We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classical English Hotel with 'High Tea'”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Grand Hotel is situated in the wonderful Nuwara Eliya or 'Little England' as it is know. Stunning place. Situated near Victoria park, this is a mock style classical English hotel. Lots of wood style features. Plenty of activities for everyones taste, that is organised from reception. wonderful Xmas display. Did not stay here unfortunately as stayed in another Hotel nearby. We had high tea here and it was well worth it. Sandwiches, cakes, tea etc. Excellent service. Will definitely stay here on the next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy our services, although you did not stay with us this time. We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef Boon Son who hails from the outskirts of Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. All this is put together to make your upcoming stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again.Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, which I was pleased about! The hotel was really busy with tour groups, it felt a bit like a conveyor belt. The hotel is quite dated. Our room was clean but the bed/pillows were really uncomfortable, so didn't sleep well. Also the electricity was unpredictable, so lights went out a few times! The food was tasty and there was a good variety on offer. The staff in the restaurant were slow taking drinks orders but the reception and domestic staff were very efficient.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank LRB114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are saddened to learn that your stay with us was not what it should have been. However, please be assured that we will look into the areas mentioned by you and rectify them.. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Nuwara Eliya, a small city central to tea plantation visit, was a surprise - namely because of english colonial vivid presence: architecture, sports, even weather! Grand Hotel is located in an extremely beautiful building, with nice gardens. We stayed in a magnificent and large room. Nevertheless, comfort conditions can be improved, namely in what regards room temperature during the night (no AC in our room, a weak electric heating device, old wooden windows). Nice service. Good restaurant.

Room Tip: Confirm room comfort, namely in what concerns inside temperature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NunoVitorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review. We are happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. Yes, indeed Nuwara Eliya has many features of the Colonial era, which certainly warrants a stay of 3 or 4 nights. 2014 will be a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite your to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I only stayed here one night, but still was able to appreciate the grandeur of this lovely hotel, it's incredibly English and classy is a country kind of way. Staffs are courteous, the buffet dinner at Rs. 2,000 net was of good quality, came with live band too!

Room is old, but cosy nonetheless, everything is clean and surroundings quiet. I did find the room a bit cold even with the heater on, the heater they provided didn't heat nicely. Free wi fi only at the lobby, but at least it available, speed is ok too.

The hotel is walking distance to the little town of Nuwara Eliya.

This is a nice place to stay, especially if you appreciate the Victorian and Edwardian style, I was impressed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay. We will also look at the areas of improvement mentioned by you. 2014 will be a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite your to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a little worn but has all of the charm of old. It is easy to imagine yourself attending a ball and living life here in the early 1900's.
The staff were attentive, food good, the bar with a log fire was warming and a lovely place for a pre dinner drink.
Check in was a bit slow but everyone was attentive.
Our room had some old and original features and we felt like we were staying in a country house which appeared to be the desired effect.
A great stopping place on our travels.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are happy to learn that you were able enjoy most part of your stay with us. We will certainly take your comments into consideration in our upcoming refurbishment program.
We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here two nights and happy with the hotel,except when you are a vegetarian and ask for different sause pans and spoons to be used and they look at you when you request them in horror.

Had to tell the chef at least three times before they would wash and use the sause pan, just ignored me until I had to say in a bit of high tone to be listened to and to be considerate.

Very cold draught rooms, the heaters were not working properly.

Had to change our rooms three times as they got them wrong, but eventually sorted after complaining to the manager, who sorted things out eventually.

Very antiquated system of providing vouchers for breakfast and dinner, not seen that in along time.

Room Tip: The outer rooms are droughty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kisumu-95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. Since your review, we have re-looked at ways of better catering to vegetarians and have now implemented some new measures. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. thank you once again and best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

When the tour was booked, we were told there was a compulsory Christmas Eve dinner. We were a little sceptical at first but we thoroughly enjoyed the night - great food (buffet style) and entertainment.
Hotel check-in was first class. We were greeted with drinks and fruit cake.
Being an old hotel, terrific ambience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for generous comments. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to a year filled with many value additions to the Grand experience, including an authentic Thai Restaurant manned by a Chef flown in from Thailand, and many more additions in our Food & Beverage program. As always our focus will also be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is an option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite your to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green City
Araliya Green City
#9 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $200 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing