sri Lanka we needed heat and an electric heater was provided. The hotel is large, there are many tourists but it does not feel crowded and it is easy to access staff when needed. Buffet dinner was excellent and there was betel nut on the coffee/tea service table. I wonder how many guests partake.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsilver4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoy our services, although your stay was only for one night. We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing